We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!!”
Review of Hotel Buddha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Buddha
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014


Our 3 night stay at Hotel Buddha was very comfortable. We had occupied a family room, the room was clean and spacious and it proved to be a good choice for us. The staff was also very warm and friendly. The breakfast offered good variety. The food in general was tasty and homely. We hired a cab for our city tours as well and the hotel staff made good arrangements for our travel purposes. We would surely recommend the hotel!! (y)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, General Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are greatly honoured by the wonderful experience that you had staying with us. We at Hotel Buddha try our best to provide the best service to our guests. We hope that you would surely choose to visit Hotel Buddha again on your next visit to Varanasi. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    178
    90
    32
    20
See reviews for
183
100
42
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel was just average. The location is not that great. When we arrived, they gave us tea which was good. We entered the elevator to go up and there was a power fail and we were stuck in the lift for about 10 minutes. The elevator only got repaired after a day. My mom who has bad knees had to go up by the stairs.
The room was comfortable enough for a day or two. The bathroom was small but ok. Shower head was good. But there was no hot water for 2 days. Had to shower in icy cold water early in the morning. There was only hot water on the day we left
The service at the restaurant was slow but all needs were taken care of. The food was not too great, a bit on the high salt. Price was reasonable.
There was insects in the room.
There are often power failures.

Room Tip: Get rooms on lower floors in case there elevator is not working. There are often power failures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanthira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, General Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We really appreciate for your kind effort to write a review for us. We also like to express our deep apologies for the experience that you had to face due to the sudden power failure. But, we would like to clarify that we have 3 generators and an additional inverter to provide instant power backup for lift and ACs and all other electrical equipment. In your case there was some other technical problem due to which it took 10 minutes for the in-house electrician to rectify the problem. We really apologize for the mishap that took place and we would ensure that such a thing would never happen again with any other guest. We have also made a note for your other concerns about our hotel and we would ensure that we improve on those points to provide a better service to our guests in future. We wish that you would give us another opportunity for a better service for your next visit to Varanasi. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Staff is not kindness.

Room is bad smell. Then pillow is dirty. Bathroom has bug.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoshi84964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, General Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We deeply apologize for the experience that you had to face during your stay. We at Hotel Buddha try our best to provide warm and friendly hospitality to our guests so that they feel like their home. We try to make arrangements to redress any such complains related to housekeeping immediately. We are extremely sorry for the experience that you had to face. We hope that you would reconsider your rating for our hotel. We wish that you would give us another opportunity for a better service for your next visit to Varanasi. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is not what is advertised on it's website or on trip advisor. Safety is a problem-there are no door bolts, only a skeleton key and latch and my window did not have a latch at all. My room had unpainted patched walls, a strange hole in the bathroom wall and dirty linens. There was no hot water and the AC was only on from 10pm to 6am with frequent power outages. The one good thing about this hotel: the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sagood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Owner at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We deeply apologize for the experience that you had to face during your stay. I would like to clarify a few things that may help you with your concerns. Each and every room has a double locking gate bolt. Apart from that we have security guards in the campus who monitor the building all the time.
We would also like to tell you that we have 3 generators and an additional inverter to provide 24 hour power backup for ACs and all other electrical equipment. As there are frequent power-cuts in the city so it takes about 30 secs for the generator to start to provide with the power back-up.
Still, in case you had other concerns about the room we would have been honored to help you by offering you another room upon your request. We hope that you would reconsider your rating for our hotel and choose to visit us again when you come to Varanasi. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I Karra Ravi Kumar reached to Buddha on 29th May 2014 and stayed till 1st June 2014 with my Father, Mother and Grand mother. First and foremost happy experience is seeing my Father situation they have suggested me a Family room in ground floor for comfortable stay. Aside all of us was really happy the way room service team has met our requirements all the four days.

Mr. Raju has suggested the plan to see Kasi by accommodating one guide Mr. Pandey. My special thanks to Mr. Pandey who has helped us to cover Kasi within a stipulated time and Mr. Radhaeshyam room service staff for his courteous way of dealing which has really touched the heart my parents and grandmother.

Thanks to all staff of Hotel Buddha for helping us to have hassle free stay as well as a memorable trip of Kasi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KARRARAVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear KARRARAVI,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. It is heartening to know that you had a good time here and our specialized services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for your special mention about Mr.Pandey and Radheshyam, we will forward your message to them. We hope that you would consider us again in the future and should you return, we will be very happy to welcome you back.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My family and I (7 guests) stayed at Hotel Buddha and had the most wonderful experience of Varanasi! The hotel staff was very welcoming on the day of arrival, which made us feel at home. Whether it was room service, breakfasts, bedding, or special-order dinners, they accommodated for all our needs with a smile and extra-care :) They have large rooms which is equipped with a mini-fridge, and air-conditioning. They have a huge courtyard, which was nice to sit in - morning or night - and the terrace is full of plants & greenery. Their lobby room is beautifully painted and has large windows - it was a pleasure to have a cup of tea there during the day. There is a power-outage daily, but they have back-up generators to keep major facilities running - lights, fans, and elevator, at the least. The hotel is a bit in the heart of the city, so traffic & noise is always around - the hustle & bustle is part of Varanasi though! They made arrangements for a chauffeur to take us around the city for the entire length of our stay - which was really very handy. On the day the chauffeur was not available, they still managed to make other arrangements! It was a pleasure to stay here! I would definitely recommend Hotel Buddha to anyone who is visiting Varanasi!
We would like to say a big 'Thank You!' to the exceptional staff - Mr. V. P. Singh, Mr. Raju, Dada Ji, Pooja, Rakesh, Mohan, and everyone in the background - especially the chefs!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Nikki S,

Thank you so much for the wonderful and detailed review.

It is always a great pleasure to us to read a review that is very thoughtful and detailed. We thank you for such an amazing review. It warms our heart to know that your experience with us exceeded your expectations.

It gives us great pleasure in reading your review and it definitely raises our spirits to provide the same excellent service to everyone that steps into our hotel. Your heartening compliments about our service, dining options and amenities are truly delightful.

Thank you for this joyful read and recommending us to all. We will be sure to inform our team of your kind words and their wonderful service in arranging for your stay.

All Buddha Team says “A Big Thankyou “ to You and Your Family for your stay, great review. We looking forward to have your stay with us again.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel's deluxe room for two nights. The room was comfortable and adequately sized for two people with pleasingly fresh linen; the bathroom was surprisingly modern and very clean as well.

I would like to mention at the outset that a serious mistake was made in the email confirming our booking dates not once but twice, though we had already got the automated confirmation of the corect dates when we paid the advance. This part needs to be looked into and tightened up. Puja was very courteous and helpful on the phone, but probably needs to be better trained in important matters like dates which can spell chaos for the guest upon arrival.

There is something important to share about the food too. At a glance, the complimentary breakfast seemed poor and really unappetizing looking. Their cold milk to go with the cornflakes was not cold enough, and the hot milk jug was at best warm. The water melon, the only fruit being served, was not adequately stocked. Alongwith some local sweets and water melon, they served hard sticky idlies (but quite good vadas) with extremely watery sambhar on the first day.

HOWEVER, they readily prepared good masala omlettes on request. On the second day, there were local sweets again on the sparsely laid out breakfast table, and given the pausity of options, I decided to try them -- the very sweet jalebis tasted good! On request again, there were also very willingly prepared fresh poories to go with aalu bhaji, and served with great courtesy. In other words, one ought to ASK what one wants e.g. eggs as desired, or freshly prepared stock of whatever is being served, or newly made coffee, or to replenish the fruit tray etc. There was an elderly gentleman serving the breakfast, and he was very obliging about any requests. The simple Indian food which we requested both in our room or in the restaurant was indeed very good in quality. Their dal tadka and dal fry with rotis is highly recommended.

Infrastructure: There were frequent power offs, but there is a strong back up for the fan and the light to keep working in the room. The AC at night always worked as promised, making it an extremely comfortable room to sleep in at night. The lift broke down for a whole day, but was put on track by the end of the day. The wifi did not seem to work at all on either of the two days I was there. The cold bottled water we frequently requested was almost always at room temperature, but there was a charming little fridge in the room which worked, and we cooled it there. The hotel has a taxi service for sightseeing, including trips to weavers to buy Banarasi silk saris, but we were unable to use it because of other commitments.

The most valued part of the stay was their absolutely reliable pick up and drop off facility, given that we stayed there during the last few days of election campaigning and rallies and there was no transport easily available. Though steeply charged (Rs 650 and 750 respectively), it was done very smoothly and without giving us any moments of anxiety. They have a rather grand hall in which I waited after I had checked out of the room and was waiting for my hotel taxi -- somehow its grandeur did not match up with the rest of the hotel.

On the whole, I would say that we had a reasonably comfortable stay in an average hotel which will perfectly do for a very short, non-fussy stay in Benaras.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Meena R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. Sorry for the inconvenience caused in confirmation email, usually it doesn’t happen. We are glad that immediately new amended email was sent to you. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us.

We have noted your feedback with regards to the breakfast.We will take care of mentioned things. It’s always pleasure to know that we were successful to accommodate our guests’ all requests at the same time.

We thank you for your concern and understanding regarding the power failures and provided backup/s in order to make your stay comfortable. Apology for the problem in using wifi, as the wifi/internet was stopped by the local service provider due to the elections in Varanasi.

Thank you for the feedback regarding our travel service. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.


Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.4 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Grapevine
Hotel Grapevine
#7 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#10 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha

Property: Hotel Buddha
Address: Ramkatora Lahurabir C - 26/35 | Near Lahurabir Crossing, Behind Lahurabir Petrol Pump, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Varanasi, the hotel offers variety of luxurious rooms and suites for a comfortable stay. We serve a range of cuisine and provide our guests with an exclusive travel desk to design exciting tour plans. The facilities and quality of service we deliver makes us an equivalent to a 3 star hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Buddha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing