We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The India I never imagined I'd get to see.”
Review of Fort Rampura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucknow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Rampura
Ranked #5 of 130 Lucknow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The Singh family have created a unique rural Indian getaway steeped in history, relaxation and a whole lot of heart. After 3 nights I didn’t want to leave! The hosts, so warm and generous with their time & energy and the setting simply surreal. Everything has character and a story to fascinate.

Some quick facts:

Activities – This is the perfect place to wind down, write, read, paint or just simply get away from it all. If you like visiting local village markets, be sure to check in advance what day the market falls on and try and coincide your travel dates. Oh and you can wonder and get lost to your hearts content in the surrounding ravines (watch the movie ‘Bandit Queen’ before you arrive if you’re into local stories).

Communication – Emails were always replied to promptly to assist our pre-arrival questions and planning.

Facilities / Cleanliness – Spotless. Bathrooms are tailored to suit the western traveller comfortably.

Food – Three hot meals in the daily rate and can be adapted to one’s taste as required (eg. My travel companion had been sick from our previous stop and Padmini ensured suitable foods and liquids were available to aid her recovery)

Getting there – probably the trickiest piece of the puzzle if you don’t have your own driver but all the more the adventure getting there! We came via train and then arranged with Padmini to have a driver collect us for the remaining 4 hour drive through the countryside.

Rooms - Charming, say no more.

Hosts – offered us the perfect balance of attention and space.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mitchiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

Fort Rampura is at the same time more and less than one might expect, in the best possible sense of the expression. It is, in fact, a true surprise. And as with all good surprises, one should never give away too much. Because in fact I find that I'm torn, as I'm writing this review, between the desire to share this special place with the whole community on the one hand, and keeping it entirely to myself and my close friends on the other. What convinced me in favour of writing over here is the acute feeling that the integrity and generosity with which the Fort is run by the Singh family deserves to be known because it is a model of a better and more sensible travel experience than unfortunately is more and more the case. One definitely doesn't go to Rampura to be impersonally attended to by a service that identifies guests with their room number. One doesn't go to Rampura if the only thing one is willing to give is cash. No, it really is not just a question of cash. It's a question of establishing a relationship with the owners, with whom there is never shortage of opportunities for a frank exchange of ideas. One goes to Rampura if one is willing to meet a lively family who happens to have an extraordinary personal history and to live in an incredibly fascinating house. If that is understood and accepted, I cannot think of other places that are equally soothing and inspiring in this part of India.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank litcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in the fort in October 2010. We found it through trip advisor and didn't really know what we will get but what we got exceeded all our possible most crazy expectations!

The fort is really old and maintained by a single family for hundreds of years. This is a way to see the history of India with real people and real things.

The place is hard to find, but it is definetly worth the trouble to meet friendly couple of hosts and see this beautiful place. I can second other reviewers on their feelings about place, hosts and food you get.

This is a must to visit if you find yourself in the region. And you should plan to spend at least a couple of days - there's a lot to do and see.

Room Tip: Room on the top of the tower is the best one in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I went 3 times in Fort Rampura. First one was in november 2007. I think, I have discovered a jewel in the heart of traditionnal India.
Fort Rampura is a wonderful and authentic fort wich is tastefully renovated. All the rooms are beautiful and very clean. Everything in the living-rooms remind you the maharaja's time: furniture, trophys ...
But the best is the welcome of Padmini and Keshavendra Singh.Guests are really sharing Fort Rampura's life. Meals are taken with your hosts in the delightful dining-room and they are delicious.Padmini's recipes are excellent and she pays always attention to your taste."Do you prefer spicy or not?" Last time we went with my family, she had specially cooked brownies, just in case french kids don't like indian food.
Keshavendra will guide you in the fort's visit wich is a huge and wonderful fort, in Rampura's orchard where you can taste so many fruits, in Rampura village and market.
He will organise for you ravine's walk to the family temple, excursion to Jagmanpur Palace, boat trip on the river, visit to the potters.
The best is to stay 3 nights minimum.

Keshu and Padmini are really the best hosts all over India. Because of them, all my stays in Rampura were enchantments.
I remember with emotion, one night, they have organized music and songs by the inhabitants of a small hamlet.It was really magic to see in the black night lighted by candles the enchanting dances.
Fort Rampura is a luxury place in the heart of true India. I'll come back.

Room Tip: Upper room is the nicest with view all around the fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nanouk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Fort Rampura was a fantastic experience for us. We stayed for 2 nights in February when the weather was perfect and the countryside was busy and beautiful. We travelled by train to Etawah from Delhi and were then picked up in a car for the 2 hour drive to the Fort. Padmini and Keshavendra Singh own the fort and they were wonderful hosts. Not only are they warm and welcoming but they were happy to share everything they knew about the Fort and the surrounding area. Keshu happily showed us the local market and a kitchen garden attached where we discovered how loads of different foods that we take for granted, in Delhi, come from. We were then lucky to have some of these fruits and veg for supper, lunch and breakfast. The food was excellent and Padmini is really thoughtful about providing things that you like.

The Fort itself was beautiful and fascinating. It is in a state of disrepair in places which is very sad, Keshu and Padmini have a real challenge on their hands keeping the place. We stayed in the newer (only 200 years old I think) part of the fort and had a great bedroom and bathroom.

If you rely on A/C and room service then this is not the place for you. If you want a unique and personalised stay in a very un-touristy part of India then you will love it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hodgeandhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marondelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jean-pierre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
114.5 mi away
lebua Lucknow
lebua Lucknow
#5 of 110 in Lucknow
132 reviews
105 mi away
Ramada Lucknow
Ramada Lucknow
#12 of 110 in Lucknow
164 reviews
116.4 mi away
Renaissance Lucknow Hotel
Renaissance Lucknow Hotel
#2 of 110 in Lucknow
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
116.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
114.6 mi away
La Place Sarovar Portico, Lucknow
119.4 mi away
Novotel Lucknow Gomti Nagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Rampura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Rampura

Address: Lucknow, Lucknow 285127, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Lucknow
Price Range: £53 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing