We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, that's about it”
Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kamal
Ranked #83 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great view, that's about it”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We rolled into Agra like pimps, looking for somewhere to consume beers and take silly photos of the Taj. We checked in here and headed up to the rooftop, where the views are spectacular and the guys smuggled us some beers.

That's about all of the positives. Actually, it had decent wifi.

The negatives:
- Room was dirty and hot.
- Power points in ridiculous locations which required earthmoving equipment to get to.
- Bed was made from granite or possible marble.
- Shower head drenched everything aside from me.
- Brother got insane food poisoning from here, was the only place on our trip where this happened. And we started in Bangladesh.

Room Tip: Get an A/C room for god's sake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    114
    109
    58
    53
See reviews for
43
145
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

the whole stay was reasonable, although average compared to our other experience, however after spending a month in India my friend got food-sick in this hotel restaurant. The view from the rooftop restaurant is great but beware of having lassi or other temperature-prone foods. The room was reasonable, although shower wasn't much and our aircon wasnt working (so we nearly baked ourselves). Recpetion was not helpful, they deliberately let the taxi driver try to take us on an overpriced tour. I woulnd recommend this hotel, but am afraid there is not much better in Agra in this price range. If you only stay one night, this is sufficient for the money, just watch out with food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The rooms are basic, but ok! The place is very good to make a visit to the Taj mahal. only five minutes walking to the gates, so easy for a morning visit.
We loved the view up the terrace. You can have a drink with the beautiful Taj in sight, bigger than I expected. They serve nice meals and drinks. We tried other places to eat or drink, but the rooftop terrace is a great place to sit in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in a middle priced double on the ground floor to the left in the new building. It was perfect for us. Clean, modern, ok wifi (when there wasn't a power cut) and friendly staff. The roof top restaurant is a highlight but as it isn't reviewed in the lonely it wasn't busy. We ate here twice and the food was nice, far better than it's than it's roof top rivals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel has a great location, very close to the Taj Mahal. Rooms are basic but the management was effiecient, friendly and helpful. All in all good value for our money.Good roof top restaurant.
Tami and Esti
Israel

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Aircon didn't work, no toilet roll. Staff unhelpful, service in restaurant slow. Price of room very overpriced for the quality. Expected a much higher standard of accomodation based on other reviews - yes the location and view is great but the rooms were of poor standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
231 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel certainly deserves its’ qualification on TA!
We were picked up from the train station (make sure to arrange that with the hotel) by Ali. He’s a very friendly guy, speaking English very well. He can arrange all your transport needs in Agra.
At the hotel you are welcomed very friendly. The first thing we did is to go to the roof-top to see the thing you come for in Agra. Indeed, a very good view you have from here.
Despite being early the rooms were already available. Good basic rooms with a fan and a powerful airco in D1 and D3, at least when there is power. We had one power breakdown, but the generator could be started on request. We first went for lunch on the rooftop. The food is recommendable! We had lunch, diner and breakfast; good quality, nice service and a good fan under the awning. One thing to note is that they don’t accept creditcards.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#90 of 145 in Agra
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#68 of 145 in Agra
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#73 of 145 in Agra
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#51 of 145 in Agra
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#105 of 145 in Agra
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Property: Hotel Kamal
Address: South Gate Of Taj Mahal | TajGanj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Kamal 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel with very well furnished, clean attached bath with hot water supplied and some rooms have a T.V. Honest, helpful and friendly staff. Very good councils will be given to you to discover India and we work very hard to ensure a pleasant stay. Stuff makers restaurant is excellent with good food of roof top Taj view terrace from where you can see full front view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing