We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like home...with better services”
Review of Clarks Avadh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarks Avadh
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Lucknow
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I along with my friend vipul camw for a short visit to lucknow for work and so we decided to take a room at the clarks avadh ,we took room number 606 which is a privlage floor and the room was simply beautiful,although our train reached at a very odd time at four in the morning but the car from the hotel was there...when We reached we were welcomed by beautiful flowers...the room was tastefully done and very very comfortable the food is to die for... I want to thank anoop and renuka kumar the owners for clarks group for there hospitality and warmth...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hemantambwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Location:
We stayed here between 13th and 20th July. The hotel is centrally located with easy reach to both downtown Hazratganj and beyond and to University, Kapurthala and beyond. Hotel cabs and other taxi operators ease the travel within city. Several landmarks like Residency, Bara Imambara, Lakshman Ka Tilla are really close.

Room:
The rooms we stayed in 712 and 714 were large and comfortable, allowed enough day light and well kept. Beds were large and very comfortable to sleep in.
Room Service:

Dining:
The complimentary morning buffet breakfast had a decent spread offering basic continental dishes (hash browns, baked potatoes, eggs, chicken franks, toasts, cereal and fruits) as well as fair bit of desi dishes (puris, parathas, idlis, sabzis, buttermilk etc). The serving staff are pretty polite and on their toes.

Housekeeping:
Though the service per se was impeccable, some in this staff push for tips. Be wary of this. And though I am not against tipping, it should be done at will and not as an obligation as hotels charge heavy service tax. Also a 4 star property should train their housekeeping better as it does not sync with their service philosophy.

Overall:
A great hotel for a short trip or a corporate funded stay but longer stays will bust your pocket.

Room Tip: We had rooms 712 and 714 which were adjacent and were linked by a connecting door. So if you are tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very ordinary. Nothing like five star. Rooms are good. Pool side rooms has nice view of Lucknow Gomti river. Food is of no taste. Service is very ordinary. They are providing complementary wifi which is good but you can use in only one device.
Overall ordinary 3 star hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank kp4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lucknow has paucity of hotels , so expect a large gap between price charged and quality of services rendered. I didn't get any other choice so moved to Clarks.

3 Rooms were changed , since each had an issue- Leaking A/c's, Telephones not working, Leaking Wash basin etc to name a few.

The worst part is the hotel is on a busy , ever honking road and the windows are 19th century non sound proof. So be ready to hear all sorts of Horns all night.

Room Service- Poor , Old chaps above 70 Man the hotel in all departments. I ordered for Daal Khichdi and it came after an hour and the portion was insufficient to say the least.

Overall a bad experience, this hotel is worth Rs 2000/- at best and not 5000/- at all.

Room Tip: May be a Non Road facing room will have less honking !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManojChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a welcome party for our newly born grandsons at Aiwan-e-avadh 1 & 2 banquet halls recently on 10th of May,2014. Since we are kayastha hindus, we are very fond of chatpata-masaledar food. So we selected a lavish menu of paneer tikka,veg.spring rolls,veg.rolls, fish finger,chilli chicken,shami kebabs,paneer Hazrat Mahal,veg.Jalfarezi,kaju matar makahana,mutton korma,murgh do pyaza,veg.noodles, veg.manchurian,live pasta, veg.biryani and so many more other items were also added to it. Every guest enjoyed all the dishes to its extreme.And when the party was over, everyone highly appreciated the quality, aroma & the taste of veg. & non-veg dishes from their heart. We felt proud in hosting our celebration with such a great appreciation from every guest. So now, we, SADHNA PRADEEP & PRADEEP KUMAR RAJOO (Pradeep Saxena), would like to thank the food-team of Clarks Avadh very much from the core of our hearts for serving so much quality food to us & making us proud as great hosts. Thank you very much dear Mr.Dutta, chief chef. We highly appreciate your efforts. Thanks a lot dear Clarks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pradeep Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was there for four days for electioneering work. This was my second stay at the hotel, I had once stayeed there in 1998. The hotel was teeming with politicians of all hue and cry. The restaurant on the 9th floor is overrated and pricey. Breakfast at the coffee shop was good with a nice spread. The staff are nice and courteous, some of the veterans still have the old world charm. Centrally located, with a good view of the Gomti river. It seems that the hotel which was once the best in the State is having a hard time keeping pace. The rooms are spacey though dimly lighted. They should convert it into a heritage hotel, in its present form it is neither here nor there.
It seems that the hotel gets its major income from the banquets and marriages it hosts. Every night the lobby was choc-a-bloc with guests creating a ruckus. Overall a nice hotel which is finding it hard to keep up with the times. I would still recommend it to the discerning traveler over the other hotels which have come up in recent years.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the river, the early morning view is really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anildhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After booking the hotel via a travel website and making the full payment as guarantee about 4 days before! Just a day before when I had to check in, you get a call that the hotel is full! They had no courtesy even if their hotel was full, they could have found some upgrade solution! Again I had to waste my time in booking in another hotel! Definitely won't try booking there again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Dins890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
2.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
1.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Golden Tulip Lucknow
#17 of 106 in Lucknow
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Place Sarovar Portico, Lucknow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Novotel Lucknow Gomti Nagar
4.6 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Lucknow
13 mi away
Ramada Lucknow
Ramada Lucknow
#15 of 106 in Lucknow
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarks Avadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarks Avadh

Address: 8 Mahatma Gandhi Marg, Lucknow 226001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lucknow
#4 Business Hotel in Lucknow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucknow
Price Range: £52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarks Avadh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clarks Avadh Lucknow offers you more than just a stay. Conveniently located right in the side of the palace of the Nawabs and on the bank of river Gomti. Hotel Clarks Avadh has several restaurants serving excellent local and regional Indian and Continental cooking, including the roof top Falaknuma Restaurant. This Lucknow hotel presents you with an opportunity to enjoy traditional "Lucknowi" - The Tehzeeb of the Nawabi Kitchen with its specialty Avadhi cuisine, Fully supported by the business centre and secretariat, this 5 star Lucknow hotel also has conferencing and meeting rooms equipped with all the modern facilities for your successful meetings in Lucknow. The Clarks Avadh Hotel in Lucknow is part of the successful Clarks Hotel Group in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarks Avadh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Avadh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing