We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights At the end of September, 2013. A small clean pretty heritage property located on the Ganges River. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Food was very good - dine outside in the courtyard. One of the two nights we were there the hotel had a sitar player at dinner. The rooftop overlook can be a nice place to relax.
Boat rides from the hotel are the best way to view the evening ceremony and morning rituals.
Get a room with a window facing the river.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203 and enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    165
    54
    21
    9
See reviews for
72
232
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Varanasi (Sept 17-19, 2013) All of our needs were met and everyone was very friendly. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinners in the hotel restaurant and every meal was delicious. The restaurant staff could not do enough to ensure we were enjoying our meals. The location is perfect. We had an upstairs room overlooking the river and although the window is a bit small, we were still able to sit and watch the daily activities of life on the Ganges. The general manager also went out of his way to provide us with a city map and directions so that we could easily wander the small alleyways on our own. We highly recommend a stay here and we would someday love to return!

Room Tip: Upstairs with a river view room is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinesb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

All this hotel men were so nice, kind and smiley. I planed to have a surprise BD party for my best friend. They helped me to arrange flowers, balloons and cake. And they joined us to celebrate. We really enjoyed the night!!! I never forget them. Thank you soooo much!
スタッフが本当にいい人たちばかりで、すごく安心できるホテルでした。メインガートからは離れており、わかりにくい場所にありますが、静かでのんびりできるホテルです。

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momosayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burradoo, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I wanted a hotel right by the Ganges so decided to stay at this lovely heritage property. The rooms are incredibly clean with a fabulous shower room. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, Mohammed who looks after the restaurant is a delight and Prameshwar is a gem, if you even look as though you are enjoying your food he just goes ahead and brings you a second helping and the food is excellent thanks to chef Bajrangi I didn't even bother going anywhere else. The manager Tapas is very engaging. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Ganges to experience the real Varanasi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Working in Banlgore and Holidays give me some relaxation so I decide to Travel to varanasi. The hotel position is excellent and beautiful, right on the river and close to the ghats. The staff were so kind and helpful to do us everything we need. Food was okay. The room was very clean, with a wonderful view of the Ganges and the city.
Recommended this place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We found our experience to be be terrific. the staff was very gracious and helpful, rooms clean, and food delicious. Loved Varnassi and returning to this lovely boutique hotel every day after experiencing the dirt and poverty of much of the town, was a real pleasure. Highly recommend

Room Tip: river views are great. see the bulls swim with the pilgrims in the Ganges
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robyn610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I wholeheartely disagree with those that gave this hotel a poor review. First, don't go to Varanasi unless you're willing to embrace the Indian culture - good and bad, wealty (by India standards) and poor. Varanasi is not a resort destination but compared to other hotels I saw in the city, this was a safe and comfortable property. Yes, you need to be prepared to walk for a few blocks as the hotel is not accessible by car (nor is most of the city). The restaurant was excellent and while it was not heavily used, it was relaxing none-the-less. I would definately go back and would absolutely stay at the same hotel. I cherished the memories I have of the city and of the respit of the Suryauday Haveli.

Room Tip: I would get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DGK500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.7 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
1.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort

Property: Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Address: Shivala Ghat B - 4/25, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suryauday Haveli on Shivala Ghats is a reflection of the spirit of the holy city of Benaras. The Haveli traces its history back to the early 20th century. It was built by the Royal Family of Nepal as a retreat for the aged. Its now been painstakingly put together again to provide the best ghat experience in Benaras. Your stay begins with a 15 minute boat ride upstream along the famous ghats of Benaras to reach the Haveli. The Haveli is also connected by small alleys and streets leading to the Famous Kashi Vishwanath Temple (15 minutes walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing