We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and comfortable guesthouse in a great location in Varanasi”
Review of Rudra Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rudra Guest House
Ranked #31 of 220 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a very nice little hotel. It is a little hidden in a side corner, but that makes it also very quite and nevertheless it is very close to the main gath. The rooms were simple but clean. The bathroom was also very clean in "Western Style" and with a shower with warm water (if asked for it a few minutes in advance).
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially in Balla you find a very reliable and trustworthy guide for Varanasi. He knows every temple and explains everything in a very good english. He even arranged a private tour through the silk quater for us. If you come to Varanasi I would highly recommend asking for Balla as a guide.
There is also an old brown bread bakery which belongs to the hotel. There you get you breakfast made out of freshly baked bread in european style. They also offer very good and cheap indian food. And 25% of the money you pay goes to charity. In the summer time you can also enjoy your breakfast on the roof top terrace which has a very nice view of Varanasi.
We highly recommend staying in this hotel when coming to Varanasi!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melchior S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

I spent several nights in Varanasi at a couple different guest houses. My time at Rudra was wonderful! The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean with hot water and wifi in the common room. Although a little bit off the main road, this means it is quiet at night and it is still centrally located, near the river and Dashaswmedh Ghat. The owner, Lalu, is also the owner of the renowned Brown Bread Bakery (also worth a visit!) 25% of the proceeds from both the hotel and the bakery are donated to the Learn For Life school, which serves poor children from the area. Very reasonably priced - a great find!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmpellarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you're looking for a place that's close to the main Ghats but away from the hussle and bussle of the main streets and also for a reasonable price then look no further.

I stayed 5 days in a double on suite bedroom for 500rs which was our budget. The room was very clean with fresh sheets and hot and cold water through out the day as the boiler was located in the bathroom.

Generally very quiet though my room was right next to the stairway and I did endure one sleepless night from locals staying upstairs. The water is a bit temperamental as there is a tank that needs to be filled every now and again.

Owner good and rest of staff helpful.

P.s. also supply's a laundry service but make sure you work out the cost with them first.

Thanks Rudra!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsh_ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed at 3 guest houses in my 8 days in Varanasi and this last one, Rudra was the best.
The location is perfect, close to main Ghat, but quiet enough to even have a lovely nap in the day time! The other places I stayed involved long walks through dark allies, (being a solo female traveler, this is not ideal) So Rudra was a nice, safe change!
The room was large and clean, with good wifi and comfortable mattress.
The rooftop restaurant offers continental food, although a little disappointing no good Indian...
Good value for money and I felt the manager was very caring for my safety and well being.

Room Tip: 204 was very good!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Abbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I had lunch in Rudra guesthouse today and the vegetable curry was amazing and the staff were very friendly and helpful.malso the wifi connection was very good which is not somehting you find easily around here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Make sure that you leave plenty of time because you are not going to want to leave rudra guest house lalu is an excellent host with wonderful suggestions for things to see in Varanasi. That is if you can tear yourself away from the view of the Ganga right from the guesthouse. As a solo female traveler in Varanasi I felt very safe and protected at rudra guesthouse. As much as I enjoyed the city, I think the best part of the experience was chatting with lalu. I really appreciated his genuine hospitality and care.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaheen190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Rudra Guesthouse for 4 nights and it was really enjoyable stay. Rooms are spacious, clean and with own bathroom and they also have rooftop but no restaurant. Place is only 2 min walk from Dashashwamedh ghat, so the location is very peaceful and away from cracy traffic. The owner and staff are really helpful and nice people. 25% of the money which comes goes to charity, "Learn for life".

I can recommend this guesthouse for everybody because you get good value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Tokke91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#22 of 79 in Varanasi
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#17 of 79 in Varanasi
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sankatha Guest House
Sankatha Guest House
#22 of 220 in Varanasi
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bhadra Kali Guest House
Bhadra Kali Guest House
#13 of 220 in Varanasi
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudra Guest House

Address: D 17/71-1 Bansigali | Dashwamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: £8 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rudra Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in December 2010, Rudra Guest House is located in the heart of Varanasi, within a minute to the main ghats, shopping and vegetable market and the winding alleyways of the old city. The staff at Rudra Guest House will ensure that your stay is enjoyable with modern, comfortable and spacious bedrooms (AC and non-AC) and all with western style en-suites. The guest house also has indoor and rooftop dining run by the Brown Bread Bakery. 20% of profits are donated to our main project, The Learn for Life Society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Rudra Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing