We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located to experience Varanasi”
Review of Hotel Lara India

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lara India
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Brilliant food... very affordable... absolutely awesome location... Rooms are decent... there is power back up and a very responsive travel desk... You are at the heart of ghats of Varanasi ... close to Vishwanath Temple... If you like window shopping then its the perfect place for you

Room Tip: Pick any not much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PBofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Have been in this hotel for 10 days. Very near to temple (gate no.1). It was really a very good experience. Maintenance staff are very friendly and helpful through out our stay especially Naveen Singh. Rooms are well maintained and clean. Hope our next visit to kashi will be in same hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srikanth_Ktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Past reviewers have written about the location so I will not touch that part. The hotel maintenance is fairly good. We had a couple of leaky taps but were told that they could be fixed in half an hour. Bed linen and pillow quality was a disappointment They were clean and fresh but were often torn and yellowing. The pillows (in room no 305 ) need a change. They are flat.

Restaurant was nice. good food but the prices scared people away. A veg meal for four at over Rs 750 would be considered steep for many people who explored options at nearby places where a thali costs Rs 125.

What we all liked were the sit-outs on every floor which gave a grand view of the milling crowds down below-- Indians in quest of salvation and foreigners seeking a feel of Indian spirituality.

Pl remember to read through the hotel `manual' in your room. Thereby, you will save yourself the expense on morning tea for you and yr partner ( free till 9am) and a half day's tariff on your departure day if you are leaving within a certain time. But overall it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank papai2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The biggest advantage of this hotel is that it is near to Vishwanath Temple & Dashashwamedh Ghat and located on the main road.It has a good Veg Restaurant with it.The staffs are good & polite as well as very helpful.Hotel is clean.They arranged us an A/C car within 30 mins for our trip to Vrindyachal.
Staying in this hotel is VALUE FOR MONEY.

This hotel is recommendable to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Subharthee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The biggest advantage is its location. Very close to Godhuliya Xing and Viswanath Temple. Walkaing distance from Daswasamedh ghat. Good restaurants around, and markets for all you need.

Hotel is clean, staffs are polite and professional. Restaurant food is good and tasty. We loved stuffed kulcha.

Rooms on high floor are better. We were in 4th level. Good air conditioning, good TV and good room service. They change linens every day, clean room every day. But no windows - forget about outside view, unless you stay in suite - Room X01 or X02

Restrooms are big, and clean, but looks old. Floor tiles probably requires renovation. There is good ventilation, and I experienced water getting logged in bathroom floor, which says the sewerage lines and plumbing requires renovation.

Check in & check out process was fast. The sofa and window at end of corridor is great pleasure.

Thanks Lara India and their staff for being so nice.

Thanks
Aurobindo

Room Tip: High floor preferably 5, 4, levels Suite Rooms X01 and X02 are good, because they are big and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AurobindoSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed on 22nd aug 13 for 2 days,, nice, very close to temple,, aarthi, shopping..clean in such a crowded place..ac was good, , restaurant service little slow but food is very good...arranged vehicle also for sight seing...we felt worth for the money we paid..

Room Tip: If you want Ac room book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kuppam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lara India is very good hotel for stay in Varanasi with family to enjoy the culture of vibrant city. Food quality in is also very good but little bit expensive. Pick up & drop in facility in /on Varanasi Railway Station will add more value. This Hotel shall be recommended to other also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank Debajyoti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ajay Guest House
Ajay Guest House
#43 of 80 in Varanasi
89 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ganges Grand
Hotel Ganges Grand
#22 of 80 in Varanasi
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#17 of 80 in Varanasi
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
1.1 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#39 of 80 in Varanasi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lara India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lara India

Address: Dashashwamedh Road | Godowlia, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: £19 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Lara India 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Lara India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing