We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean food, relaxing atmosphere, gentle advice”
Review of Aum Cafe

Aum Cafe
Ranked #22 of 250 Restaurants in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Aum Cafe'...Is a small family run cafe',we take pleasure in providing pure, healthy and very tasty food....We make everything including breads,cakes, cookies,yogurt, granola, soup, pasta sauce and our all of our yummy chutneys..To mention a few....We use real ground coffee and serve organic teas from around the world, as well as several special Ayurveda herbal blends.....Up the stairs and behind the temple on Assi ghat..See you soon ... Hours 7:00am until 3:30pm...Closed Monday...May and June Closed due to summer heat..FREE HUGS (very popular)
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean food, relaxing atmosphere, gentle advice”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

PROS
- Hygienic conditions
- Fresh food
- Relaxing atmosphere
- Helpful and attentive owner, who offered us advice on how to assess the cleanliness of Indian restaurants (scary!)
- Excellent cinnamon buns

CONS
- A bit hard to find after walking from the old city along the ghats
- Coffee was weak

WOULD WE EAT THERE AGAIN: YES

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank latetothestation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    73
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varanasi, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Satisfying oasis every time”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have been living in Varanasi for over three months and Aum café is our weekly detox from the busyness and the Indian diet which we live by during the week. Between us we have probably sampled everything on the menu and have not received a sour taste in our mouths. In fact, every meal has been fresh and tasty. The service is great, especially when compared to most other cafes and restaurants in Varanasi. There is a great atmosphere there and we feel comfortable spending long, relaxing days at Aum. Value for money is incredible, especially for the fantastic high standards of everything provided.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fab fab fab.....”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We had lunch today and it was super duper!! The food was homemade, healthy and delicious. The lovely staff were very friendly and there is wifi available. Really clean and well presented, there is also a really sweet shop downstairs. This place does everything right. We will return before we leave. Don't miss this cafe.

Helpful?
2 Thank JennyandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Calmness among the chaos”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Aum Cafe was a wonderful surprise. The orange juice was perfectly fresh- no additives of any kind. I've been in India a month and this was the first pure squeezed oj. Latte was good. Pancakes and cinnamon role were perfect- especially syrup for pancakes. The hummus was good but the salsa on top was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tamanapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An absolute gem in Varanasi!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I went here this morning and was so pleased with the quality of the food and the service. I had a tomato and garlic pasta which was absolutely delicious and had many complex flavones for such a simple dish. I also had the chocolate cake for dessert and it was hands down one of the best I've had in my life.

The service is great! The waiters bend over backwards to make sure you have everything you need and to deliver your order quickly. I will be back several more times before I leave Varanasi I'm sure! Well done!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillieDashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aum Cafe also viewed

Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 

Been to Aum Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing