We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A green Hotel with lot of foreign friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tourists Rest House
Ranked #24 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in the middle of April and we really like the hotel.

We have opted a super deluxe room. The room is spacious, well maintained and perfect air con and shower. We had dinner in the evening with light music and candles.

The taj mahal in the morning was pretty enough and is just 12 min walking.

Tickets for trains and buses are also available in the travel desk room, Anil the travel desk owner really helps us to book our route.

Great hotel nice staff and green.

I recommend this hotel to family and friends .

Room Tip: New rooms on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank veroniquerene23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anilwad, Manager at Tourists Rest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thanks for your valuable feedback. Me and Entire staff of tourist rest house is thank full for reviewing our property.
Hope to see you again in our hotel.
Thanks ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I thought this hotel was good as a solo female traveller , I met my favourite travellers here! Nice vibe very easy going :) the food needs work as does the service getting food. I often had to find someone to take my order. The free pick up (I no is nothing to do with the hotel ) but just take the free pick up don't take the tour with these guys ..... Rip off and they take you to all there friends shops. Annoying. I really liked this hotel though and the guy running the travel part of the hotel was nice and asked us how our stay was.

Just improve the food a bit. It's salty and oily

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank kellystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

When I first called to inquire about the cost of the rooms, the person said "Yes, we have rooms for 650, 750, 850, etc." But when we arrived, there were only really 3 types of rooms which are the ones on the ground floor without A/C, less nice bathroom with no hot water for 650 rupees.

Rooms: These 650 rupees rooms are still clean, just no A/C and no hot water, and bathroom is more basic and scruffy. Then the rooms above which has A/C and hot water is 1,000 rupees. That room looks more like the photos on their website but not that spacious and immaculate. There's a more expensive room for I think 1500 rupees which probably is the rooms looking like the photos on the website. I didn't see that room because we took the 1,000 rupee room.

Room condition: A/C works fine, hot water works sometimes, unless the geizer is turned off. Wifi works okay although it tends to be unavailable for 30-60 mins a day, usually in the afternoon, but it'd be back.

Food: The food in the restaurant wasn't very good. We tried hard eating out after a few disappointments. The fried rice was very oily and the oil used didn't taste very good. The banana pancake was okay once or twice but the 3rd time, half of the banana was black. I wish they could just take some effort to notice that the banana was black and gave me a normal one. How much would that cost? The price of the food is average. Fried rice for about 80-100 rupees, drinks are cheap.

One evening, we saw a lady taking her food back to the chef and she didn't seem very happy.

Service: Staff are easy going and they are not pushy about buying train tickets from them and are honest if you ask them about transport related information. Not the type to want to make a buck out of you for commission or anything like that.

Location: This hotel looks the nicest on the road and compared to Taj Ganj area. It is less annoying compared to Taj Gang area although this place is further, about 2-3 kms from Taj Mahal. You can get a tuk tuk to Taj Mahal for about 70 rupees.

The owner is a young man, there were lots of different types of tourists staying there, although not a very social atmosphere, travelers seem to keep to themselves. Overall, quite a good hotel for Agra standards.

Tip: Tuk Tuk outside are always quoting high prices for rides. Go down at least half the price. I think half is reasonable enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

First, this hotel is in a scary neighborhood and there is no rooftop view of the Taj Mahal. The air conditioner in our room didn't work, we had blue lights in the room so lighting was terrible, a tiny roll of toilet paper and no toiletries. The kitchen at this place looks dirty so we ordered bottled water and chai to try to enjoy the courtyard but the smell of kerosene overpowered us. The hotel desk manager was insulted our guide, which upset me terribly. We didn't realize what had been said until later in the evening. Unbelievable. Our guide is the nicest person I met while in India....why be insulting?

Even scarier was coming back from a full moon viewing of the Taj Mahal to a totally dark hotel, finding a man sleeping on a cot in the lobby of the hotel! Honestly, we were so afraid! We bolted our door afraid to open a window (with a broken air conditioner) and sweltered in the heat. There were 2 soggy towels for our use, which I guess is better than nothing.

After checking out and getting in the car I realized I'd been short-changed 100 INR but I was so creeped out by the place, I wasn't going back.

If anything good came out of this experience it was the phrase....don't worry chicken curry. We used it throughout our journey.

This place might be fine for someone backpacking and hiking through India, but if you are looking for comfort, kindness, honesty and hospitality, this would not be the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The room are pretty comfortable and come with a fan and hot water. The staff in general are okay. The hotels location is about 5 km away from the Taj Mahal and the second you step out the door you will get harassed by the taxi drivers. Good to stay for a night or two, see the Taj, then get out of Agra/

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy28104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Our room (non-ac, ground floor) was basic but spacious and clean. As stated in other reviews it's walls were wet and the whole thing feels more like a bunker than anything else. It takes some time (up to 3min running water) to get hot water from the shower when it works. Wifi was only available at the restaurant in the courtyard - food is not special but good (but party music totally not fits to the scenery).

Our experience with the staff was divided - the two men at the front desk were helpful (we changed the room), but it's not unusual to wait a long time for staff in the restaurant that will be unfriendly anyway.

We stayed for 3 nights (too much for Agra) because we fell sick and stayed a lot in the room and courtyard - not recommendable (TV didn't work in both rooms if you bother). Try to get one room in a hostel close to the Taj, otherwise if you just stay for one night it's not the worst place. Let them show you some rooms on different floors before you decide!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdine90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We came for 4 nights to stay in tourist Rest House; we got excellent service and rooms. The free wifi which is very helpful for us.(works in courtyard as well as in some rooms)
The staff is nice and helpful greet you every time and eager to know if everything is ok or not, not every hotel do the same.
The location is excellent: some minutes to taj mahal and Agra fort, 15 min to baby taj and mehatab bagh.
The hotel recommended us for Futehpur Sikri which is awesome and must see, we got a taxi from the hotel at a good price.
In the night we ate in the hotel and it was perfect Indian food as there is no wide choices, but they prepared good food in candle light and with French and English music which is really good.
We had a tour to Rajasthan for 10days and had a nice English speaking driver . They organize us the train tickets for ahead trip.
We can say that it’s an oasis in the town where you can relax and rest, that what I want to say …
We recommend this place to family and friends…

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thib_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#32 of 143 in Agra
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#28 of 143 in Agra
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#20 of 143 in Agra
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#41 of 143 in Agra
418 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#35 of 143 in Agra
188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#38 of 143 in Agra
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourists Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourists Rest House

Address: 4/62 Tourists Rest House Kutchery Road | Baluganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Agra
#9 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range: £7 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourists Rest House 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very centrally located in the heart of the city, close to all the major attractions, bazaars and railway /bus station. All the rooms are clean and well equipped with attached bathroom and western style toilet, toiletries are also provided in every room. The rooms are facing a central, plant filled courtyard,giving a feel of relaxation and security. We have 24 hr front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tourists Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourists Rest House Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing