We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in the heart of Varanasi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in the heart of Varanasi”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After a two week trip through India, Varanasi was our last stop and we really appreciated a bit of Western luxury and food. The hotel is modern in build and feel and a real contrast to the many magnificent Palace-type hotels we stayed in in Rajasthan. It is not a 5 star hotel, probably 4, but the staff were polite and helpful, the rooms and general appearance clean, and the main restaurant serves a good value buffet every day. In between excursions we sat by the nice pool area - nothing special but then you do not go to Varanasi for the swimming pools. In any event it was January and the pool was not heated and really too cold to swim. Definitely worth a stay but not if you are looking for character and charm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    632
    292
    56
    31
See reviews for
313
489
96
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

If you've been spoilt with your hotel stays in Rajasthan prepare for a wake-up call. This is billed as a five star hotel. It's not. As always, throughout our entire Indian trip, the staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was OK, the rooms were OK, just all one big, sigh, OK, experience. I'm not sure that there's an alternative though?

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank goldieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback.
This is a small note to assure you that we have noted your feedback pertaining to your visit at The Gateway Hotel Varanasi just a satisfactory “OK”. The concern feedback has been duly shared with the team and we ensure for taking the actions at our end.
It is our constant endeavour to provide the finest of products and services in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels and we would like to assure you that all steps will be taken to ensure a memorable stay of yours in future
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Gateway Hotel Ganges for three nights in January, 2014. First the bad: the hotel could use some updating, especially the carpets in the hallways. The good? The staff are very friendly, especially our wonderful bartender. In addition, the breakfast buffet was very good, offering a nice variety of both western and Indian dishes. We tried both of the hotel restaurants, and were happy with both. Especially surprising? The good Indian wines offered. Who knew?

I had a massage in the hotel spa, and the masseur was both competent and professional. I'm not sure what other accommodations are available in Varanasi, but I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback.
I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
This is a small note to assure you that we have noted your feedback pertaining to the upkeep of the carpets in the hallways. The concern feedback has been duly shared with the team and we ensure for taking the corrective actions at our end.
It is our constant endeavour to provide the finest of products and services in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels and we would like to assure you that all steps will be taken to ensure a memorable stay of yours in future
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Rooms and corridors and elevator cabs need refurbishing

Window gaskets leaking and view to outside all fogged up

Bath fawcets leak onto tub rim causing water overflow from tub rim onto floor

A/C not working properly and room temp too warm. Not below 23 degrees C

Inadequate clothes drawer space

No complimentary slippers given the very dirty streets and room prices

Front desk staff seem not well informed or motivated. Service level OK but not better than that.

General restaurant food not bad but expected better. Service good .

Bar service staff seem disinterested and not overly anxious to help .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank peter310143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of the temples!!

At the outset, please accept my sincere apologies for inconvenience caused to you during your stay and not being able to come up to your expectations and live up to our own standards.

This is a small note to assure you that we have noted your constructive feedback regarding the upkeep and appearance of the room, corridor, elevator, properly functioning of A/C, extra amenities in the room, courtesy of staff at front desk and the bar. The concern feedback has been duly shared with the team especially with the Accommodation Manager, Executive Housekeeper, Chief Engineer and Learning & Development Manager. We do realize that the sensitivity of associates towards the guest needs requires focus and to be included in the training sessions. We ensure for taking the corrective actions at our end.
It is our constant endeavour to provide the finest of products and services in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels and we would like to assure you that all steps will be taken to ensure a memorable stay of yours in future. We value your patronage and I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the legendary services provided by The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi.
I look forward to meet you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nice hotel, appropriately priced and excellent location.
Hotel staff is very cooperative and helpful, specially restaurant staff.
Do try some local Banaras food like Nimono.
While here do visit & see Mangla Arti at Kashi Vishvanath and evening Ganga Arti.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dineshdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Had been here on 1/12/2013 to have buffet..Did not feel the Taj hospitality which is why it is very famous for..The Service was very poor..The waiters were more interested to serve the huge group of foreigners who had entered..One of the waiter spilled a glass which was filled with water on the table,all he did was just say sorry and walked off..He did not return to even wipe the Table..An Unusual expereience which i did not expect..Well the variety was nothing great..The Breads were really cold..All i can say think before u go here.. Had an highly disappointing Experience..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of the temples!!

At the outset, please accept my sincere apologies for inconvenience caused to you during your visit to the coffee shop - GAD and not being able to come up to your expectations and live up to our own standards.

This is a small note to assure you that we have noted your constructive feedback regarding the service at GAD and competent & courtesy of the staff. The concern feedback has been duly shared with the team especially with the F&B Manager and Learning & Development Manager. We do realize that the sensitivity of associates towards the guest needs requires focus and to be included in the training sessions. We ensure for taking the corrective actions at our end.

It is our constant endeavour to provide the finest of products and services in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels and we would like to assure you that all steps will be taken to ensure a memorable visit of yours in future.

We value your patronage and I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the legendary services provided by The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi.
I look forward to meet you during your next visit with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

After staying in Taj palace,Delhi and enjoying their service Taj Gateways really much low quality comparatively
So only good points I felt were
Since ours was a religious/spiritual tour and our main goal was temple tour and Darshan of Kasi Vishwanath -that was very well arranged by their travel desk and we had very good Darshan..
All the detail s were taken care by them-starting from boatman ,arranging car and bringing us back to hotel after visiting all temples in vicinity and we both were single ladies so no issues there with security etc.,
Hotel location is also good
Only sore point was I got sick after having their stuffed red chilli pickle and aloo paratha in their free breakfast @GAD so I would advise to stay away from that ..
But they had a doctor on call and I was soon recovering in a day..
Overall their Varuna Restaurant food was good and tasty ..staff is very attentive to your feedback on their dishes and when chef comes around your table for review you can suggest/ comment on their dishes..

Room Tip: Rooms are almost same on every floor but pool side facing rooms have better view and are on east so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spnyc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of the temples!!

At the outset, please acknowledge my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and not been able to come up to your expectations and live up to our own standards.
This is a small note to assure you that we have noted your feedback pertaining to the breakfast at GAD. The concern feedback has been duly shared with the team especially with the Executive Chef. We ensure for taking the corrective actions at our end.

I am also glad to note your positive feedback for the Travel Desk, Varuna Restaurant and the courtesy of the staff.

It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of products and services in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels and we would like to assure you that all steps will be taken to ensure a memorable stay of yours in future. We value your patronage and I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the legendary services provided by The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi.

I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.6 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 74 in Varanasi
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 74 in Varanasi
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
2.5 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 74 in Varanasi
2,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 74 in Varanasi
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing