We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint rooms”

Chaitanya Guest House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaitanya Guest House
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Cute guesthouse with ideal location and a super friendly owner. During March the AC wasn't necessary, but this could be an issue at other times of the year as not all rooms have AC. The only other complaint would be that there is no Wi-Fi available. For a little treat, grab a dessert at the Palace on the Ganges hotel next door.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank davidvb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 4 nights in a double room (FAN) for 500 INR and it was perfect for us. Easy to access and in a quite calm neighbourhood but close to all the exiting things im Varanasi. They just have 4 rooms but they are quite big. Bathrooms are not the cleanest but good enough gore the price. No WiFi.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jumarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Lovely guest house in Assi Ghat, one of the southern ghats. Stayed for 2 nights in October.
We had the large double room at the front which had stained glass windows and pretty furniture and was clean.
The owner is quiet but friendly.
Would definitely recommend this guest house for location and cost. Assi Ghat is much quieter than the other ghats and it has a good Open Hand cafe and pizza restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank maggiefloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed at Chaitanya in Feb. 2010. Despite being cheated by the rickshaw driver from Varanasi train station we eventually made it to Assi Ghat (this is, by no means, a reflection on Chaitanya - they did not cheat us in the slightest).

Chaitanya is a small guest house with just four rooms. They were clean enough and comfortable. However, the double room we had developed a mouldy, musty smell that seemed to increase the longer we stayed. We were there for three days in total and by the end some of our clothes were actually damp.

It's a real shame as the family who run the guest house are friendly and pretty much leave you to your own devices. They are there if you need to ask any questions but largely they keep themselves to themselves.

The location of the guest house was great; it was right on the ganges and made for easy access to the boats that leave very early in the mornings. There is also a wonderful chai stall right outside the guest house selling the best chai we had in India (for just 3 rupees a cup!) Access to the road was just beside the guest house, which made it easy and straightforward to grab a rickshaw too.

I think if they sorted out the mould problem and perhaps interacted more with their guest then this would be a brilliant little place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LDNgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beatrizbalmaceda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacheBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#18 of 79 in Varanasi
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#16 of 79 in Varanasi
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivera Palace
Hotel Rivera Palace
#19 of 79 in Varanasi
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 79 in Varanasi
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaitanya Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaitanya Guest House

Address: B1/158 A, Assi Sangam, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: £6 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing