We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and very friendly staff”
Review of Palace on Ganges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace on Ganges
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Older style hotel in the banks of the Ganges. We had a downstairs room which was comfortable while not especially functional. Our downstairs room had no windows and the walls were quite thin! Hotel location is excellent and the staff are very friendly. Rooftop restaurant not open as it was undergoing renovations, but the small ground floor restaurant serves excellent India meals and we could always get a chai tea with a smile at any time of the day. Wifi can be purchased for one hour or one day at reasonable rates but is not free. Good location, clean, comfortable, friendly staff and right on the edge of the Ganges. (The hotel was also the choice of a very well known BBC film crew who were staying at the hotel while filming a segment on the River Ganges)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JhhDjh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

I had a wonderful 4 night stay at the POG. The staff were friendly always ready to help and give assistance. The food was good, did not try the bouffet. I was in 107 which was nicely decorated and very clean and yes the window faces a wall, so what, it was incredibly quiet, the idea is to spend as much time roaming along the ghats. One has to remember that this would have been someone's home rather than set up as a hotel. I didnt find the little restaurant downstairs at all dingy but rather had character. I did thorough research before coming to Varanasi and I couldnt find any better accommodation in the price range on the Ganges as mentioned by other reviewers that there were better places. As to the wifi, I had no trouble it worked well and I hardly saw having to get a scratch card from the desk an inconvenience. This hotel is not going to appeal to those with entrenched western tastes better to stay at one of the many western style hotels away from the Ganges who provide tea making facilities in the room. But you will however, miss out.

Room Tip: Away from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Hotel has a bead and Breakfast when we stayd there because The roof restaurant was under construction. Location is ok, Breakfast is ok, rooms are ok but not very big. We had been here for two nights and that was ok. Hotel location is directly on the Ganges boulevard and you can walk directly through this site.
A nice hotel for a short stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kokvandermeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Varanasi is an amazing place and if you come here, you come to experience the ghats. Palace on Ganges have location in spades, being right on Assi Ghat. And for accommodation right in the heart of Varanasi, there is not much competition in the "above average" category. All the international marque hotels are out in the Cantonment area, and to me that seems rather pointless if you need to spend hours travelling back and forth to see what you have come here to see.

Palace on Ganges was clean, the rooms were fine and the staff were polite and helpful. However, hot water was a problem in the showers and the food was okay - don't fret, there are some excellent, cheap eats in the immediate surrounds.

It was overpriced for the overall offering, but if you stay here it should be just because of the excellent location and bracket your expectations about anything else. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

In Varanasi there are of course several guesthouses along, or near to, the Ghats. Hotel Palace on the Ganges is also (almost) along the river, near the most southernly ghat, the Assi ghat. Beside this excellent location you will also find it a very up-to-date hotel. The staff is very attentive, may be some of you will find them a little bit over-attentive. The restaurant is excellent, there is no need to cruise the streets for a better place for dinner. When we were there, mid-januari, they had live music every night.
I have one question: why do not they accept Amex credit cards?

Room Tip: There are also rooms on the back side, where you haver no view at all, but I would not know how to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location of this hotel at the last ghat, is perfect for walking the 2 km long trail along all the Ghats. We would probably have chosen an other hotel with more western amenities, but we are happy "India personal tours" choose this hotel for us, since we would not have the courage to walk and see so much, as we had not been right on the banks. It was a expensive hotel, but our Tour Company must have arranged a good deal. We loved the rooms and decor, but mainly the review is based on the location, wich meant everything. Morning boatride started just in front of hotel. We did not eat in the hotel, but found the AUM cafe round the corner a safe place to eat breakfast and lunch for westeners.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel was ok for a two-night stay in Varanasi, but I likely wouldn't stay here again if I returned. WiFi was annoying - operated on some sort of ticket system. Service was perfunctory. Overpriced as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 79 in Varanasi
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Banaras Haveli
Hotel Banaras Haveli
#32 of 79 in Varanasi
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Ganges

Address: B-1/158 | Assighat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: £85 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace on Ganges 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace on Ganges is a new, immaculately clean hotel with 22 rooms, each named for -- and said to be decorated in the style of -- a different region of India. Our rooms were good-sized and well appointed (cable TV sets, non-alcholic mini-bar, tables and chairs). The staff is friendly and attentive. Food is vegetarian and well prepared. The big advantage is Palce on Ganges's location. It is at Asi Ghat, And while it's "on the Ganges," a small road and a large where you can get the cab easily from just out of the hotel. Views of the Ganges from the balcony -- and rooms facing the river (on supplement charges) -- are far less good than those from, among others hotels. Disadvantages: not all rooms face the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Ganges Varanasi
Palace On Ganges Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing