We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop view of Taj, 100 metres from South Gate, Lovely Room”
Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kamal
Ranked #52 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were wary of this hotel having looked at some of the reviews. There was no need to be! Such great value - we booked through hostel world and it cost us only a few pounds each!
The staff were very friendly and helpful prior to check in and throughout our stay. We contacted them 'prior to arrival and arranged a transfer from the train station - it was reasonably priced and made for a stress free transfer.
We stayed in the rooms on the ground floor opposite the main reception. They looked to have been fairly recently decorated and we were pleasantly surprised. Large comfy bed, clean sheets. The bathroom was quite dated and a little dirty but this is India, so expectations are lower.
You are only a short walk from the south gate however if you are looking to do the Taj at sunrise you need to walk to the West gate - it opens around 5.30-6am. I would recommend this - beautiful photos without the crowds.
The hotel has a fantastic roof top restaurant. We ate here one evening and the food wasn't great but the view is out of this world.
Location in Agra is fairly central and there are lots of shops to buy souvenirs and other gifts as well as other restaurants all within walking distance.
Would definitely recommend this hotel in Agra especially if you are looking to see the Taj (there isn't a great deal of other things to see in Agra anyway).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely people, welcoming atmosphere, basic but good value room. Piece de resistance is lovely rooftop restaurant with decent veggie curry and fabulous views of the Taj.

When we stayed there was the bonus of a Bollywood movie being filmed with director, producer, etc, basing themselves in the hotel giving a festival feel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

100 meters from the south entrance of Taj Mahal. Genuine indian feel all around.

+Bed sheets and towels are clean
+The staff is smiley

-Because the morning fog the sunrise is hardly enjoyable on all 3 mornings, don’t book this if only going for the view.
-Very noisy area, can’t sleep at night. The heat in unbearable, the vents are loud, and there are monkeys fighting in the corridor at night.
-The windows are hardly openable, if at all. The rooms are narrow and the equipment is rather modest.
-There is no hot water
-Most of the rooms have no windows
-The balcony’s equipment is very simple

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebibm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

highly recommended, it has the best view out of all the hotels and the roof top restaurant is very good and sells a variety of good food. Very popular for travelers. I had a double room and have no complaints atall it was very nice. The staff are great, friendly and helpful especially the man in charge
p.s there is no swimming pool but it wouldn't let me change it on tripadvisor after i accidentally clicked on it

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiebrighton1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great view from rooftop restaurant of Taj Mahal. I suppose that was the best thing about this hotel. Don't choose the tandoori chicken, it was terrible. Don't think the manager was very obliging about changing the breakfast menu a little, especially since we ate a good few meals there. Until we found the food was better outside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Very good location and view of taj from rooftop restaurant, standard of food is ok pretty average, manager is great really good english and very helpful n polite wifi is bad always needs to be reset, if the monkeys in the open hallways dont keep you awake then some drunken people will defiantly do the job haha Overall good hotel would stay again

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Battina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We pre-booked two nights at Kamal as we expected to arrive in Agra in the middle of the night.
We got our 'deluxe room' at a discount rate of 1150R through an offer on Cleartrip.
The hotel has an amazing location, you can walk to the Taj Mahal in under 5 minutes, and you have an amazing view of the building from the roof-top restaurant. There was a wide variety of food of ok quality available with efficient service by Indian standards, the prices being are the low western side of things, I believe chai was 25R, dal round 100R.
The warm water worked, WiFi was not so good, we got towels when we asked for them and the state of the room was so-so. Agra has quite a large monkey population, and we had some action on the first night of our stay with them running rampage in the open air hallway of the hotel.
Overall I thought it was ok, but next time I would want a better deal at 800R, or I would arrive early enough to check other places too.

Room Tip: WiFi didn't work for us on ground floor, but we did get monkey action ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#97 of 143 in Agra
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 143 in Agra
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#69 of 143 in Agra
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#101 of 143 in Agra
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Optimum Sheela Inn @ Taj
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#35 of 143 in Agra
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Address: South Gate Of Taj Mahal | TajGanj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: £9 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Kamal 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel with very well furnished, clean attached bath with hot water supplied and some rooms have a T.V. Honest, helpful and friendly staff. Very good councils will be given to you to discover India and we work very hard to ensure a pleasant stay. Stuff makers restaurant is excellent with good food of roof top Taj view terrace from where you can see full front view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing