We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lied about hotel prices”
Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kamal
Ranked #89 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
“lied about hotel prices”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had booked a reservation through cleartrip.com and got a price... but when we showed up the hotel 10pm they told us that they had given up our reservation and rented the room to someone else because apparently they said that cleartrip failed to notify us that the cut off time for check inn was 5pm... (checked with cleartrip and this is not there policy)... so we were quoted for a higher price and possibly for the same room. Rooms where your typical hostel indy.

Room Tip: A hostel room should be ~20usd but if you really want to avoid "changing prices" and not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuikuitui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    114
    109
    58
    53
See reviews for
43
145
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Chose this place for proximity to the Taj and weren't disappointed. Great views from the rooftop restaurant and less than a 5 min. walk to the gate. The hotel arranged two good tuk-tuk drivers to pick us up at the train station and we ended up going around to all the sites with them for the day. They were trustworthy and the lead driver had all kinds of "back way in's" for us to save money, if we wanted. Rooms not quite as fancy as they look in the photos, but simple and clean enough. It's the location you can 't beat. Rest of our review is similar as ones below.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The3wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I arrived to the hotel late in the afternoon without reservation and they gave me a small basic room, with only a bed and TV. I paid 850 rupees. The water was hot, but up to 80%.
In the 3rd floor they have a terrace with restaurant and with a great view of the Taj. The food is basic and with reasonable price.
My room was located outside in front of the stairs and I could listen to all the noise from the road because in front there was an open terrace.
They don't have room service. You have to get up to the 3rd floor to sit in the restaurant and have your meal. They don't give soap, only a white-grey towel which I recommend not to use.
They just give you the basic things. The price is because of the location: 4 blocks away from the South entrance to the Taj.
The managers were very helpful and service oriented. They also have a room where you can leave your luggage.

Room Tip: The ones that are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofmen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Welcome was okay. Room was very small and it seemed that the covers were not clean. Bed was extremely short. We wanted to buy some stuff from the shop opposite the hotel but they sold us expired products. The manager explained to us that this was not the first time and we believe that this should have been explained before not after. Otherwise great location and fantastic view of the Taj Mahal on the terrace. Good banana lassi.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Tofino
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Staff were all helpful and pleasant. Our room was very nice, seemed recently updated, very clean and good facilities (though some stains on bed sheet / towel). The view from the Rooftop Cafe is excellent, the cafe food was also excellent - we ate four meals there and all were very nice, cheaply priced and we had no problems. Very short distance from Taj Mahal, just turn right out of Hotel and the second street up takes you right to the entrance gate (literally a 5 minute walk). Hotel room price was also reasonable. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_and_conor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The world
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Listen its no 5 star hotel but it was perfect for us.

Very clean room and toilet. Flat screen tv. Hot water 24hrs.

Roof top restraunt.....dont judge a book by its cover.

Yes new tables and chairs are needed and a lick of paint...however its amazing just to sit and watch the Taj Mahal.....its the closet hotel to it ( I think). You will walk to it in less than 5 minutes.

The food is also amazing. They cook it all fresh to order and the Indian food is perfect. The young staff members are also very nice.

A few tuk tuk drivers hang about outside but its easy to just walk pass them and then they leave u alone.

We really loved it here and I dont know why it does not habe a better rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here for three nights, booked via booking.com at £20/night. I don't think that's astoundingly cheap but not too unreasonable. I picked it because it was both easy to book online and was mentioned in my guide book (the Rough Guide to India).

The room was clean and comfortable; somewhat unusually for low-mid range hotels I have stayed at in India, the shower actually had hot water, which was welcome. The room wasn't huge but generally was perfectly OK. The wifi worked well and was reasonably fast.

I picked this place because it of its location; I wanted to see the Taj Mahal early in the morning, and since I a) am appalling at getting up at the best of times b) didn't want to have to waste time negotiating with a tuktuk driver and travelling over to the Taj, I wanted to be in a hotel within walking distance. At that time in the morning you can't go in the south gate (which is nearest to the hotel), but it's about a five minute walk to the west gate.

The hotel recommended a tuktuk driver who took me round the various sights of Agra and its environs (Agra Fort, the Baby Taj, view of the Taj Mahal from the park across the river, Fatehpur Sikri, Akbar's mauseoleum, Jama Masjid) the afternoon of the day I visited the Taj and the following day. He seemed a nice enough chap and generally trustworthy, though he did insist on taking me to various shopping centres - clearly in the hope of commission - and I wasn't insistent enough to prevent it. Still, I felt better for being with someone the hotel recommended than someone I had picked up on the street.

The views from the rooftop restaurant are good but I wasn't particularly wowed by the food, although it's reasonably cheap.

The staff were helpful and they allowed me to leave my bag at the hotel after I checked on so I didn't need to lug it round with me until I caught my train.

I would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZornsLemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#101 of 146 in Agra
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 146 in Agra
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#82 of 146 in Agra
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#85 of 146 in Agra
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#112 of 146 in Agra
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 146 in Agra
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Property: Hotel Kamal
Address: South Gate Of Taj Mahal | TajGanj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Kamal 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel with very well furnished, clean attached bath with hot water supplied and some rooms have a T.V. Honest, helpful and friendly staff. Very good councils will be given to you to discover India and we work very hard to ensure a pleasant stay. Stuff makers restaurant is excellent with good food of roof top Taj view terrace from where you can see full front view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing