We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Varanasi Ashok
Ranked #58 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Hotel Varanasi Ashok has been my favourite for years. First the pros: It's not close to the city centre but them if you are staying in this hotel, budget is really not a factor for you.They have a lovely dining area and boutique shops to take gifts which are of much superior quality as compared to the ones you would normally find in city centre. However a new rung of hotels in Varanasi are giving stiff competition

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Praveen123pks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We found the hotel a bit overpriced. It was neither inthe luxury segment not in the budget offering. For the same rates there are multiple other options like Clarks, Hindustan International which are more recommended

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnuandPraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I came to varanasi to attend a wedding ceremony of my friend and I stayed in this hotel for one day....I would say hotel was good in terms of room maintained. The most negative part of our stay was noise coming out of the hotel lobby.

I stayed their for one day and my room was good but it was constantly disturbed by clatter of people coming and going and even the sound of the television running in the lobby.

Though the room service was excellent but the people taking the room service was not professional at all and he came in only after i called him the second time.

overall it was good experience..

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pallopathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We went to Varanasi to visit places near by Varanasi, Like sarnath, Vishwanath temple etc.
Hotel helps us to visit all the places.
They provide all the facilities in room..
Room service is very good...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank guptaniraj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucknow
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I came to varanasi to meet my friend and I stayed in this hotel for one day....I would say hotel was good in terms of room maintainence. The most negative part of our stay was noise coming out of the hotel lobby. I stayed their for one day and my room was constatnly disturbed by clatter of people coming and going and even the sound of the television running in the lobby. Though the room service was good but the guy taking the room service was not professional at all and he came in only after i called him the second time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

A hotel on the main road u would feel on the busstop s much of noise one cannot imagine pathetic place to stay.Staff behavior also bad..

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — useless place
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mridulagk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.8 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#11 of 79 in Varanasi
709 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#29 of 79 in Varanasi
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varanasi Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varanasi Ashok

Property: Hotel Varanasi Ashok
Address: The Mall, Varanasi Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Varanasi Ashok 4*
Number of rooms: 84

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing