We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varanasi Best Hostel and home stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi
Ranked #10 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

In the last two years I spent all together almost one year in the city of Varanasi, studying music and meditation and I can say that I know a good number of guest houses around, but none of them is so friendly, clean, well organized and peaceful like ITH.

The service here is excellent and European standard. The atmosphere relaxed and cozy and the family and the staff absolutely sweet.
They open the door of their home to you and leave you total freedom and privacy, offering a great home-stay, with plenty of facilities for you included in the price and everything is clean and the food generous and well made.
All food ingredients are the best quality you can find available in the market and they are cooked with love and care, Indian food as well as western food and/or some new recipe from Ashy's special intuition.

Moreover a beautiful, green garden, a cozy living room and a big roof top for us to enjoy different activities during the day and the evenings, like practicing yoga together, playing music, watching videos or just chill out with a cup of “masala chai” sharing our travel experiences or planning the next steps for the journey.

Ashy is a traveler himself, so he knows what travelers are looking for and he is really doing a great job here. He can suggest you how to discover Varanasi and few tips to understand better the local culture and life as well as planning your next movements.

The wi-fi internet connection is working fast and steady 24 hours and this is something really rare for Varanasi as well as hot water and electricity in general: we were more then 30 people few days ago and still we all had our hot shower.

The location is a bit far from the main tourist center, but only few minutes ride on a shared tuc-tuc and you are there. And honestly you will enjoy more peace and freedom here then being in the center, 'cause also neighbors are really friendly and polite (and they won't try to sell you something.. )

I really suggest you to come by and make the experience on your own.

Great

Thanks Ashy

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FeliceMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for your generous words, Daniele. It was fantastic to host you here and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We really appreciate all of your contributions and look forward to welcoming you again.

~ Ashish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Ashish is very friendly and reliable. If you have any questions, he is more than happy to answer them (promptly, too). I felt very safe here, even as a solo woman. He keeps it clean and quiet! Perfect for rest. It's a bit away from the river but that was nice because it was not too loud at night. Great spot. Wifi was perfect! Hot water - great. Family is very sweet too. The only thing I would add are lockers when it gets really busy. In summary, would definitely recommend this to anyone! Lisa

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

It brings me immense joy to know that I was able to make you feel safe and comfortable as a solo woman traveller in the first days of your first India trip, Lisa.

I have taken note of the attributes that fell below your expectations, and have already commenced refinements. Although we have assured that our premises are generally safe with CCTV installed at all entry & exit points, safety lockers will be introduced too as soon as our budget allows. Your invigorating words, however, are what will keep us motivated to continue striving for excellence.

Wishing you all the best for all your future travels. Hope to see you around again!

- Ashish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed in ITH after having travelled around Asia for almost a year, and found it a calm and peaceful place to catch a breath in a city that's as violently loud and obnoxious as it is holy. The difference in atmosphere between outside and inside the hostel walls is tangible, and the general look and feel fits international standards, still very much a rarity in India. So the wifi, showers, a/c etc. all work as they should, and the owner has clearly put a lot of thought into how to run a hostel with pride. The only small minus comes from the food that was a bit too expensive for me, but that on the other hand seemed more special than what's on offer nearby. Also the location is some distance from the ghats but the close proximity to the train station makes up for it. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkoKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

It is fabulous to know that we were able to offer you a rare, calm and peaceful stay, Marko. However, your dissatisfaction with the food pricing is a concern that we have noted. Although a lot of factors on costing are beyond our control, we will re-evaluate everything in order to be able to provide a better sense of value. Notwithstanding the remark, your encouraging words are what keep us motivated to perform even better in the future.

We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again exceeding your expectations next time around.

- Ashish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

International Traveller's Hostel for me was like an asylum of tranquility giving balance after Varanasi traffic and noise. The place with a very good energy and people, creating around you comfort and peace. Dormitories are mixed, but very clean and everyone was respectful towards each other. This place is especially recommended for people traveling alone as me, cause you will feel really safe and will have chance to meet other nice people from all over the world. I also enjoyed a lot the garden and delicious, fresh food. It’s a very special place to stay, I would say “made with love” : ) Thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vilma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

So glad to know that you felt the love, Vilma! We have invested a lot of it into International Travellers' Hostel, and nothing is more fabulous than you feeling it :)

Thank you so much for this terrific review. Hope to see you again soon!

- Ashish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay in Varanasi, you instantly feel welcomed and at home. Beautiful location, close to the railway station. The atmosphere is peaceful and warm, and everybody working there will help to make your stay as good as possible. Thanks for a great time!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CrissiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Being able to make you feel at home while hosting you since your first days in India is endearing to know, Crissi! You have been our longest staying guest so far. I want to thank you for being wonderful and for this superb review!

- Ashish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

International Travellers' Hostel is the best place we stayed in India,it is incredible and peaceful. It has good vibrations and excellent food and what is important for travellers there is wi-fi 24 hours a day and (attention:))- hot water and the menu is very nice, you can have really normal food for those who have weak stomach and cant eat too spicy and everything is fresh and you can watch it yourself if you go to the kitchen you know. And of course the garden was made with love as well in a good style that makes you feel like at home.
And the owner of the hostel and all his family are very polite, helpful and hospitable people. And they understand how to make a good quality service, similar to european quality standarts, not indian) and you know this is very good for travellers like us.
We will recommend this place to our friends and to everybody who stay in Varanasi, to everybody who like comfort, like meeting new open-minded people and looking for the new wonderful experience.
I give it 5 stars, i would give 6 if there is a possibility)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaritta2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, Margarita. We have put a lot of love into ITH, and we are delighted to know that you felt it. We appreciate your gesture and sincerely hope to meet you again in the future.

- Ashish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

In a historic city where everything is just a business, i found this place called heaven. This place is amazing not just because of ambience or facilities, they offer a service which we get only in our own home. A home away from home, i am saying this with all respect to a gr8 man whos beyond this. A hostel with basic facilities and luxury services. Very near to railway station, i recommend this to all travellers who r going to varanasi. And pls dont forget to meet Ashish whos running this hostel with a gr8 dedication to his business. Thanx ashish for all the help...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank kiranprajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

For words as great as yours, I am nothing but humbled, Kiran. It was a pleasure to have served you, and a privilege to have spoken to your father. If I ever visit Kerala, I will certainly pay a visit to your family. And I will visit Kerala one day for sure :)

Meanwhile, sending regards from everyone at ITH.

- Ashish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 87 in Varanasi
542 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 87 in Varanasi
206 reviews
1.8 mi away
goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Zostel Varanasi
Zostel Varanasi
#1 of 240 in Varanasi
690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
#11 of 240 in Varanasi
91 reviews
2.3 mi away
HosteLaVie Varanasi
HosteLaVie Varanasi
#9 of 240 in Varanasi
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi

Address: Vidyapeeth Road | Landmark: The Alley Opposite to Gate #2 of Vidyapeeth University, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range: £8 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ITH is a backpackers' hostel. Stay with us in Varanasi for an unforgettable independent travel experience! ITH is pretty much where it all began. We are proud to be standing at the forefront of the travel revolution in this majestic land we call India. Today ITH offers the most diverse choice of accommodations ranging from a basic tent to a premium family cottage. The hostel set up inside our historical house in a quiet neighbourhood is exactly what you want on your India adventure. This is a place you can call home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing