We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ganges View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ganges View
Ranked #11 of 206 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

We absolutely loved our stay here.

The rooms were beautiful, the staff helpful and unobtrusive and the setting perfect.

We are adventurous backpackers and were rapt with our decision to treat ourselves here. It was such an oaisis.

We ate dinner on the first night out of convienence and by choice every evening following, it was varied and absolutely delicious!!

The highlight though was an amazing intimate classical music recital (no cheesy 'tourist gig' either), just superb!

  • Liked — everything!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mitchbucanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    160
    62
    21
    22
See reviews for
47
212
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2007

We spent a few nights in this beautiful hotel while visiting our daughter who was on the Where There Be Dragons Program. Our room right off the roof terrace was decorated with peacocks, and there was an artist painting a canvas of peacocks working on that terrace. It was wonderful to watch and listen from the roof terrace to the major aarti conducted each evening on Asi ghat, and good birdwatching right there. Breakfast on that terrace was sublime, but one must move into the dining room for dinner to avoid the mosquitos. This is a lovely and peaceful place right on the Ganges.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank HoopoePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2006

I have been staying at this Hotel for 5 years. I have spent up to a month at the HGV each year. It is one of the highlights of my time spent in India. Wonderful owner and staff who remain constant and have become friends over the years. Extremely clean rooms, delicious and "safe" food. The only problem is the difficulty in getting a reservation. I now book a year in advance, though some walk-ins are able to get rooms at the last minute.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Greg1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2006

This hotel is excellently located right on the Ganges. The hotel itself is really pretty because they have stunning artwork all over and it used to be a mansion and has the original decor. The staff is nothing to sneeze about and neither was the food. The room was very pretty and we had our own little terrace (but only because the room next to us was empty otherwise we would have had to share it as no rooms have private balconies). The air conditioning kept going off the entire 1st night because of the water filtration the city installed that drains the power...so that wasn't good because it's india hot over there...but the fan stayed on! :)

We chose this hotel over the Taj because we wanted to be right on the water and we do not regret our choice at all. The city is pure chaos and I would hate to have had to go through it to get to the Ganges...every day. Staying on the Ganges was really an incredible experience and we are so happy we did not stay further away...the whole point to us was to experience the Ghats and the water and the life that revolves around it and you're really not going to get that if you don't stay on the riverfront.

This hotel was right next to the Palace on the Ganges and it's true that they really don't have a view. The Temple on the Ganges looked really nice and I have a friend who stayed there that raves about it. The Temple on the Ganges also offers yoga and massages on there roof which must be really nice. We did look for the yoga center in old town varanasi and it looked like a rathole...literally....so we passed.

We ate at Hotel Divya and at the one right next to it...the Divya was phenomenal...I mean really good food....probably the best spring rolls I've ever had..and everything else we had was really scrumptious and really cheap...we are big eaters and dinner cost us $5 for both every time...it was so good that we ate there every day! We tried other places but they didn't compare...even the hotel was supposed to have "home-cooked food"...we weren't impressed.

The boat ride in the morning cost 400 rupees for 2 hours and it was really amazing...especially since you are coming from the south and it's really peaceful and you see the transformation once you get to the main ghats and all of the tourist boats in the water...really nice...we also would take a boat up to the main ghats in the afternoon and then walk back in the evening and it was really nice to see.

Good luck! And have a wonderful trip...Varanasi was really nice...

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank skydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2006

We stayed in at Room 9 the Ganges View Hotel for 2 nights on the recommendation of the Lonely Planet. We were really rather disappointed. The staff were extremely sullen and grumpy and didn't make us feel at all welcome. Our room was OK but there is a large and noisy generator outside that gets going whenever the mains electricity goes (quite often) and the bathroom was extremely poky and damp and not the sort of room you felt like removing your clothes in.

It doesn't take much to smile at your guests or look as if you remotely wanted them to stay there. I certainly wouldn't again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Tinks20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2005

Ganges View is located at Assi Ghat. This is further away from the main action, but this isn't necessarily a bad thing - it felt safer and friendlier there, and there is always an option to get on a boat (or share one with other tourists) to get to the main ghat. If your into immersing yourself into the action though, main ghats might be for you.

The hotel itself was quite plesan, clean and reasonable. Staff didn't push any adjenda which was nice. The rooms upstairs (i think rooms 109 - 112) are the ones with air con and a short walk to a balcony with a view of the ghat.

Like the rest of India, they were rennovating the hotel, so expect to see another level of rooms on top.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2004

The Hotel Ganges View reminded me of the Tabard Inn in Washington, DC; the kind of place where you can imagine running into a spy or foreign correspondent. Joan Baez stays at the Tabard when she comes to DC.

In October 2004, we had rooms on the second floor with a beautiful balcony overlooking Assi Ghat and the Ganges sunrise and sunset. After sunset drinks on our balcony we wandered down to the Assi Ghat to watch the Hindu priests from the temple next door conduct a beautiful ceremony in the sacred Ganga with music, dancing and fire.

When we returned to our hotel from a dawn boatride the next morning, we found that our balcony had been commanded by the Bollywood film star Rani Mukkerjee who was making her latest film 'Banti aur Babli' in the love seat on our balcony! We had to tread over film gear and technicians in order to make it back to our rooms and grab our bags for our next adventure. To avoid the crowds at the front door we were hustled out the back to our waiting cab. But we celebrities are used to that.

Who knows what adventures you will have at the Ganges View?

Helpful?
46 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
3.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganges View

Property: Hotel Ganges View
Address: Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganges View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganges View guest is one of best guest house in Varanasi or Banaras those are situated at unique oldest city in the world or holy pilgrimage cities in India located on the Banks of the Holy Ganges...... and so much ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing