We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“couldnt be closer”
Review of Hotel Sidhartha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sidhartha
Ranked #29 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Midlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“couldnt be closer”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

we booked this hotel with Agona, and got a very cheap deal. I booked as i had seen pictures of the Taj from its roof but didnt realise exactly where it was ,my word couldnt have been closer to the Taj.
We couldnt go onto the roof as some American had been feeding the wild monkeys for the duration of their stay and then when they went home the monkeys thought that every person who went up to the roof therefore had food!! lesson there-they are wild animals, do not feed!

That said, the hotel is very basic. in our room there was a bed-TV-full length mirror and place for the luggage. The shower room was- a toilet ( which leaked,) shower head, and sink.and mirror. we had the A/C also which worked well. actually although sounds dreadful it was completely fine! we were hardly in the room at all so what else did we need? it was interesting to watch the monkeys jumping over the roof tops in the mornings and early evenings but do take care. The staff are all very friendly and work hard. Food-we only had breakfast wich was very cheap and lovely. but was really sells this hotel has to be the location. just yards away to the west gate of the Taj. Brilliant and very safe area. just up from which we had a great meal at the resturant "lucky" see seperate review.

Room Tip: ground floor and 1st floor only - choose 1st floor to get beat veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kezibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    212
    108
    35
    39
See reviews for
76
195
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Based on the reviews we were expecting rather more for our money. The room was acceptable in terms of size, a bit old and tatty, with holes in the chair cover and sheets. The A/C was a window unit not wall-mounted although worked perfectly well. The bathroom was disgusting - the mirror was covered in splats of toothpaste from previous occupants; clearly hadn't even been wiped never mind cleaned. The floor was covered in grubby footprints, both floor and toilet bowl had traces of what appeared to be a previous occupant's diarrhoea, and the toilet seat was completely broken off.
When we checked in, the person who showed us the room insisted that there was no hot water, that this was normal, and they turned off the hot water every year on March 1st. This is despite the hotel website and signs throughout the premises clearly stating that there is hot and cold running water in the rooms. He tried to charge us for buckets of hot water but we declined.
We were woken at 5.30 am on two mornings by some kind of construction work outside or in the next door room. Between our bathroom and the bathroom of the room next door there was not a full wall - the top part of the dividing wall was just a grid.
The rooftop restaurant is closed because 'it is dangerous because of monkeys'. Obviously the monkeys are a problem but it doesn't stop the hotels anywhere else from having a restaurant up on the roof! We didn't try the courtyard restaurant as we didn't like the leery staff hanging around it all the time.
For the same or less money in the same area we could have stayed in the Saniya Palace which had better rooms and a fantastic rooftop restaurant with view of the Taj, nearer to the south gate, and with cheaper travel services.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

If you've done a fair bit of budget traveling around India before getting to Agra you will be happy about finding Hotel Sidhartha. The kind of standard you hope to stumble upon at each new destination. Decent sized room and clean enough for a few nights stay, amazing location for an early Sunrise at the Taj Mahal and even a decent rooftop photo opportunity at sunset.

The garden restaurant serves a half decent menu and the all-day Thali Meals were rather tasty! Plenty of other options are just round the corner if you fancy a change of scenery too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jekt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just south of the Taj Mahal are a clutch of budget Lonely Planet type hotels and hostels, with what seem to be nearly identical. This hotel was one of them, and I have no real complaints. Its literally just a 100 yards from the west entrance to the Taj, which was great when we got up to visit at dawn. The location is the main draw here. Otherwise, the hotel has a nice little courtyard, a decent restaurant, and a helpful front desk. The rooms are pretty spartan, with threadbare, stained towels, and not much in the way of bedding. Also, the shower barely worked, so we mostly ended up bathing under the faucet with a bucket. Otherwise, the room was clean, and the a/c worked great, so it wasn't too bad. This place definitely felt more like a youth hostel than a hotel, but it was fine for what it was - and the price and location were great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Rooms are basic but big and the location right by the Taj West gate is fab. The staff are so friendly make it such a good friendly place to stay. Would love to comeback.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visakhapatnam, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We Traveled in Feb 2012 Good place to stay.

1.Near to Taj mahal walkable just 0.3km to 0.5 km.
2.Rooms are good .
3.Rooms are well secured.
4.Locating hotel from railway station is easy take a prepaid auto just 80 Rs.

Only Food as to be improved.

Room Tip: select Rooms in First Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashok3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hotel Sidhartha is located quite close to the Western Gate of Taj Mahal, in the Tajganj area. Vehicles are not allowed inside Tajganj and hence, do not carry any heavy luggage. The hotel is very basic in terms of services offered. There is an open air garden restaurant where you can have monkeys for company. First floor rooms are comparatively better. Not a bad option for a night stay in Agra.

Room Tip: Take a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arghya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#39 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#98 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#33 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#49 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sidhartha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sidhartha

Property: Hotel Sidhartha
Address: Western Gate, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sidhartha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sidhartha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidhartha Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing