We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN, Well-located and Wonderful Service - Thanks, Mintu!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kedareswar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 210 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“CLEAN, Well-located and Wonderful Service - Thanks, Mintu!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

5 of us had to find a place on the fly in the middle of our trip in India. We were lucky to find this gem of a guest house. It is located in the heart of old Varanasi with views overlooking the Ganges.

Mintu - the owner and manager was terrific. He was kind, helpful and accommodating...easily arranging boats to cruise the Ganga for the evening and at dawn. When someone in our party asked about an authentic Hindu dance show, he arranged for us to see one that evening!

Since this part of Varanasi is essentially a maze and one can easily get lost, Mintu assigned a young man, Sunnu, to be our guide. He took us to ATM's, tailor shops, restaurants, the traditional dance show...anywhere we needed to go. Sunnu was so patient - trying to accommodate the needs of 5 Americans. This was an unexpected but greatly appreciated & wonderful service provided to us.

Three of us shared a triple room which was spacious and had terrific views of the Ganges. It was quiet and allowed a restful sleep. The private marble-lined bathroom was VERY clean. Breakfast was served on a rooftop terrace where we could enjoy watching monkeys at play or the slow process of life on the Ganges. The menu had a nice selection to choose from. Since they don't serve lunch or dinner, we were referred next door to the Lotus Garden - a wonderful spot for lounging the afternoon away. It is run by a German woman so it is very clean and has a wonderful selection of light foods...and we ate the fresh salads without any ill effects to follow!

We were there at the end of November. The triple room was about 50USD per night. For that price, this was an unbeatable value - as the cleanliness and comfortable beds were MUCH appreciated, not to mention the wonderful hospitality and service. Thank you, Mintu!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Ganges
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    136
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
224
88
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This isnt the cheapest place to stay at £28 a night for a Ganges view with balcony and breakfast but it was clean and welcoming.

You have to walk from the road to the hotel via the narrow lanes. I didnt like the lanes at all and was glad to get out of them whenever I ventured on to them.

Mintu and his boys are very obliging and actually showed me where various things were instead of simply directing me there.

The room was large and clean, with comfortable beds, clean linen. Monkeys visit the balcony so dont have one if you dont like them, they can be a bit aggressive in their search for food, but they didnt bother me. Bathroom is very small with nowhere to really put your toiletries - just needs a shelf but it does the job, plenty of hot water.

Its a B&B so no evening meals but a lovely restaurant just up the road/lane/ghat.The Aarti ceremony is a casual 10 minute stroll away along the ghats.The main road is a 5 minutes through the lane.

Its nothing special, no frills but great location, clean and friendly. I would definitely go back and would recommend,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent one night here and the location is great, overlooking the Ganges! The staff were extremely helpful and arranged a guided tour of the city and boat trips for us. The accommodation was clean but very basic and the breakfast could have been better, but adequate.
I think you pay more for the location than the actual accommodation, but overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louiseoxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked two rooms, one is spacious with a sofa, the second one is rather small, which has barely space left after putting the bed although it comes with a balcony. Both rooms are clean and with nice hot water. However, the wifi in one of the room does not work well, we have to keep the door open to we think the price may be a get the signal. The price is a bit high for Varanasi standard. The boat ride and train station drop-off service is good and of reasonable price. Mintu is very nice and helpful but one of the other stuff does not really answer questions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is by far one of the cleanest and well kept guest houses I have stayed at while traveling in India. The rooms are so clean and the staff are exceptional. The story of how this family turned their home into a guest house is inspiring. Being a solo female traveler I felt safe and cared for during my stay. Also the location is perfect. Waking up to the view of the Ganges from my balcony was breath taking. This is the place to stay when visiting incredible Varanasi. Thank you for such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the Kedareswar B&B for only one night, but enjoyed it very much. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They arranged airport pick-up and drop-off for us as well as a boat ride during the afternoon/evening. The room was clean and the property is located on the Ganga river with great views and near all of the famous ghats. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desier26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in February. Booked a Ganges view room on the middle floor. It is basic, but the location and service were excellent. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning to look right out at the sunrise over the river. Breakfast on the terrace was great - a relaxing place to sit and enjoy breakfast and coffee after a sunrise boat ride. Mintu and his brother were absolutely wonderful. Perfect location for wandering the ghats, and we slept really well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuddies39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 77 in Varanasi
1,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 77 in Varanasi
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.1 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 77 in Varanasi
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedareswar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedareswar Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kedareswar Bed & Breakfast
Address: Chowki Ghat Mansarovar B 14/1, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kedareswar Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Kedareswar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedareswar Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing