We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Helpful staff and reasonable rate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taj Home Stay
Ranked #70 of 191 Agra B&B and Inns
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and reasonable rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here for one night and I felt safe and convenient. Time to the taj mahal from here was about 10-15 mins by tuk tuk. The hotel can call a tuk tuk driver for you upon request. Do write an email to the host for the rate. Our train was at 23:00 but the host let us stay at the lobby to wait. It was overall economical and decent enough.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrischangsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    64
    40
    16
    19
See reviews for
42
61
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed everymoment. Close to railway station and Taj. Staff were frendly and cooperative.

i would recommend the traveller to choose this hotel for stay. Its just like HOME.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashutoshsingh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one day alongwith my family. We booked a double room with an additional bed. The manager was pleasant to interact with and arrnged us a Taxi pick up from the Agra Cantt Railway station just over a km from the hotel. The staff was friendly and service prompt. The room as a whole was clean and had good linen. The quality of the third bed was good too. However the room lacked a dressing table which would have benefited ladies much. The lighting in the room was inadequate for reading and no bedside lamps or reading lamps were available. There were no provisions for tea/coffee. So the morning bed tea was charged. The bathroom was clean. Toiletaries provided were scarce considering the number of guests in the room. A geyser provided hot water. The airconditioner was effective and quiet. However when we visited there was a power cut for over 6 hours which precluded us from using these appliances. Thankfully for us the hotel had power back up for one light and fan in the room and the weather was not unbearably hot! . Food was delicious but defenitely not cheap. They have a reasonably good variety on the menu. Located in a residential area there are hardly any restaurants closeby. Breakfast was included and we opted for continental meal which had simple toasts with jam, eggs and tea/coffee. The option available was Indian breakfast with Aloo Paratha with curd and pickle. Overall the stay was comfortable and pleasant and much credit for it goes to the friendly staff. The manager also arranged for our local sightseeing tour and transfer to Bharatpur at reasonable rates. This is a good place if your requirements are limited to a comfortable place with bed and breakfast. Proximity to the Railway station is an added advantage travelling by train.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakes_a2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Taj Homestay for one night and had no real complaints here. The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean enough, but again gritty floors and marks on the walls, but we are on a budget so it was perfect for us. We went out for a walk in the evening and decided to turn around when we got a little way down the main road as it appeared there was noting around us other than the busy road. But saying that we could have missed a turn or whatever. But it seemed we were quite far away from anything. There is wifi in the reception which was good, plus a nice way to socialise with others. Breakfast was the standard toast with jam and an omelette. Again no concerns with this. An ideal clean hotel, which I would visit again.

I am travelling the world and India is my first place. I have a YouTube account where I am publishing various videos. I am also creating a blog. If you are interested contact me through YouTube.
http://youtu.be/s2SXflZlDxs

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W14RNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

I stay one night there with my family. Nice hotel,rooms very clean,breakfast very good. One more thing it is near to Agra canth station. When I come back Agra stay in taj home stay..... Nice hotel for family stay....

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I booked for 2 rooms, but we were forced to take 1 room. The Owner bluntly declined our booking. The rude owner tells us to "Kindly Adjust" in one room. But he did not refund our money.
The complimentary breakfast included one piece burnt bread with tasteless tea. Room was very dirty having no resemblance to the picture shown in website. The bed sheets had stains. The towel was dirty. In bathroom we found yellow coloured water with horrible smell. We feared of water borne diseases.
The hotel owner is very rude. He misbehaved with the women travellers. He shouted angrily at the guests when they required for a mirror in the room. The owner barked in a rough voice that no room had mirrors and we should learn to adjust.
We were irritated with poor service. We feared that the owner is a rogue and hooligan. We feel cheated. I cannot recommend this hotel to any unsuspicious traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DD72Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

A nice place to stay. Rooms were clean and comfy with a nice bathroom, and had everything we needed. Breakfast was so-so, but in India you never know what you're going to get. Still better than lots of other places. The only problem was it was far away from the Taj and Taj ganj, where all the backpackers, bars, and restaurants seem to be. Luckily we had our own driver, but if you are not planning on getting a driver it would be worthwhile staying somewhere closer. If not, this place is quiet and relaxing, but not too much to see in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lbombastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sakura
Hotel Sakura
#65 of 146 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 146 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Agra
Grand Hotel Agra
#99 of 146 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 146 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#33 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#35 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Home Stay

Property: Taj Home Stay
Address: 26/3, Old Idgah Colony | Near Idgha Bus Stand, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Taj Home Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
welcome to the Taj Home Stay expressions of traditional Indian culture and hospitality. The scale of our accommodations allows us to cater your individual needs and wishes. Situated in the heart of Agra, just steps from the main bus stop, five minutes from Agra Cantt Railway Station, two kilometres from Agra Airport and 4 kilometres from the Taj Mahal,Facilites**********¤ All rooms have split Airconditioner of 1.5 ton each.¤ All rooms have attached bathroom with Hansa German fittings, European WC geysers to have hot/cold water, bath tub, standing showers, hair dryer.¤ 21 inches colour television in each room with satellite channels including ESPN, ZEE, BBC, STAR TV, CNN etc.¤ Godrej safety deposit locker in each room.¤ Panasonic key telephone in each room. ¤ Small Electrolux refrigerator in each room.¤ Same day laundry facility.¤ Complimentary buffet breakfast daily.¤ Backup 50 kva generator in case of power failure.¤ Doctor on call.¤ Complimentary welcome drink on checkin.¤ Complimentary tea/coffee in each room anytime desired by clients. Child policy - Children below 07 years would be complimentary with parents or else will be on extra cost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Taj Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Home Stay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing