We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful escape from Varanasi - a solid 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I had visited Varanasi previously and stayed in mid-range accommodation closer to the Ganga. This trip was so pleasantly different! Being able to come back to a quiet, clean, modern hotel was so refreshing. The grounds are beautiful and if you have time to walk around, they're a silent retreat from the rest of the city. The rooms are spotless and have neat additions like yoga mats, the beds are comfortable, and the bathroom is updated. The food in the restaurant and room service as really tasty and we ended up eating all of our meals in the hotel. Both my husband and I got massages - and although not a full blown spa, they were very good and affordable compared to similar range hotels. The travel desk was excellent - the drivers will take you to their regular tour guide for morning boat rides on the Ganga at the standard price - so no bargaining or hussling at 6 am! The only drawback is that the rooms aren't entirely soundproof, so you can hear some of the comings and goings of your neighbors, but that's pretty much standard in India. I was impressed with the high quality of the Gateway Hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gringa220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Best hotel to stay in varanasi. Great place in the middle of crowd of Holly Varansi

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plasticbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel has a old look mostly for tourists. The rooms are nicely done but most of the things like bed are old and uncomfortable. House keeping is very average though clean enough. The coffee shop is okay with a slow service. Internet speed is good. Safety and security is very good but can be little frustrating at times. Room service is good. Pricing is extremely good incase you have a deal with the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auribuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Varanasi is a must if you visit India. But the city is very intens, dirty and overwelming and for us this hotel was the perfect retreat from all the impressions, to absorbe everything and then go back into the huzzle and buzzle. The hotel is great, everything you expect from a hotel in that price range. The pool is perfect after spending the morning at dawn down at Ganges. The restaurants in the hotel was very good, we had trouble finding tempting restaurants in Varanasi, so we ended up eating mostly at the hotel, and was very pleased with that.
Excellent service all over.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vibekese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I was told this hotel used to be a palace; the lobby surely fits the purpose. THe doors of the elevator are solid brass, the floors are green marble; plush carpets decorate the lounge area that overlooks the garden. Also in the lobby is a coffee shop that serves good coffee and good tea and a wide selection of sweet treats.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. The restaurant serves mainly vegetarian buffets but an A la Carte menu is also available.
I found the upholstery of the seating very dirty which to some extent spoiled the experience.
The rooms are adequate but the towels are terrible, terrible! Only after asking for whiter towels, they brought me some.

Room Tip: The hotel was secondary to the Ganges experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I have to travel frequently on business trips throughout the year. During course of travel, I get to stay at both Budget and Luxurious hotels.
I had stayed in the Gateway in Aug'10. What bought me here was the brand name Taj associated with it. And I was not disappointed.
The arrival desk people were really generous. Even the restaurant staff were very courteous. The room was pretty spacious. And the Breakfast & Dinner spread were sumpflous.
The only negative which I found with the Hotel was, - It had rained very badly the day before. And because of the rain, the Elevator was blocked, Infact water was coming out in gush from the elevator area into the reception, which was making the scene not expected in a hotel of such level.
All in all it was a good experience and would definitely love to be in Gateway againif I go to Varanasi ( Hopefully Rain won't spoil my fun this time)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMIS4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

the gateway ganges hotel is taj group of hotels which are pride in itself. cool and calm location in cant. area of varanasi. centrally located. away from all hassles.food quality is comparale to any 5 star hotel. in breakfast lot many varieties are seved . rooms are cozy but comfortable. staff is coordial

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank rjainabhi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
2.6 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 80 in Varanasi
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 80 in Varanasi
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#7 of 80 in Varanasi
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: £79 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing