We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Chanakaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chanakaya
Ranked #128 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't stay in this hotel!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night during my visit to Agra. I honestly don't understand why this place is still open. Almost nothing works, not even basic services such as water in the room. The hotel is huge and maybe it was decent 30 years ago, now it looks abandoned. We were probably the only guests and we booked the room in advance with continental breakfast included..not even jam was available. Moreover it was dirty and I uses my sleeping bag. Restaurant, thanks god, was of course closed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimoAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    5
    4
    22
See reviews for
11
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Staying at this hotel is kind of like being trapped on the set of 'The Shinning' only the rooms in that film were nice. At Hotel Chanakaya you'll find dirty, damp, frankly disgusting rooms at very expensive prices. If you go down the road you can find a really nice one much cheaper. DON'T STAY THERE! You saw what happened to Jack Nicholson.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a marriage.As my review for agra is very bad,there were buffalo dung on all the roads even the highway was not cleaned and all the hotels which we saw were just like the roads(eewww).So when i saw this hotel(from the outside)it looked nice(as compared to the other hotels) when we got inside it looked nice there too.The first and second floors were good(i don't know about the other rooms on the floor,i saw only some of them)but unfortunately we got the third floor,which was not good.Okay the walls were not dirty but there were thousands of mosquitoes(big mosquitoes!!) now here are some good points:-
(1)The lift was working so i didn't have to climb the stairs and for the other reviews down there it was your bad luck sorry!
(2)There was hot water but we got there in summer.
(3)The staff was really polite and they washed our car too! yay!!(but took charges,it was only 20/- we didn't mind)
I am only 13 so please don't curse me if i said something not nice :)

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank maliha366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I am the latest victim...Pls do not even think of this hotel for yr stay....

All the reviews (written previously) are true to the core. I wish, i could have read them before booking the place !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suyog D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I booked my hotel through Agoda between 23rd to 26th. When the room was given, it was horrible and requested for another room and none of the room that was showed was good. The room was not well cleaned. Bedsheets were not well washed and brown in color. Bathrooms are the most worst. No hot water. They dont have geyser instead the water is heated in a big boiler kept outside of the corridor and this boiler serves hot water for whole of the hotel. After 1 hour they gave us hot water. Poor response to our request. No travel desk. After our night's stay on 23rd we went to near by hotel and took confirmation for the booking. Returned back to Hotel Chanakya and checked out of the hotel.
NEVER EVER STAY THERE. More over their response and attitude is almost like throwing us out of the hotel after we checked out.
Height of nonsense: The room boy started questioning me as to how do I expect the hotel to be - like Oberoi or Trident?
Also this is a message for AGODA that not to encourage these kind of hotels as it would spoil the vacation mood. To add one more point: on 23rd there were only 2 rooms booked. From my room I can view other room through a hole near the TV point. Any couples staying in that room, one can have a good view Live Porn!!!!
Anand.

Room Tip: Hotel Karawan and many more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Very bad experience!
Rooms are big but filthy, bathroom stinks and lift of the hotel does not work.

Even hot water was not available in chilling winters and they give you that ignition rod in-place of that which is very risky to operate.
Food is average and prices are high.

Though experience with the room-service was better but still you have to ask many times for small small things.

Disappointed!!!!!

Room Tip: Just don't go in this hotel at any cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We went on word of mouth...rooms were big size, but walls were moist, floor & bathrooms were pretty dirty, bed linen & blankets, pillows, towels were dirty. Checked in 9 pm...checked out 9 am. Food was Ok.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank appruthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#40 of 146 in Agra
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#33 of 146 in Agra
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 146 in Agra
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 146 in Agra
478 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#30 of 146 in Agra
297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chanakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chanakaya

Property: Hotel Chanakaya
Address: Shamshabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chanakaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chanakaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanakaya Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing