We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great service, a bit far from ghats”
Review of Hotel Varuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Varuna
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great service, a bit far from ghats”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Note: I'm am American tourist who previously traveled India quite a bit. I stayed at Hotel Varuna on a solo trip for 3 days / 2 nights.

The room:
I stayed in a Deluxe room with a balcony, which was more space than I needed. I had no trouble sleeping at night (with ear plugs). The beds were 9/10 by India standards and 7/10 by American standards - they exceeded my expectations.

Location:
The hotel is located near the center of the city, but not close to the center of tourism (the ghats). However, it's only a short auto-rickshaw ride away.

Service:
Sanjeev has a great sense of humor and was willing to do whatever possible to make my stay easier. The whole staff was exceedingly helpful - key for inexperienced India visitors.

The food:
Great food selection, very tasty, reasonably priced. Convenience of good food in a hotel after a long day was incredible.

Overall Assessment:
There were moments when I would have preferred a closer location, but the price, service, and accommodations made Hotel Varuna a great place to spend my time in Varanasi. I'd recommend the property, esp if the rates are a good deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    37
    31
    18
    15
See reviews for
61
23
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just stqyed in hotel varuna. Liked the hotel. Rooms were neat and clean. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was a bit small but well maintained. Food served was a bit slow but was well prepared. A good hotel in the center of varanasi.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andirapp-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed only for 15 hours. Compared to the rates the rooms are little expensive. The rooms could have been much cleaner. Arrived early morning there was no staff for unloading of the bags from the Cars as we were in big group. Limited staff. Most of the time stayed out so could not experience further. Centrally located in Varanasi. Nearby shopping malls with good brands. Stayed in Room No. 103 the bathroom switches were inside behind the door which took time to locate.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room No. 103 was good with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhaveshlgala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We came to Varanasi for a family trip. Had booked two double bedded rooms for a day. The staff at the reception were very courteous and guided us with respect to the trip in the city. However, rest of the stay was not great. The rooms are average. The mini bar exists only on paper. No water was provided as per the promise of free 1litre per day - everything was charged. Cleanliness was average - the sofa and the table in the lobby had a good dust film on them. Food is costly and takes ages to come. For example, a dinner order for a family of four took 1.5 hours to arrive. Also, no buffet breakfast. The offered breakfast content is very limited and certainly not enough for the average varanasi visitor.. Quality of food is average - definitely not worth the price. Advantages are good location and nothing beyond that. Would not recommend to my friends. Shall try other options if I visit Varanasi again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SajjanShenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to note that there were certain services and facilities at our hotel that did not meet your expectations and your comments have been noted for necessary improvements
We take all critics, comments very positively and seriously to minimize the shortcomings and improve ourselves towards service excellence.

I have personally reviewed your feedback with our crew and have briefed them to avoid such occurrences in future. I will personally ensure training needs are revamped in areas that concern our most valued guests like you.

We would like to state that the Minibar is chargeable in almost every hotel, not only in Varanasi, but across India. We do provide complimentary Mineral water bottles with every room. Anything apart from that is chargeable. All areas of the hotel are cleaned on a regular basis, up to 3 times a day. However, the Incident was most unfortunate where the lobby sofa was dusty. I assure you, that is not the case always.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to make your next stay flawless.

Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Though they could see this negative review coming from miles away, the management did nothing to make my stay better. They refused even a partial refund for a night I tried to cancel a week in advance, the room smelled musty, the bed was uncomfortable, the sheets were thin, there was no soap provided, and the location was less than ideal, given the long rickshaw ride to the ghats.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank dzandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to note that there were certain services and facilities at our hotel that did not meet your expectations and your comments have been noted for necessary improvements.
We take all critics, comments very positively and seriously to minimize the shortcomings and improve ourselves towards service excellence.

As your booking was made through Cleartrip.com, any modifications/cancellations are to be done through Cleartrip.com. The hotel is not responsible for any commitments made by third party agencies. We had duly informed you of the same over email since we received the first communication from you. The travel agents such as Cleartrip.com charge the hotel for the bookings they send. Hence it is not possible to cut short a reservation unless the travel agent refunds the commission charged.

I have personally reviewed your feedback about the toiletries and the room sheets with our crew and have briefed them to avoid such occurrences in future. I will personally ensure training needs are revamped in areas that concern our most valued guests like you.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to make your next stay flawless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Checked into one of their Studio rooms which is located on the ground floor. Though the room was expected to be smmall, it was smaller than expected for a Studio room.
Also, found a rat enjoying itself in the bathroom. Called the manager who promptly got it caught and evicted. So much for hygienic and comfortable stay.
Also no running hot water in any of the taps, though they were helpful to get me a bucket-full of it in morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Dipesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPJaiswalHV, Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to note that there were certain services and facilities at our hotel that did not meet your expectations and your comments have been noted for necessary improvements.
We take all critics, comments very positively and seriously to minimize the shortcomings and improve ourselves towards service excellence.

This incident is a unique one that has rarely happened before in the hotel. Sometimes due to continuous use of rooms there maybe unforeseen maintenance Issues with the Infrastructure, which in your case was related to the Internal plumbing. We as a hotel, will always try and compensate you for the Inconvenience caused. The occurrence of this Issue is once in a million.

I have personally reviewed your feedback with our crew and have briefed them to avoid such occurrences in future. I will personally ensure training needs are revamped in areas that concern our most valued guests like you.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to make your next stay flawless.

Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed with a couple of friends in Hotel Varuna. It's a decent hotel with good facilities. Rooms were bright and airy. There was a huge balcony in the room I stayed in. Hotel people were very helpful. The transport facilities are very good to the hotel.
Centrally located place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central Residency
Hotel Central Residency
#26 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Janki International
Hotel Janki International
#11 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#30 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#12 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#31 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varuna

Property: Hotel Varuna
Address: 22 Gulab Bagh, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varuna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Varuna is a 3 star boutique hotel located in the Sigra area of Varanasi. It is at a distance of a kilometer from the Varanasi Junction Railway Station. The hotel features spacious and modern rooms, exquisite Lounge's and restaurants, beautiful Gardens and is well-equipped with banquet facilities ideal to host conferences and weddings.Free Internet Access is provided over a Wifi Network throughout all areas of the Hotel. The hotel's contemporary architecture, warm hospitality and top-notch services are sure to please travelers for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Varuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing