We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gautam Hotel(Varanasi)
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alka(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
US$14
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Shiva Ganges View(Varanasi)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$36
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
241
252
128
53
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
252
128
53
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin restaurantrooftop restaurantthe riverold cityguest housetop floorno elevatorperfect locationlocal guidehot waternarrow lanesevery eveningmain ghatstour guideairport pickupexcellent viewganga aarti
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Read the reviews on trip advisor so knew what to expect. The hotel is ok, the rooms are functional though with noisy fridges/fans and paper thin walls. Don't expect to sleep if morning prayers have started BUT location wise the place was perfect. Most of the staff were friendly. We were able to take a boat from next to the hotel to see the morning rituals and were able to take a short walk to the evening Aarti at the ghats. The restaurant there is petty good too with great views though if a big group got there before you you may be in for a wait!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank este19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel has amazing views if the Ganges which are reflected in the prices charged for the river facing rooms.We chose this room and really enjoyed our stay here.
The hotel is quite basic for the price but as I said the view is good .The rooms were clean and had a fridge and tea and coffee facilities.
The resturant on the roof terrace was really good and we ate here both nights on our stay and ate breakfast which was included.
Our pick up was organised from the hotel and was good both ways.
Our guide was also arranged from the hotel and as said would not give a price but as we had other guide in India for 800-1000 a day we new what we thought we should pay,as he ws relly good.As said the boat was probably expensive 500rupees each time,but it was good to be with a guide,as when were not we got hassled by other people to guide us.

Room Tip: Front river view was really good
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Having heard mixed reviews about Varanasi we did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surpirsed with every part of the city. The hotel driver was waiting for us at the airport with a comfortable car for the fairly long drive to the city center. When we checked in we found a comfortable, suuny room looking over the river. Right outside our window was a huge tree that would fill up with monkeys at feeding time. There was a restaurant on the roof with a good view, but food the food was not great (with the exception of the yummy breakfast which was included in our rate.) We had a super deluxe room and a standard room. The rooms were basic but very comfortable. The standard room looks small online, but it is actually okay for 1-2 people if you just want a place to sleep. The owners and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the constant noise, but that seemed to be an issue everywhere in Varanasi. Try to get a room facing the river rather than by the stairs (maybe the difference between a standard and deluxe). People talking on the stairs or in the lobby echoes throughout the hotel. The hotel arranged a guide for us, Molu, who made the city even more interesting. He was a local resident who was very knowledgeable, had very good English, and made Varanasi memorable. Our visit would not have been the same without Molu :)

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river rather than by the stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IowaTravellingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We chose this hotel because of its superb location just in front of the river Ganga. Our room, a super deluxe room for USD 138 per night, was quite small but had a good view of the river. The hotel had an excellent rooftop restaurant where we hade our meals during our two night stay. Even though we think that price is very high considering the standard of the hotel we would recommend this hotel because of its excellent location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

'Je ne peux pas dormir ici' was the the scream from the distraught French woman in the adjacent room as she chastised her husband for choosing the hotel.

Like most reviews say, the location is excellent and the rooms are basic and grubby but it is the bathroom which, like Varanasi, is dirty, noisy and like nothing you've seen before. Apart from the bathroom being grimy, there is an open grill into the adjacent room's bathroom, allowing you to hear any conversation or bowel movement from your neighbours. The management didn't seem to think this was too much of a problem but did place some cardboard over the grill to subdue any noises.

Varanasi is an assault on the senses but the Rashmi goes one step too far.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews