We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in Varanasi”
Review of Hotel Varuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Varuna
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in Varanasi”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed in hotel Varuna for 3 nights. The hotel is great. We booked through their website, executive room. When we came there, we saw, that the executive room is not for us, so we decided to pay more and get a superior room, but then they ve upgraded us to a suite room free of charge. Thank you for that. The room was great, big, with LCD TV, good WIFI, lots of windows. Mr Rajiv Tripathi was very, very helpfull and very nice and always there :). He speaks very good english and solves every problem you have. They always called a riksha for us, so we payed the fair price to the gaths. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel (room service) and the food was great. The family, which owns the hotel is very sweet, they showed us the plans for a new restaurant in 3rd floor and as we saw, it will be great.
This was our 3rd trip to Varanasi and it was the best hotel so far. (Before we stayed near Ganges, which was a good location, but bad hotels). So next time, when we visit, we will stay at Varuna and we will recommend this hotel to all our friends, who travel around.

Room Tip: Superior room with the balcony is nice, and the suite room is the best - very huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraindrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    31
    18
    15
See reviews for
62
23
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Hotel varuna is one of the better hotels that I have stayed in. I loved the decor of the Lounge Cafe which has very interesting Varanasi photographs on display. The food was good and was served in the Lounge Cafe which is their primary restaurant. I was told a new restaurant is opening on the third floor this month. The rooms were nice cosy as well. The hotel staff were very helpful. I had a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulapthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Hotel has been recently renovated & that is the only plus in the property. There is no restaurant which limits the choices & the quality is also affected. Though the Menu Card shows many items but availability is limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anil_billoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were a group of friends from thailand and we stayed in hotel varuna in varanasi. The rooms were big and bright and the bed was comfortable. There was a balcony facing a beautiful garden. The hotel staff were very curteous. The hotel location is very good and it is thus very easily approachable. Its is in the center of the city. All major attractions of varanasi are at almost equal distances. Transport is readily available to the ghats and temples and it is very cheap as well. The best thing is that the area in which the hotel is located is pretty clean compared to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank preechathai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Varanasi is ugly and dirty almost everywhere, so this modern hotel is kind of an oasis. I was given a studio room (because I made the mistake of booking with a crooked Delhi tourist office) which had no ventilation, only an interior window onto the lobby! I suppose other rooms are better. The staff was helpful and "westernized" as if they understood western needs and tried to cater to them, unlike many other hotels in India. Location is not great if you want to see the Ganges, because you are half way accross town, but it's a short rickshaw ride away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

A simple place to stay with extraordinary services. The gardens are beautiful. Thee location is perfect for tourists. Everything is near by. The rooms are cosy and the cooling was very good. Morning breakfast that was complimentary was served in the room on request. Hotels generally provide a buffet system only for complimentary breakfast. Loved every thing about the place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kriti987657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I booked five rooms in the hotel during my brothers marriage. I also bookee their wedding banquet hall and gardens. The rooms were fabulous and huge. The food was great. They also served us great coffee shakes and they were upto international standards. Love this place. Loved the lounge cafe decor.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchit123479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central Residency
Hotel Central Residency
#25 of 77 in Varanasi
114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#12 of 77 in Varanasi
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Janki International
Hotel Janki International
#11 of 77 in Varanasi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#29 of 77 in Varanasi
47 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 77 in Varanasi
189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rivera Palace
Hotel Rivera Palace
#18 of 77 in Varanasi
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varuna

Property: Hotel Varuna
Address: 22 Gulab Bagh, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varuna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Varuna is a 3 star boutique hotel located in the Sigra area of Varanasi. It is at a distance of a kilometer from the Varanasi Junction Railway Station. The hotel features spacious and modern rooms, exquisite Lounge's and restaurants, beautiful Gardens and is well-equipped with banquet facilities ideal to host conferences and weddings.Free Internet Access is provided over a Wifi Network throughout all areas of the Hotel. The hotel's contemporary architecture, warm hospitality and top-notch services are sure to please travelers for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Varuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing