We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but poor food”
Review of Sri Annapurna

Sri Annapurna
Ranked #29 of 245 Restaurants in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are pleased to introduce ourselves as the most prestigious brand in the city known for its pure-vegetarian multicuisine A.C. restaurant, Indian sweet shops, outdoor catering, Egg-less bakery and banquet hall that operates under the brand name of Sri Annapurna which is a PNJ Group company. Keeping in mind the growing numbers of Vegetarians, Sri Annapurna has a varied selection of Appetizers, Soups and Main course. “To create gourmet vegetarian cuisine has always been a challenge to any chef worth his salt” and Sri Annapurna took up the challenge 17years ago and has delivered all aspects to it successfully. The restaurant, banquet hall along with one of our sweet shop is located at J 12/16-A Ramkatora, Varanasi. Our 2 other sweet shops are located at Bhelupura, Sigra and Varanasi Airport which covers the length & breadth of the entire city. All our facility is air-conditioned with 24-hours generator backup.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good service but poor food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had hear that it was one of the best food in Varanasi, but deeply disappointed by the quality. It was an effort reaching there but all went down the drain.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SumitBanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri A, Manager at Sri Annapurna, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Sir first of all would like to apologise that you were let down by the quality of food that were served to you. Secondly accept our apology for not living upto the expectation with which you came to our property after hearing good reviews about us.
To make sure that this does not get repeated in future with any of the guests, sir we would request you to provide us with the following details-
1. Date of visit
2. Time of visit
3. Number of guests along with you
4. Items you ordered

The team of Sri Annapurna strives to deliver best in food quality, service and hospitality with the help of its dedicated team members and that is why it has earned a good reputation in whole of Eastern UP so much so that it is usually frequented by our esteemed guest and would definitely want to look at its downside to improve on them on earliest possible basis to provide an overall satisfying experience. Therefore sir would really appreciate further inputs from your end.

Thanking you
Sri Annapurna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    69
    21
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food, cheap,”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Out of the way, but very good vegetarian food. More than we could eat was $9 including nonalcoholic drinks.
Room is large but ordinary- quite usual for this area.
Would go back

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Skimum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Veg Food at good prices”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Like other reviewers here the food her is simple, but well prepared. The option of good South Indian veg, plus Veg from other areas. Thalis were very enjoyable, as were the Dhosa.

I would eat there anytime

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild_World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This place has decent vegetarian food. I was particularly impressed with the Thai noodles. They did a great job on that. The service was also fast. Only reason that this place is not getting a higher rating is due to the fact that the facilities have not been maintained at all. The place inside does not look inviting and needs some updating to bring it in to the 21st century.

Helpful?
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best indian and continental cuisine Vegetarian restaurant at Varanasi.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in Varanasi for 6 days, our every meal was at Sri Annapurna, here you get everything
tasty less spicy and clean and appealing from south indian cuisine to North Indian and few continental and chinese varieties also. The pricing is very reasonable, before every meal they serve a appetiser as complimentary which is very tasty and stomach friendly. In our next trip we will always have our meals at Sri Annapurna only. The staff is courteous and the service is prompt
their RICE IDLY and Chutney are heavenly...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajender V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri A, Manager at Sri Annapurna, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for appreciating our effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Annapurna also viewed

Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 

Been to Sri Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing