We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury while aiming detachment !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Luxury while aiming detachment !”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was in varanasi (kashi) for the trip of lifetime for the darshan of Kasi Viswanathar and Ma Ganga. I chose taj gateway based on previous experience in taj. The hotel is well maintained, good location. Has large gardens and a good restaurent. Staff are at their best. There are nice paintings related to the regional specials. Do not miss visiting saranath while you stay here. In additin to the evening aarti and temple visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawz1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
I have shared your appreciation with the team as feedback such as yours motivates them to achieve higher levels of service.
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    625
    291
    56
    31
See reviews for
308
487
95
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

During my trip to Varanasi I started with a night at a Hotel on the river front and The Gateway the next day and each offered a experience that was unique and will recommend both if you have the time and inclination. Staying on the river gave a locational advantage ( sans comforts )and a feel that was what a lot of visitors come for and Gateway Hotel a haven which was in total contrast to the hustle and bustle of the old city. The Hotel is set on expansive grounds - I took my early morning cup of tea and newspaper and sat on a bench in the midst of a huge garden, trees and birds for company. On my way back to the room I met Saurav, the Yoga instructor, which led to one hour Yoga session ( complementary and on the lawns ) which was also so welcome. Breakfast was lavish with the chef happy to cater to some individual requests. I found the food to be good though in my opinion a tad expensive considering the hotel was in Varanasi.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurgaonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
I have shared your appreciation with the team as feedback such as yours motivates them to achieve higher levels of service.
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here twice due to a marriage in the family. The property is grand and the restaurant and overall feel of the place is excellent.

However rooms are very Small and crying out for a makeover.

Breakfast is excellent.

Aircon does not work as you want it to. If you call for help they tell you the temperature is set and they cant change it. Bad if it is summers.

Restaurant is great. Pools good.

Overall a good place but needs renovation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varunkochar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

This is a small note to assure you that we have noted your constructive feedback pertaining to the aesthetic look of the room, air-conditioning and courtesy and competency of the staff. The concern feedback has been duly shared with the team especially with the Executive Housekeeper, Chief Engineer and L&D Manager. We do realize that the sensitivity of associates towards the guest needs requires focus and to be included in the training sessions. We ensure for taking the corrective actions at our end.

It is our constant endeavour to provide the finest of products and services in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels and we would like to assure you that all steps will be taken to ensure a memorable stay of yours in future.

I look forward to meeting up with you in your next visit to Varanasi and assure you of our finest and gracious hospitality.

Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is great, in the middle of a green area, wonderful breakfast and excellent accommodations. During our stay, my father had a health problem and we called Compass tours, our agency (great!) and they contacted the hotel. My father is alive now because the personal of Compass and the people of the hotel. They were just fantastic. I would like to thank especially Mr Ajay Thakur who really went the extra mile to do everything to help and make us comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaBilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
I have shared your appreciation with the team as feedback such as yours motivates them to achieve higher levels of service.
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zufikon, Schweiz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very comfortable and quite hotel near city centre. Very good food and good service in restaurant, as well as in the room. Beautiful swimming pool - just a perfect place to relax and recover from the stressy sightseeing tours in Varanasi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
I have shared your appreciation with the team as feedback such as yours motivates them to achieve higher levels of service.
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely hotel. - sweeping drive, beautiful gardens. A complete contrast to what is outside the gates! Very comfortable rooms, excellent staff. Restaurant has a la carte and buffet options - very reasonably priced. Swimming pool very inviting and we used it after sight-seeing. Small shop competitively priced but only open at certain times - check with Reception. Lifts could be slow.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the gardens at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persis647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
I have shared your appreciation with the team as feedback such as yours motivates them to achieve higher levels of service.
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is situated about 15 minutes drive from the Ganges and provides welcome respite from the hectic, but exhilarating, bedlam that is the old city. As you would expect from an hotel in the Taj group, the general service levels were good and the breakfast and dining menus offered a broad range from which to select. It was busy at breakfast as people returned from dawn visits to the ghats so some shortages of foods did occur although the waiting staff soon provided replenishments when these were drawn to their attention. The hotel will probably need re-decorating soon but this did not prove detrimental in any way. Finally, I must make special mention of the excellent travel advice provided by Mr Amar Kant Jha and of the arrangements made by him to ensure that our party had trouble free visits to the Ganges for the evening aarti celebrations and dawn boat ride, in addition to the airport transfers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabascoleathergrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

I have shared your appreciation with the team as feedback such as yours motivates them to achieve higher levels of service.

I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.

Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001
F 91 542 250 1343
D 91 542 666 0011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.6 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
0.4 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing