We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean temple”

New Vishwanath Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$78.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Varanasi Cultural Tour with Ganges Evening Boat Ride
Ranked #8 of 98 things to do in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice and clean temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Shiva temple. BHU has big campus. The temple is located inside BHU campus. You can park car also. . You can get the peace and enjoy the evening

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kp4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    134
    41
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Ouseburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
727 reviews
368 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“Quiet Reflection and then go and score a 100 for England!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Bit of a strange Title – I will explain. We visited the VT thanks to those lovely people at Trinetra Tours and their ace guide Naveen. Situated in the heart of the University Complex, this relatively modern Temple is a quiet oasis in the middle of the Varanasi caos. Not the most inspiring of places if truth be told, but worth a visit just to relax if nothing else. BUT, really glad I went, because around the corner were a group of guys playing cricket. And they were happy for a fat, bald, unfit Yorkshireman to join them for a game of cricket. I bowled, batted and fielded and am pleased to say that England declared on 475 for 3, with yours truly undefeated on 122. Ok, so the last bit is a fib. The game wasn’t and I was so pleased to play. Must post the photos when I get back home…

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vishwanath temple ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I live near the university, and believe me its a wonderful place to be there in the temple with or even without anybody. The environment around is calm, soothing and fresh leaving you and your mind to stay happy and alive throughout the day. It really does happen! I visit here quite many a times. (Y)..har har mahadev! :D

Helpful?
2 Thank Anuj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Golden moment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Impressive golden spire, non-Hindus not allowed in, with lots of police in vicinity of nearby Jnana Vapi mosque. A shame that there is conflict in such inspiring places.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeithPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Not particularly interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The temple isn't particularly interesting but the campus of the Benares Hindu University is very pretty. It is nice to see some green grass!! If you are pressed for time, skip this temple.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weeyahneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Vishwanath Temple also viewed

 
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to New Vishwanath Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing