We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“穴場!?アットホームで綺麗な宿”
Review of Mangla Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mangla Guest House
Ranked #27 of 235 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Reviewed 4 August 2014

今回初バラナシで日本→デリー→バラナシと弾丸でバラナシへ来て、疲れていた中、流れに身を任せていたらここにたどり着きました。そこそこ綺麗だったし、値段も思ったより高くなかったのでとりあえずチェックイン。翌日別のゲストハウスも5〜6軒見て回りましたが値段と広さと綺麗さのトータルで結局ここに連泊することになりました。部屋でwifiも使えるし2階にオーナー一家が住んでるし、部屋には南京錠、窓には格子があり安心して過ごすことができました。また、オーナーはご飯食べてなかったら買いに行ってくれたり両替してくれたりいいヤツでした。場所が少しわかりづらく、地球の歩き方にも載ってないためか、自分意外に客はおらず一階のソファも快適に使用できました。穴場でオススメです。

Good location, Good orner, Good security, Good price, Clean, Free wifi.
I completely recommend you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank J1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

More than a Guesthouse Mangla GH is a family house, clean and fresh (with pretty monkeys on the roofs around!). The owner (Amit) is a very friendly man, living with his mother, his wife and his daughter. We felt soon like if we were living in Varanasi since a long time! Not on the ghâts like the tourists, but not far: 1 minute from Chausalti Ghât and 3 minutes from Dasasvamedt Ghât, within a small street in the heart of the indian life, with a lot of small shops and handycraft. In one word, the best place to stay here (we stayed 12 nights)! Amit has been very helpfull in any kind of questions that we asked to him: money change, tuktuk booking (at indian price), adresses of true indian shops for the silver jewels or adresses of silk shops at true indian prices. The bedrooms were clean, silently, with shower, fan and aircon. The breakfast was included. We got the wifi on the ground floor, sometimes in the bedrooms. The wife of Amit offers good massages for women. We keep friendly relationships with the Amit family and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: 2 nice bedrooms on the second floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Came to this guesthouse late and got a vireity of rooms to choose from. Got the room on the bottom level for 600rupee a night without breakfast. The family can provide good masala chi for u to watch the sunset from the roof. We had acces to wifi on the bottom level but it dont work with ipod touch from lvl 2 in the guesthouse. The wifi works sometimes but updates at medieval pace in intervals. We had a funny incident with a monkey that broke inside our cage in the balcony/bathroom and stole two bananas, witch he then enjoyed at the roof of our bathroom. This guesthouse is wery well positioned with everything nearby, but dont let anyone pick u up when u are confused they just rip u off. Old city is wery hard to find your way but dont let anyone lead u, if ur confused just walk a little more and watch for signs for ur guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver Ä
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A little hard to find but in a great location, one minute walk to the Ganges and close to lots of cafes and restaurants. The rooms are really clean and comfortable for the price, and the owners are so friendly and willing to help. It is worthwhile eating dinner here at least once, really delicious home cooked meals and very cheap!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angusm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Cleaner than all the other options we've seen around. Good location, wifi and hot water (if you ask the owner to turn on the heater) :)
No view on Ganges but the upper level rooms are sunny. Stayed there two times.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Den_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Amit is a very friendly and accommodating host. The Mangla was not easy to find, but is in an area close to the ghats with a variety of shops, restaurants and guest houses. The four rooms on the top floor are newer and at least two of them have individual geysers. There are balconies, but the down side is they are virtually unuseable because of marauding monkeys. The room was clean with linen provided; plenty of furniture. The bathroom was the standard affair with constantly wet floor. Very sweet and friendly family. Considering the options, it's not a bad choice. We paid Rs 800 per night.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peargrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I had a three day stop in Varanassi, arriving quite late at night. The price is reasonable and you certainly get a good service, clean room and a friendly family atmosphere at the house. The house doors are closed at 2230; although they will open up after that if you ring the bell, and you get a padlock for your room, all of which are very good safety precautions and made me feel at ease. There is a good choice of rooms; I went for the smallest with fan at 850 rupee per night. I think I could have bargained lower but I was happy that this was fair for a very nice en-suite. The owner Amrit speaks excellent English and is very helpful in giving some advice on the town, but as (unlike many hotel owners here) he does not run a tourism office, there is no undertone of looking for a sale; it's just good, genuine advice. One of the best aspects of the Mangla guest house, is that it is quiet. It is far enough off the main thoroughfares that you will not hear the constant horns of motorbikes through the night, which are almost synonymous with the main roads and the large Indian towns!

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are more than adequate for a single traveler or couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,217 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 80 in Varanasi
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#30 of 80 in Varanasi
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sonmony
Hotel Sonmony
#69 of 80 in Varanasi
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 80 in Varanasi
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangla Guest House

Address: Bengali Tola, Varanasi, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 235 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range: £13 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing