We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Integrity - Quality - Value! Beats the Government "Approved" Store in every category!”

Paraslakshmi Exports
Ranked #7 of 58 Shopping in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manufacturing and selling handmade and only natural textiles like pure silk, wool and cashmere textiles last 30 years and my shop is highly recommended by many European and English language travel guide books from a long, long time.
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Our rickshaw driver recommended this shop to us. Normally we do not follow this sort of recommendations, due to the nature of the commission system, but we had been using this driver on several occasions and he always steered us in the right direction.

And he was right!

From the moment we buzzed the bell and were invited inside the garden wall, we felt that we were in the right place.

The owner, Harish, radiate integrity and a genuine kindness. His shop is clean, well lit, inviting and comfortable.

He welcomed us with probably the best cup of chai we have had so far in India.

He genuinely inquired into our interests and with great patience showed us his amazing wares. The quality of which is superior and I'll tell you why later.

We selected some scarves and a table runner and place settings which were absolutely beautiful and the the finishing work, such as trim and weave was of the highest quality. The fabrics simply simmered like gems and reflected different shades pending the light.

We never felt pressured in any form and after patiently showing us samples from a very big selection of fabrics, from finest silks, wools and cottons, we made our selection.

harsh then made arrangements for shipping via FedEx at no extra cost and our package arrived promptly with in days.

We recommended this shop to friends and Harish made arrangements for them to be picked up free of charge at their guesthouse - they too found some beautiful material for a sari and suit fabric.

Later, another guide took us to another shop - a so called "government approved shop" close to the Ganga - their selection and quality pailed in comparison and their prices were much higher.

It made us feel very good about our purchase and the fact that Harish's pricing is fixed, yet more reasonable than any negotiated price at the government "approved" shop - with high pressure sales staff in an environment that doesnt' even come close to the shanti energy of Harish's store.

HAPPY SHOPPING!

3  Thank TravellingFoolS_f_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Paraslakshmi Exports, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thanks a Lot. Regards. Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 7 reviews
"textile shop"
in 6 reviews
"highest quality"
in 7 reviews
"fixed price"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful scarves"
in 3 reviews
"quality products"
in 3 reviews
"silk fabrics"
in 2 reviews
"arrived safely"
in 2 reviews
"different colors"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful items"
in 2 reviews
"fair price"
in 3 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 2 reviews
"homestay"
in 13 reviews
"embroidered"
in 5 reviews
"cotton"
in 4 reviews
"scarf"
in 7 reviews
"malika"
in 3 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

Large guest rooms with first class furniture, furnishings, facilities, service and cleanliness. The local area is quiet and secure, yet the central ghats are within close walking distance. Auto-rickshaws were arranged by the hosts at fair and pre-agreed rates, as were guided sunrise and sunset boat trips on the Ganges (with meal timings at the homestay tailored to suit). Meals served in the attractive family dining room were of the highest quality and good value, with the family often eating with guests. The hosts were very friendly and extremely supportive from our pre-arranged pick-up at the station to our departure. Paraslakshmi Homestay makes an excellent base for exploring Varanassi and Sarnath. (British retired couple mid-sixties).

1  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselfree, Owner at Paraslakshmi Exports, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thanks for taking time to write but this review should have been on our Homestay page, nevertheless appreciate you writing highly for our work.

Best Regards

Malika and Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We got tip from our friends after going numerous places to find silk sari in Varanasi. It was totally worth going a bit further from the market area. Mr. Harish was everything our friends told, helpful and warmhearted man. Quality was excellent, prices right. We bought the silk sari, some silk skarfs and raw silk for 3 piece suit. I recommend from all my heart.
Samuel.

Thank Ville P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselfree, Owner at Paraslakshmi Exports, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thanks a lot Dear Visitor,

For shopping with us. Wide choice and good quality speak volumes about a shop's hard work in the form of customer satisfaction and we are happy that you appreciate our hard work of running this store honestly with best quality last many many years.
Look forward to your future visits.

Best Regards

Malika and Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed at the homestay and shopped here. Enjoyed it because felt like it was a true no obligation to buy, no hassle shopping
Experience which is hard to come by in India. Plus they have beautiful stuff. Found prices very reasonable plus appreciate they are fixed prices so don't need to haggle. I would go again! Siobhan nz

Thank Shubs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselfree, Owner at Paraslakshmi Exports, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thanks a lot Dear Visitor,

For appreciating our quality and hassle free selling style of our shop. Customer satisfaction is the key fora long term successful business.

Please come again.

Best Regards

Malika and Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were recommended the shop of Mr. Harish through some friends of us that had spend some time at his homsstay. We came there to buy fabric for a silk sari and were very pleased with the service and the fabric we bought. Mr. Harish is a honest and very helpful man. He sold us the silk for good price and even helped us to find a matching petticoat to go under the sari. We felt very comfortable in his shop and we were a 100% sure that we were not been trict. We are very pleased with the outcome of our saris!

1  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselfree, Owner at Paraslakshmi Exports, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Visitor,

Thanks a lot for shopping with us and speaking highly of our fabrics and textile. Quality is becoming a rare commodity in tourist shops and we are happy to serve you all with same spirit since more than 30 years and feel happy that customers like you appreciate quality, which is the biggest inspiration for us.

Thanks a lot for coming and we look forward to your visit in the future.

Best Regards

Malika and Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paraslakshmi Exports also viewed

Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 

Been to Paraslakshmi Exports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing