We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodation near South Gate of Taj..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanti Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanti Lodge
Ranked #115 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Decent accommodation near South Gate of Taj..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here in Jan-14. Its very Close to the south gate of Taj Mahal. Rooms were small, but Clean. Bathroom fittings were not good enough. Staffs are friendly. Best thing about this hotel is the Roof-Top-Restaurant. You can get Beer on order. Best view of Taj from roof top restaurant. A good choice for back-packers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BijayKumarMahanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    33
    52
    40
    48
See reviews for
11
64
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

All I needed when I was staying in Agra was a room to sleep in, because I what I was really there for was, of course, the Taj Mahal! And the view from the rooftop restaurant of this hotel does not disappoint! Also, it is just a short walk from the hotel to the Taj, making this a budget traveler bonanza...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel has the best rooftop view of the Taj Mahal. You can see the entire thing!! The rooms are also reasonably priced. Single 300, 500 or 700 rupees; Double 500, 700, or 900 rupees. They also have free WiFi and hot showers. The owner is very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WonderingYogi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Undoubtedly, this hotel has one of the best views of the Taj from its roof-top restaurant. The view not only means a glimpse of the Taj, but a clear, tip-to-toe view of this grand monument. From its roof top, with a cup of hot 'masala chai', watch the mist lift and the ethereal beauty of the Taj emerge with its changing hues.

The staff are courteous and you can get a cup of tea and breakfast even before the Taj gates open. So there's no wasting time. About the rooms - there are many types available. From the not so glamorous to well furnished. Bathrooms are OK. The insulation of the rooms should be good as we could not feel 2 degree C at night.

The rates are worth paying for a visitor to the Taj as you can get there right when the gates open without paying any 'autorickshaw wallah' for a trip from the cheaper hotels at the Agra Fort and Station areas.

Make a visit to the back of the Taj towards the east gate for a different view of the Taj.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front facing the road have good light and are better. The top floor have rooms from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KolkataPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REDDITCH
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Budget accomadation just a short walk from the Taj Mahal.
Excellent view of the Taj from the rooftop terrace. Would have been great at sunrise if it wasn't cloudy, which it was when I was there.
Rooms could have been better but ok for the money. Staff were friendly. However, the WiFi was down whilst I was there and they would not let me use the internet cafe, that shares the same building and is called shanti !, without paying.So I went to a nearby cafe and used their free WiFi. Other than that the staff were ok. They say rooms have hot water but in the ROM I stayed in the hot water just came out of a tap and not the shower. There was no sink in the room at all.

Room Tip: If you want hot water for a shower make sure the hot water is plumbed in to the shower not just to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This hole rates as the worst place i've been to in india (that's both hotel and town)! Simply vile, the beds are rank, the bathrooms disgusting and it's not even cheap! We stayed 1 night out of desperation but it wasn't worth it, had a rotten night, this place gives me the creeps!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juzzaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

A shabby hotel near Taj Mahal, only plus was the location but other than that, the location is very crowded and very noisy during nights and early mornings. Cleanliness was not upto the mark and we had to ask again for the room to be cleaned. Shower was broken and the room had leaking water.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Paras M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#92 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#87 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#38 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#34 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shyam Palace Hotel
Shyam Palace Hotel
#79 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Lodge

Property: Shanti Lodge
Address: Chowk Kagjiyan South Gate | South Gate, Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Shanti Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shanti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing