We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay for only £15!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tourists Rest House
Ranked #23 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Nice big rooms, very clean and hot water which is bliss! Decent food in the restaurant. Good value for money only 10 mins on a rickshaw to the fort or taj. Very hard beds though!! Lots of other travellers would really recommend for anyone going to Agra!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank review_princess2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I definitely recommend a stay in this hotel, especially since Agra is such an annoying city .

It is in a relatively quiet neighbourhood. The staff is friendly, helpful, without being too present ;

They regularly ask if everything's OK, and came at the end of our stay to check on us.

We could check-out late without extra charge,.


The restaurant is good, and pure-veg

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Biswajit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Tourist rest house is very popular with tourists and has a good vibe. We had a double room on top floor with a nice bedroom and bathroom. Road noise is quite loud and food menu wasn't great but all in all a decent stop off. Wifi is only available in the courtyard which should be improved.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adequate8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Although the price is not much to pay, one is advised to still look elsewhere. Our room was damp, smelly and dingy, the bedding was dirty and the bathroom mouldy. The room was also extremely loud, both from the road traffic and neighbouring staff toilets,making it nearly impossible to sleep through the night.

To top it all off was a final unsavoury experience on departure. On inquiry about a taxi ride to a neighbouring town to catch our train, we were quoted a very high price, upon our refusal to accept this, we were put under lots of pressure and scare tactics about how the roads will be blocked we will not find another option at this late stage. On trying outside the hotel to get a rickshaw ride into town, we discovered that somehow everyone were in on a coordinated extortion ring and nobody would give us a ride anywhere to force us into taking the overpriced taxi offer from the hotel! In the end we had to walk somewhat down the road to find transport offers not controlled by this hotel. Needless to say, even if the poor standard of the rooms does not make one sick, this kind of egregious, aggressive behaviour to rip off tourists is exactly the kind of dirty experience that leaves one feeling sick in the stomach and ruins an otherwise good trip.

We strongly recommend all to reconsider staying at the tourist rest house!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tongtong D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I booked to stay here after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. I was only in Agra for one night and this seemed good value for money. The room I was given was the cheapest, but the smell of damp hit me straight away. My double bed was two fold up camp style beds together and was not comfortable at all. The man on reception wasn't the friendliest, and I didn't like the check out time of 10am... Most people want to see the Taj early and you feel rushed to get back and check out. I was offered a late checkout for half a day, even though it was only for two hours. You get hounded by the rickshaw drivers outside as soon as you walk out the door. The dining area is nice to relax and meet people. I'd definitely shop around, purely on the quality of the room.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank JamieW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The review title says it all. Agra has a lot of budget options and most of them are still trying to rip you off .Well Agra has always been like that at least in my humble opinion. So its nice to find to find a hotel which at least gives yo good value for money. Our AC had some issues and we were promptly moved to another room. Backpackers love this place. Nice garden restaurant though do have mosquitto repellant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeD221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I definitely recommend a stay in this hotel, especially since Agra is such an annoying city (in fact, it is as annoying as its sites are beautiful, see ?), and it is in a relatively quiet neighbourhood. The staff is friendly, helpful, without being too present ; they regurlarly ask if everything's ok, and came at the end of our stay to check on us. We could check-out late without extra charge, and saw some travellers spend the afternoon in the courtyard after check-out, waiting for their train, without a problem.
The restaurant is good, and pure-veg ; the Maharaja next to the hotel servers very good South Indian food if you love eat, and if you miss meat.
Only two critics :
Hot water was hard to get, and sometimes, in the morning, after a fresh night, it can be nice ; first time we needed hot water, we asked once, yes yes no problem, bucket of water in 5 minutes. We asked twive, thrice... it arrived 45 minutes later and we were leaving to visit the town. They apologized many times, and we had hot water afterwards.
The rickshawallas in front of the hotel are really annoying ; always the same people, too expensive (but like most of Agra rickshawallas), and can be very rude when they don't like your bargaining.

Really a nice place, quiet at night, pleasant to rest in the courtyard to chat with other travellers and forget about the buzzing city around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#34 of 147 in Agra
507 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#29 of 147 in Agra
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#37 of 147 in Agra
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#22 of 147 in Agra
365 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#50 of 147 in Agra
192 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#67 of 147 in Agra
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourists Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourists Rest House

Address: 4/62 Tourists Rest House Kutchery Road | Baluganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agra
#8 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourists Rest House 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very centrally located in the heart of the city, close to all the major attractions, bazaars and railway /bus station. All the rooms are clean and well equipped with attached bathroom and western style toilet, toiletries are also provided in every room. The rooms are facing a central, plant filled courtyard,giving a feel of relaxation and security. We have 24 hr front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tourists Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourists Rest House Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing