We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homestay
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Buddha(Varanasi)
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alka(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ganpati Guest House(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
US$25
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
450
74
11
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
74
11
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifewalking tourtextile shophome stayother gueststhe main househomemade jamswonderful hostshome cookinghome away from homebreakfast and dinneran excellent cooktravel plansvaranasi visitauto rickshawtuk tukquiet street
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 10 people and stayed here 5 nights in three rooms.Everyone admired the service provided by
Mr.Harish and Mrs. Mallika. Thank you both of them.The hospitality was excellent.The rooms were very clean and spacious.we had a delicious and hygienic home made food. That was really awesome. We never forget the stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank deepa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks a lot Sarvanan family, Its been a pleasure hosting all of you and getting associated with you for a long time in the future.
Regards

Malika & Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay with Harish. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The location was a little far from the center but it was nice to walk through the mayhem of Varanasi (if you are feeling brave and if it´s in the day time) or Harish will arrange a driver for you for a small fee. The breakfasts were very good and tasty, unfortunately at the time I was there his wife was a little ill so we didn´t get to taste his wife´s apparant great cooking.

He is a good business man and offers plenty of activities at a fair price and you can do as much or as little as you want without any pressure or pushing. He offers good advice and tips about things to do in the city. We took a walking tour with his daughter, although she is very young she is knowledgeable, enthusiastic and patient. She took us to some really interesting places and shared some good stories with us. I would recommend a tour with her.

I would recommend staying here it really added to our overall experience of Varanasi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wozza_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time for us.Hope you will come back to enjoy more of our hospitality in the future.

Thanks for staying with us.

Regards

Malika & Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at the Homestay in February 2014 and we will never forget our visit. We thought Varanasi was incredible and to stay at the Homestay was the icing on the cake.
We are a very well travelled couple but we both agree that for hospitality and amazing home-cooked food the Homestay comes out tops. The owners Harish and Marika were absolutely charming and Marika even took the time to give a cookery lesson to some of the guests (us included), What a treat - she made it all look so easy. Our only criticism if any was the lack of daylight in our room but we would stay there again if we had the chance and definitely give it a big thumbs up. Thank you Harish and Marika for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hippy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time for us.Hope you will come back to enjoy more of our hospitality in the future.

Thanks for staying with us.

Regards

Malika & Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Thank you so much Harish and Marika (spelling?!), we had a wonderful stay! We stayed 6 nights here, and it wasn't too long at all. Varanasi is an amazing place and a month would be even better. The best thing about staying at the Homestay however, is having the benefit of Harish's advice and help on what to do and how to do it. Harish does a wonderful tour of the lanes too (although I gather so does his daughter!)
His assistance with organising and planning is legendary and his patience is huge! I'd read about it here on TripAdvisor and it's all true. Nothing seemed too much effort. He and the family really go out of their way to ensure everything is sorted for you. Harish organises transport either with his driver and car or autorickshaw.
We ate each evening at the Homestay - great homecooking, and as it's a bit away from the centre of town it was the easiest thing to do and provided a relaxing end to busy days. Everything is spotless and the rooms are spacious. Harish and Marika are wonderfully warm and truly caring - thank you again for an amazing stay (sorry it's taken so long to do the review too!).
Staying at a homestay gives you the opportunity to chat and get a bit of an understanding of the community and the amazing country you're in. It is a great way to at least get a little bit closer to real India. We hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafiki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks its been also a pleasure for all of us in the family to chat with you while you stayed with us,it was a great time those 6 days with you.Thanks for coming and staying with us and we hope you will be back soon.


Regards

Malika & Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

When I booked our home stay here, I was wondering if I'd put us too far away from the 'action'. I'm soooo glad we stayed here instead of close to the ghats. Varanasi is utterly overwhelming, in every sense of the word, and Harish's serene home stay is a welcome relief after the sensory overload of Varanasi. And I knew we'd made the right choice when we met fellow travelers from all over the world and they all agreed - this is the place! The rooms are spotless, the garden serene, and Harish's wife's cooking is exceptional (all veg). We had dinner here every night of our 4-night stay. If Harish is still taking guests on the 'alley tour', by all means, go! It is fascinating and an insider's view of Varanasi. All in all, this was a delightful experience and a memorable stay in a fantastic city!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewMexicoSilverqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks its been a pleasure having you with us.Thanks for taking time to remember all of us and we hope you will be back soon to enjoy our hospitality again.


Regards

Malika & Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews