We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Shanti Lodge”
Review of Shanti Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanti Lodge
Ranked #119 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay at Shanti Lodge”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A shabby hotel near Taj Mahal, only plus was the location but other than that, the location is very crowded and very noisy during nights and early mornings. Cleanliness was not upto the mark and we had to ask again for the room to be cleaned. Shower was broken and the room had leaking water.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Paras M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    34
    53
    41
    48
See reviews for
11
65
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Insect infestation in the bathroom, which when reported was swept with a brush, this obviously did not take long for the insects to come back from.
The mattress smelt bad on the bed.
Windows did not close in the room.
Worst thing was the dog barking / howling thorough the night.
Decided not to mention the first night as thought it was a one-off but at 10:30pm on the second night it started up again, this time I could not use my ear plugs or I would have missed my alarm.
I spoke to the manager about this at which point he LAUGHED at my complaint and said it was India and not his problem, the dog in question being on the street in front of the hotel and it was basically tough. You can imagine I was not too impressed as my wife and I had been sick earlier and had gone to bed. He did move us to a back room, which I will give him credit for. We heard others being sick from the back room which we moved to. We ate at the hotel and had to send rice back as it was cold the day before.
Worst hotel we staying in in the three week India trip. I would not touch it with a very long barge-pole.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Huntly_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Agra, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here but was the worse place we stayed in the whole of india. Staff are rude they don't care about their guest's.they lied said they had hot water but don't! When questioned they Said we never have hot we didn't tell you this! They get your money up front for first night I see why! Then you can't not pay. It does have the best view of the taj from it'd restaurant but you can just go to eat don't stay! And the guy on their travel shop connected is lovely and fab that's the only 2 good things it has.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahs88545689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a good hotel with a great view at the Taj Mahal and very fast wifi that`s free to use even if you only come to eat. The rooms are oke and the food is good. The staff is really helpfull. You should stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank veuvje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Only good thing is location.
Room - dirty and cold - windows didnt close and Mosquitos everywhere because windows open.
Blanket - I don't think had EVER been washed, was lumpy and so dusty and dirty
Bathroom - philthy, tap on sink didnt work. Shower dribbled cold water, had to shower using tap near floor.
Toilet didnt flush, no toilet paper

The alleyway on way to room stunk of urine and there was a pool of blood and animal waste all over.

Okay price and decent location but WORST room I've ever stayed in

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MARKandSARAH222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel bizarrely has a sound dying here on TripAdvisor. Let me tell you why this is misplaced.

Having booked online using the hotels reservation system, which included a down payment, we were met with blank faces at this arrangement, the fact we had paid a deposit, and the entire price of the room, which led to us having to retrieve an email explaining the arrangement.

The same man at the desk was then incredibly pushy about booking a train ticket for us, asking us to go WITH him somewhere to pay a commission of 300RS (150 per person). He sulked when we went elsewhere.

Our room (in the annexe area) involves walking past tied-up goats (and their excrement) daily (have fun in flip flops) to find a room with no hot water (not a problem, but was advertised), a poor water flow and worse of all: windows that don't shut properly, so we were forced to stuff paper and the curtains into the gaps to stop bugs.

Unfortunately decent accommodation is limited in Taj Ganj area, but I am perplexed at the endorsement of Shanti Lodge by here, Lonely Planet and Rough Guide.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Rooms were pretty dark (had to ask for a 2nd bulb), no hot water and the shower was little more than a drip, no loo roll provided. To get to our rooms we had to walk though this little alley where a couple of guys stood and lauded every time we walked passed so was glad I wasn't a lone traveler.
Don't even bother eating at the resturant. Very slow service (at least 45mins for a cup of tea) and when our breakfast finally did arrive it was awful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#100 of 145 in Agra
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#88 of 145 in Agra
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shyam Palace Hotel
Shyam Palace Hotel
#96 of 145 in Agra
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#81 of 145 in Agra
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#109 of 145 in Agra
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#30 of 145 in Agra
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Lodge

Property: Shanti Lodge
Address: Chowk Kagjiyan South Gate | South Gate, Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Shanti Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shanti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing