We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to stay there for a few days...”
Review of Hotel Gupta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gupta Inn
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for two nights... the room was nice, enough space! Free wifi is working in the lobby and restaurant area... for breakfast you'll get toast with butter + very sweet jam, egg, juice snd coffee or tea... i also had dinner there one evening and the food is alright, good prices and tasty! The water was hot, tv working and staff friendly and helpful (even though the porter was standing in the room until I finally gave him some tip...) they also have a shop with souvenirs and staff... it was a nice stay, no complaints... it's just a bit far away from everything...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuptaInn, Owner at Hotel Gupta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

We thank you Lisa for your stay, We thank you that you you liked your stay here.
All the major and important hotels are in this place. We hope you visit here soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were looking for a decent hotel in Varanasi, and many were already booked up. But we happened to find the Gupta Inn and much to our surprise, it had nice spacious and clean rooms and good size bathrooms. It was a nice find after a hectic day. The price was a little expensive, but the service was also good, as well as the food (vegetarian for me), so it was worth it. They also have shops with textiles in the building, so you can shop without going anywhere, and the prices there were not too bad either, compared to other shops I had been to. This place is slightly off the beaten track, and it is not a huge place, so it is also rather quiet, away from the noisy traffic, which is nice, but not far away from things. So if you are looking for a nice place to relax, away from the traffic, check this place out.

Room Tip: There are an assortment of rooms, both big and small. And if you can get a larger room, unless you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srinanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuptaInn, Owner at Hotel Gupta Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Srinanda Thank you sir for such a beautiful Comment for Gupta Inn. Your recommedation is just like blessing for us. It motivates us to maintain it for long life. I feel happy when guest get relaxed here in Gupta Inn after tiring sight seen in Varanasi.
wish you ll come back soon for relaxation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

' To enjoy your holiday you need entertainment, relaxation, good food and good service ' Hotel Gupta Inn provides them all.....I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the hotel...moreover their hospitality .It was a wonderful experience in the Holy City of Varanasi

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preeti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are on a business trip you need a hotel that can give you mental calmness and peace and Gupta Inn provide all that. This is the place with great service, promptness and cleanliness. The warm nature of the staff will overwhelm you and you will definitely come back here. It is situated right in the heart of the city(still so quite and calm) and quick access to airport and railway station makes it a bliss of a stay here. Food is no different than the stay i.e. finger licking good. Order Chicken Tikka and you will know it ;). Overall i would recommend this place for families, friends and everyone.

Room Tip: Take the room with the view of the river in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

“The place was spacious and modern. Very well maintained!! The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.The Gupta hotel was a haven of comfort, close to city centre and areas of interest. the staff were most welcoming, helpful and courteous. a well appointed house. Exceptionally friendly environment”.Very clean, comfortable and a great location within walking distance to most city attractions.”

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nisha513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had not been able to get to The Sunrise Lodge at the Ganga, which we had booked for 4 days. All hotels were full, but someone helped us to a room in the Hotel Varanasi Palace. That was not a hit. The place was absolut filthy. After the one night we found the Om Sai Guest House, which was ok, but not clean either. My husband had got an infection in his leg, so we were looking for somewhere else to stay the last night in Varanasi. And from the internet we found Gupta Inn and got a TucTuc to take us. It was just so nice and relieving to stay with You. We met a very nice couple from Singapore, and we had a fun evening together.
All together we really enjoyed our stay with you. Lovely and clean room, very pleasant and friendly staff and all we needed. Thanks so much for finishing our stay in Varanasi in such a pleasant way. Best regards to the whole staff and owners. Gordon & Maria Black, Denmark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What I can say about this place? Well, is not a hotel with an easy access for cars but u will be fine with a Tuk Tuk. Is true is not very close from the gates but is a very quiet place and in India to have a quiet place is not very easy so I appreciate that. For me the food was absolutely yummy and the breakfast was ok, I didn't have any problem to order food even if it was late. About the rooms they are big, I think they can improve a bit more the cleaning. When I arrived in Varanasi the weather was pretty cold but we asked for extra blankets and all went good. The hot water was not a problem coz we had plenty. The personal is very nice and they have a souvenir shop in the entrance. U can access the wi-fi in the reception and is an extra charge for that service (was not precisely cheap, but manageable)
The personal is helpful BUT they are expecting tips all the time and this is something I realize is not just in this place it was like this in general in all my trip in India. I had the feeling they think a tourist is a kind of ATM (and it is very uncomfortable!!!!!).
Maybe because the weather and the moisture there were some Mosquitos in the bedroom but they also install in each room an anti mosquito device and u will be fine. They can organize for u a Tuk Tuk or a taxi to make a tour by the city (but don't expect a travel guide with u coz basically they are just drivers so carry with u your lonely planet book and ask them carry u to specific places) we did that in Tuk Tuk and they charged to us around 400 rupees and to be honest am sure u can obtain the same service more cheaper than this. In general is a cost effective place for a SHORT visit but try to organize your city tour by your own to don't be extra charged in that services.
TIP:
- In general for a trip in India carry with u a very good repellent, it will be useful during all your trip.
- Carry a lot of short bills with u (10 rupees bills or 20's) it will let u save money at the moment to give tips, specially if u are doing a long trip in India because if not just in tips u will expend an extra budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sasu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 79 in Varanasi
195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,208 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#12 of 79 in Varanasi
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#31 of 79 in Varanasi
48 reviews
2.9 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#18 of 79 in Varanasi
436 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sonmony
Hotel Sonmony
#66 of 79 in Varanasi
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gupta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gupta Inn

Address: Varuna Bridge S 19/122 | P.W.D Road Behind U.P Motor Petrol Pump, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: £16 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gupta Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Feels Like Home." We believe in Quick Service,Cleanliness,Care/Safety/Correct Guidance to our guest.Apart from this we aim to make our guest feel like a family member.We give good service in quick duration of time so that our guest are able to see the City Of Temples "Varanasi" in a smooth way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gupta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing