We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kamal
Ranked #87 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expected better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Saw a review so booked this place. Room was clean but roof terrace was not clean - horrible wooden tables and dingy plastic chairs - service was sporadic. Although the view of the Taj was nice. The receptionist congratulated my Indian husband for having UK wife cos now he can get visa which I think he should have kept as a thought and not spoken! But hey! I wasn't expecting much as I'd been told Agra was not a nice place so maybe it's not so bad in comparison to others but we did get a nice view of another hotel with a lovely terrace-just wish I could tell you what it was called!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KCAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    113
    108
    58
    53
See reviews for
43
145
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Sunny at the front desk is a champ! Very helpful at all times however the rest of the staff were not.

Room was adequate for sleeping with a good functioning ac and fan. we were allocated an old room so the bathroom was not too crash hot.

Expensive for what it is

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We got the rooms at the new wing and the room is clean. It has AC and fan so its our choice which to use. It also has free wifi. The bathroom somehow is very hot, I think its because the exhaust fan is put on reverse. Its best that you close the bathroom door when you're sleeping. The location of the hotel is just perfect. It take us around 10mins to walk to the south gate of The Taj Mahal. On the rooftop, they have a restaurant and the view of the restaurant is The Taj itself

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had already heard many terrible things about agra and how there were not many great accommodation options for a budgeting traveler. There were two things that were fantastic about this guest house. One being Sunny who works at reception. He was fantastic and always happy to help, he even let me use his personal mobile to call my next hotel to say I would be late and helped me out with prices of things in Agra. There was another man at reception who was quite rude and I inviting. The second fantastic thing about the guest house is their roof top view of the Taj, although it feels that they could improve the roof top a lot and make it much nicer. The staff were also very friendly. The room was basic, but the bathroom was filthy and needed a good clean. I paid for their top room and feel that I pair way too much. The wifi did not work in the room and my "king bed", which was two beds pushed together was extremely uncomfortable and one of them didn't sit on the floor properly, so whenever I moved the bed would rock (just like an uneven table would). I've stayed in a few other guest houses in India that are a lot cheaper and have been much cleaner and cheaper. Over all, Sunny helped to make my stay pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is basic, but cost us £5 a night. In terms of location It could not really get better!
A few minutes walk to the Taj Mahal, the roof top view is absolutely fantastic.
The man behind the desk throughout our stay was not only extremely helpful (fluent English) but also a lovely guy - chatted to us for ages and made us feel very welcome :)
As 2 young girls on our own we felt completely safe and comfortable in this hotel -
The ONLY complaint I have is that it is advertised as aircon, it was not air con so much as large fan which meant I was still very hot at night BUT I must consider the fact that I visited in June where the temperatures were well in the 40s. So probably at a cooler time it would have been enough.

Overall , excellent value for money! And would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieColborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a cheap room which had no window apart from where a fan was blasting the smell of hot putrid water from a broken air cooler into our room. It was an experience!

The fact that there was no hot water, just a dribble of coolish water from the shower did not matter too much as the room was so hot anyway.

We were happy for the early morning visit to the Taj to escape the hell of our room...unfortunately they lock you in the hotel until you wake the staff up.

The view from the scruffy cafe on the roof was very nice. The staff were friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Genericrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We were aware from the tiny tiny price we paid that the accommodation here would be basic but were hoping for a 'cheap and cheerful' approach. Sadly, although the competition in Agra is stiff, there was no attempt made here to step up the game. With a basic and poorly executed menu, a game of cat and mouse with the staff every time we were after a drink and, with a roof top 'restaurant' with all the charm of a derelict dried up swimming pool (go figure) we ended up enjoying the very pleasant, cheap yet cheerful competition. Which I'd like to recommend you seek out over this place.

The Taj View here is indeed the only place you'll see it uninterrupted but you can see it and enjoy it perfectly well absolutely everywhere! I'd rather see it from somewhere where the staff look pleased to see me.

So the reason I've scored higher than my description suggests? - the price. Cheap as chips this place does its job just don't expect anything more - you'll be lucky even to get loo roll here :)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mridrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#93 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#68 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#34 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#37 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#46 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Property: Hotel Kamal
Address: South Gate Of Taj Mahal | TajGanj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Kamal 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel with very well furnished, clean attached bath with hot water supplied and some rooms have a T.V. Honest, helpful and friendly staff. Very good councils will be given to you to discover India and we work very hard to ensure a pleasant stay. Stuff makers restaurant is excellent with good food of roof top Taj view terrace from where you can see full front view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing