We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Had a wonderful experience'”
Review of Hotel Gupta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gupta Inn
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 11 July 2013

' To enjoy your holiday you need entertainment, relaxation, good food and good service ' Hotel Gupta Inn provides them all.....I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the hotel...moreover their hospitality .It was a wonderful experience in the Holy City of Varanasi

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preeti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gupta Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are on a business trip you need a hotel that can give you mental calmness and peace and Gupta Inn provide all that. This is the place with great service, promptness and cleanliness. The warm nature of the staff will overwhelm you and you will definitely come back here. It is situated right in the heart of the city(still so quite and calm) and quick access to airport and railway station makes it a bliss of a stay here. Food is no different than the stay i.e. finger licking good. Order Chicken Tikka and you will know it ;). Overall i would recommend this place for families, friends and everyone.

Room Tip: Take the room with the view of the river in the back.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

“The place was spacious and modern. Very well maintained!! The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.The Gupta hotel was a haven of comfort, close to city centre and areas of interest. the staff were most welcoming, helpful and courteous. a well appointed house. Exceptionally friendly environment”.Very clean, comfortable and a great location within walking distance to most city attractions.”

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nisha513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had not been able to get to The Sunrise Lodge at the Ganga, which we had booked for 4 days. All hotels were full, but someone helped us to a room in the Hotel Varanasi Palace. That was not a hit. The place was absolut filthy. After the one night we found the Om Sai Guest House, which was ok, but not clean either. My husband had got an infection in his leg, so we were looking for somewhere else to stay the last night in Varanasi. And from the internet we found Gupta Inn and got a TucTuc to take us. It was just so nice and relieving to stay with You. We met a very nice couple from Singapore, and we had a fun evening together.
All together we really enjoyed our stay with you. Lovely and clean room, very pleasant and friendly staff and all we needed. Thanks so much for finishing our stay in Varanasi in such a pleasant way. Best regards to the whole staff and owners. Gordon & Maria Black, Denmark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What I can say about this place? Well, is not a hotel with an easy access for cars but u will be fine with a Tuk Tuk. Is true is not very close from the gates but is a very quiet place and in India to have a quiet place is not very easy so I appreciate that. For me the food was absolutely yummy and the breakfast was ok, I didn't have any problem to order food even if it was late. About the rooms they are big, I think they can improve a bit more the cleaning. When I arrived in Varanasi the weather was pretty cold but we asked for extra blankets and all went good. The hot water was not a problem coz we had plenty. The personal is very nice and they have a souvenir shop in the entrance. U can access the wi-fi in the reception and is an extra charge for that service (was not precisely cheap, but manageable)
The personal is helpful BUT they are expecting tips all the time and this is something I realize is not just in this place it was like this in general in all my trip in India. I had the feeling they think a tourist is a kind of ATM (and it is very uncomfortable!!!!!).
Maybe because the weather and the moisture there were some Mosquitos in the bedroom but they also install in each room an anti mosquito device and u will be fine. They can organize for u a Tuk Tuk or a taxi to make a tour by the city (but don't expect a travel guide with u coz basically they are just drivers so carry with u your lonely planet book and ask them carry u to specific places) we did that in Tuk Tuk and they charged to us around 400 rupees and to be honest am sure u can obtain the same service more cheaper than this. In general is a cost effective place for a SHORT visit but try to organize your city tour by your own to don't be extra charged in that services.
TIP:
- In general for a trip in India carry with u a very good repellent, it will be useful during all your trip.
- Carry a lot of short bills with u (10 rupees bills or 20's) it will let u save money at the moment to give tips, specially if u are doing a long trip in India because if not just in tips u will expend an extra budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sasu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The services were good and the food served was truly home made.
Free Internet connection wireless connection. Affordable prices. The adjoining showroom had a marvel collection of various intricate handicraft product. All in all great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysteriousSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Don't be fooled by the positive reviews. Read the non-Indian reviews and they are generally poor!

The location is far from the Ghats. The rooms are dirty and there is no hot water. I was also conned into taking a 2 day 'sightseeing' to tour at hugely inflated prices which consisted of having a single driver that didn't even speak English and being driven around in silence.

This review probably sounds biased but I genuinely do not have anything positive to say about his hotel. Avoid!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superfez88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 79 in Varanasi
194 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,197 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#11 of 79 in Varanasi
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#17 of 79 in Varanasi
433 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ajaya Hotel
Ajaya Hotel
#68 of 79 in Varanasi
21 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#34 of 79 in Varanasi
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gupta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gupta Inn

Address: Varuna Bridge S 19/122 | P.W.D Road Behind U.P Motor Petrol Pump, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: £14 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gupta Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Feels Like Home." We believe in Quick Service,Cleanliness,Care/Safety/Correct Guidance to our guest.Apart from this we aim to make our guest feel like a family member.We give good service in quick duration of time so that our guest are able to see the City Of Temples "Varanasi" in a smooth way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gupta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing