We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Varanasi, highly recommended!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bhadra Kali Guest House
Ranked #14 of 214 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Varanasi, highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This place is clean, quite, cheap, welcoming, in a great position, with a great staff... What else would you need?


Ok, I'll start saying that me and two friends had got Varanasi's train station at 1 o'clock in the morning, tired and stinky, then were asked by the ricksaw driver for a doubled price and a huge tip. So we called Ravi (the owner of the guest house): he arrived immediately, taking care of the whole issue and taking us to Bhadra Kali Guest House.

I wasn't supposed to have a reservation for that night, but he made me sleep on a mattress put on the floor, totally for free. The next morning I moved to a room, which was tidy, clean, really cozy and incredibily cheap for a Varanasi's standard.

The atmosphere at Bhadra Khali is always like its staff: friendly, welcoming, truly international and stressless. Fancy an afternoon Chai with nice people around you? Bhadra Khali is the place to be.

The guest house is totally safe (we used to leave our Ipods and shoes at the entrance), has the best position in the city (5 mins walk from Assi Ghat, the most important one), but you won't hear any noise during day or night.

Bathrooms and rooms are clean, there's wifi, a nice rooftop, Ravi is one of the best persons I've ever met in India: a Tabla genius (ask him to play something for you and you'll get what I mean), genuine, friendly, he's always smiling and, most important thing for a traveler: he's an honest man.

As I've said before, the staff is really helpful, they'll arrange for you boat trips (way cheaper than you'd ever do by yourself), train and bus tickets, massages (cheap and awesome!), music lessons and so on.


If you're in Varanasi, you MUST go there. Otherwise, you'll never find a place like that. Trust me.


Francesco, 24 yo, journalist and traveller (Italy)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francesco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    22
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
38
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tlv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The bhadra kali guest house stay by the ganga river in the main ghat its close to all the nice places in varansi and keep the peace and quiet that you need. there is beautiful view to the river from the rooms.
Free wi fi.
The rooms and the bathroom are very clean and the employees are very kind and helpfull! (also with ticket booking).
I stayed in this place for a month and i got home feeling

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roy951951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishikesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I had a very nice experience at Bhadra Kali guesthouse. It is a nice place located very well next to the Ganga but far enough from the main busy road with all the men trying to sell you things that it feels very peaceful. The owner is very honest which is nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank binster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is one of those places that u know that from now on you will always come back to....
Good rooms, amazing rooftop view and a great location....but above all that i felt like its my family and that Ravi, the owner, is my brother:)
Ravi has also a school for children in need and part of the money you pay for the rooms goes to that beautiful school.....

i will surely come back;)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mirit_tamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our band (Lobo Marino) came to India to find a new Harmonium.
The guest house owner helped us in finding one and went above and beyond getting it for us.
We ended up staying a whole month because Ravi (the owner) made us feel so welcome.
He even set up a concert for us on our last night in Varanasi. We learned traditional Indian beats from him. There was always music in the guesthouse from Ravi practicing tabla to sitar jam sessions at night. This is very culturally vibrant place to stay! I highly recommend it to any music lover!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lobomarinomusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Bhadra Kali was a sanctuary during my month stay in Varanasi!
Our bedroom had a great view of the Ganga and was full of monkeys in the morning.
Every morning I would open the window to watch "monkey tv".
The owner (Ravi) and his staff are always willing to go out of their way to help you. After one month I felt as though I had known Ravi for years, he is a true friend who has a genuinely helpful and caring spirit. Ravi even called his families doctor to come check on me when I got sick.
This guest house thrives on its vibes, it is not a luxury spa or grand hotel, but it is a comfortable place full of people who care about you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jameson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Bhadra Kali guest house is centrally located, good base from which to enjoy Varanasi.
The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable, there is wifi downstairs in the common area, the roof top has amazing view of the sacred Ganga river.
The staff is really nice and friendly.
Ravi, the owner, is very helpful and trustworthy,
thank you!!

Room Tip: there are two rooms with small balconie and ganga view, best choise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,089 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.3 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 79 in Varanasi
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#18 of 79 in Varanasi
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhadra Kali Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhadra Kali Guest House

Property: Bhadra Kali Guest House
Address: Bhadra Kali Guest House Ahilyabai Ghat Brampuri Gali D 18/11, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bhadra Kali guest house is a one-of-a-kind boutique guesthouse located on Ahilyabai Ghat, by Main Ghat in Varanasi, India. The guesthouse is a colourful, family-owned, music-oriented house with panoramic views of the city and of the River Ganga. A couple of the rooms in this cozy 7 room Guesthouse also have balconies and River views. Come stay with us, do yoga on the roof, take music lessons, or simply find a peaceful respite during your Varanasi adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bhadra Kali Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing