We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality budget hotel in Agra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maya Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 206 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The Maya Hotel is a small pleasant hotel about 5-10 minutes walk from the West Gate of the Taj Mahal. With clean rooms, reliable hot water, and TV and AC in the room, it made for a pleasant stay while visiting the sights of Agra. There's even a little rooftop restaurant which does a decent breakfast (no views of the Taj Mahal though), and the staff were polite and helpful.

I would echo the comments of another reviewer regarding the pickup from the station - nice to have (as there are a crowd of touts when the trains arrive all vying for your rupees), but alongside the auto-rickshaw driver was someone who en-route to the hotel did an aggressive hard-sell on being my "guide" around the Taj Mahal and Agra the next day. Despite repeated refusals he said he would turn up at the hotel at 7am the next morning - whether he did or not I don't know as I was out at 6.30 to see the Taj at sunrise (awesome experience by the way)...

Apart from the hassle with the tout/guide, no other problems with the hotel and so definitely recommended if you're willing to pay a bit more for something a bit cleaner and nicer than the real budget end of the market.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2010

As we had nothing booked in Agra, the Maya was recomended to us and we were happy to have a decent place to stay. They arranged a taxi to meet us at the train station, at no cost, and booked us into the hotel even though we arrived at 7am. The young lad that met us at reception was great, helpful, bubbly and customer focused. The owners were away we believe and first impresions were spot on. We were given a large room with a decent ensuite bathroom including hot water, but for top money for this standard. The outside restaurant on the first floor was good, but it is not rooftop and does not have a view of the Taj as claimed on the business cards, but that aside, it is only a five minute walk to the west gate of the Taj, 10 minutes to Agra fort by auto rickshaw, and close to most things you may need like access to cash and other restaurants. However......by the time we had sorted ourselves out the manager had arrived, and the atmosphere changed. He had a face like thunder, and as we stayed for 3 days it was not a one off! On our second night we went to bed early as we wanted to go to the Taj at sunrise. Mr Happy banged on our door at around 10pm just calling out "Sir". As we were in bed and a little taken aback I did not answer, but he persisted. Eventually I called back asking what the problem was but refused to answer the door as there was no indication who it was, or why he was there. He finaly left. How did I know it was him? because he did it again the following morning! It turned out he wanted us to move so he could let a familly have our room, but this was a demand, not a request. As we intended to leave at 3am the following day we agreed to move to a much smaller room with no windows! but had to haggle on the price. We arranged with Mr Happy for a taxi to take us to Delhi airport at 3am for the going rate. Subsequently he tried to get us to leave earlier and earlier, finally pushing us to leave at midnight for what is no more than a 4 hour drive at night even though he knew we wanted to be at the airport at 7:30. We had to insist on going no earlier than 2am. I am not sure of his reasons for this timeframe, but I was sceptical of his motives. We left at 2:30 and arrived at 6. In summary, the rooms are clean and OK, the location is good, the food is reasonably priced and really good with plenty of variety, but Mr Happy cast a cloud and that cloud extended to most of the staff with only a couple of exceptions, the young lad we initially dealt with and one of the waiters. The atmosphere may be different when the owners are around. Oh, and finally they tried to overcharge on the taxi fare when we arrived at the airport so be warned, get the agreed price in writing! In our experience, Agra is generally not a nice place to be, the begars and hawkers are persistent to the point of agresive, the polution and dust levels are high. If you only want to see the Taj, the Baby Taj and Agra Fort, then try and do them in a day, it can be done easily with an early start and move on.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Maya Hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Taj. That alone is reason enough to stay here! Add to that a clean and comfortable room and a fabulous rooftop restaurant and it can't be beat.

Only downside is that streetside rooms are exposed to nightly traffic noise.

Stayed: November 2009
Thank Noidawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Our room was 900rs a night, with window looking into the inner hallway. It was a good budget option for a couple of nights. The restauant food was excellent. The advertising says the restaurant has a Taj Mahal view, but it doesn't. They also advertise internet/computer access, but you have to go to a shop down the street. There were lots of aggressive shop vendors on the streets around the hotel, which made it less fun to walk around the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Hotel Maya was clean and the rooms were spacious. Our room had AC, a fan, TV and en suite bathroom. The staff were excellent: very professional, yet friendly, courteous and willing to help wherever possible.

The hotel is centralled located, close to the Taj Mahal.

My only complaint was that while the staff at the hotel where excellent, some of the management (owners?) had serious attitude problems - barking orders at guests and staff alike. When we tried to organise a taxi back to the train station, one of the people in charge quoted us twice what we had paid at the fixed rate government taxi office to get to the hotel from the station. When we pointed this out, he accused us of lying before eventually (and unwilling) bringing the price down. This ended our excellent stay on a sour note.

Had it not been for a few people like this, I would certainly have rated the service as 5 star!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suprememoocow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed in this hotel for two days, and I only can recommend the restaurant, not the hotel. Nothing special about the room, and the bathroom was terrible, and bad smell. But the worst is the free pick-up service. Please, be careful with the rickshaw driver called MUNHA, slim and about 1.85 meter tall. At the beginning, while he take us from the railway station to the hotel, he show us A SMALL NOTEBOOK with recomendations from other tourist. But above all, we trust at him because he was sent by the hotel staff, and this was our fatal error. We payed him 550 for a tourist tour in the afternoon -which is a lot- , and also to go to the station again the day after, but he never came again after the tourist tour, and we have to pay another rickshaw driver for that service. He is not a honest man at all, and only want your money with higher prices than pre-paid counter in the station. He wanted another 950 rupies for a taxi to Faterpur Sikri, while the price is only 700 at the pre-paid counter in railway station. When we said no thanks, he becames angry with my wife, and begin to screaming for the money before finish the service. We payed because we were in the hotel reception, and nobody awared us from him.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MUNHA_Never_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

The location of the Maya Hotel is so close to the beautiful Taj Mahal that you can walk there in 5 minutes along a street that has been mainly closed off to traffic. The rooms are small, there was an ensuite and a restaurant had great food. There was a room available for our driver and parking for his car which was very important. Because the rooms could have been a bit cleaner and there was no top bed sheet on the bed, this hotel is of an average standard, but you would pay top price anywhere else in the world for the location and the price for this hotel was very reasonable. There was a power outage but this is India and there is often problems with power outages all over the country, so please don't blame the staff for this it's not their fault.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 144 in Agra
489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#39 of 144 in Agra
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ray of Maya Hotel
Ray of Maya Hotel
#6 of 206 in Agra
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sai Palace
Sai Palace
#21 of 206 in Agra
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucky Restaurant & Guest House
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Prakash Tourist Complex
#29 of 195 in Agra
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 18/184,Purani Mandi Circle | Fatehabad Road, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: £11 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maya Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel And Restaurant
Maya Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing