We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place to take a stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, helpful staf, nice common areas, good atmosphere, simply everything a backpacker needs! Only thing I would say anything about is that my driver had a bit of a hard time finding the place, but that was his fault then the hostel. They have great directions on an email, so use this for what it is worth. I had a great stay at stops!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryslett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xpanky, Owner at goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi), responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Fellow Traveller,

Many Thanks for your valuable review.

We are glad that the hostel was able to meet your expectations and we were able to lend a hand in helping you explore this beautiful city better.

We want you to know that we'll be waiting to host you during your next visit to Varanasi and are working on all the feedback from our guests to pleasantly surprise you with an even better experience the next time you're here.

Happy Travels,
Stops Hostels Varanasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I had so much fun here. staff was patient and super helpful. they had recommendations of everything to do in the city. i didn't even need to pick up a map. keep up the great work! OH yea, it was probably the cleanest place in Varanasi

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bhammer3012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xpanky, Owner at goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi), responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Fellow Traveller,

Many Thanks for your valuable review.

We are glad that the hostel was able to meet your expectations and we were able to lend a hand in helping you explore this beautiful city better.

We want you to know that we'll be waiting to host you during your next visit to Varanasi and are working on all the feedback from our guests to pleasantly surprise you with an even better experience the next time you're here.

Happy Travels,
Stops Hostels Varanasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

If you are Stresses by Indian traffic and looking for a peacefull play to Rest come at the "stops"!!! Such a relaxing place.

The livingroom is a perfect place to chill with new friends and the beds have personal fan (the one of six beds) what's better?

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xpanky, Owner at goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi), responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Fellow Traveller,

Many Thanks for your valuable review.

We are glad that the hostel was able to meet your expectations and we were able to lend a hand in helping you explore this beautiful city better.

We want you to know that we'll be waiting to host you during your next visit to Varanasi and are working on all the feedback from our guests to pleasantly surprise you with an even better experience the next time you're here.

Happy Travels,
Stops Hostels Varanasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

India is an amazing country to travel in, and Varanasi is no exception. The one minor issue with traveling in India is the lack of proper hostels, but Stops Hostel is a shining exception.

It's run for travelers, by travelers, and has all the little things that make hostels great: Great common area, big comfortable beds without too many rooms, knowledgable english speaking staff, wifi, lockers, etc. One additional thing that is a huge help in India is that they have a plentiful supply of refrigerated fresh drinking water! This is great not only because it means you don't have to pay for it, but it also saves on garbage by not requiring single use plastic bottles.

The hostel also is involved in community programs, for example while we were there they were showing an art exhibition of paintings of Varanasi by young local artists, and the work was very impressive.

The best thing about the hostel though is probably the staff. They are young, well traveled, and fluent in English. They actually set me off with a plan of the rest of my trip in India, having traveled India extensively themselves.

One note about the location. If you haven't been to Varanasi you may think that the best place to stay is near the river, but having stayed both near the river and in Stops Hostel I have to disagree. From Stops you can easily walk to the river district in about 5 minutes, but being outside is much cleaner and more peaceful. Getting a taxi from the street outside the district is easier and often cheaper since you aren't already in a "touristy" area.

All around, a great choice in Varanasi, and a model for hostels all across India.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xpanky, Owner at goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi), responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Fellow Traveller,

Many Thanks for your valuable review.

We are glad that the hostel was able to meet your expectations and we were able to lend a hand in helping you explore this beautiful city better.

We want you to know that we'll be waiting to host you during your next visit to Varanasi and are working on all the feedback from our guests to pleasantly surprise you with an even better experience the next time you're here.

Happy Travels,
Stops Hostels Varanasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stops is an awesome place for gathering of travel hungry minds and recount the tales of an eventful chaotic day in Banaras. Absolutely loved my stay here. Great crowd to chill at the end of the day. I was there during the summer months and the A/c was heavenly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vijeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xpanky, Owner at goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi), responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Fellow Traveller,

Many Thanks for your valuable review.

We are glad that the hostel was able to meet your expectations and we were able to lend a hand in helping you explore this beautiful city better.

We want you to know that we'll be waiting to host you during your next visit to Varanasi and are working on all the feedback from our guests to pleasantly surprise you with an even better experience the next time you're here.

Happy Travels,
Stops Hostels Varanasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stops hostel was a great place to stay in Varanasi. Although it is a little further away from the Ghats than other locations (it's about a 20 minute walk away), it is much quieter and probably more pleasant than a place on the Ganga. The rooms are cute and clean, and staff is very friendly. We stayed in the private couples room and it was colorful and a treat to stay in! And the common rooms are great too. If you stay, definitely eat at Kerala Cafe, which is delicious and cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xpanky, Owner at goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi), responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Fellow Traveller,

Many Thanks for your valuable review.

We are glad that the hostel was able to meet your expectations and we were able to lend a hand in helping you explore this beautiful city better.

We want you to know that we'll be waiting to host you during your next visit to Varanasi and are working on all the feedback from our guests to pleasantly surprise you with an even better experience the next time you're here.

Happy Travels,
Stops Hostels Varanasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

really enjoyed this hostel and its location outside the old city so it feels a lot cleaner and safe. It is also easy to get to the ghats from here by walking or a quick rickshaw ride to assi ghat. Everyone was very helpful, and it was nice that there was breakfast served and a kitchen so we could make our own food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank meriel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xpanky, Owner at goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi), responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Fellow Traveller,

Many Thanks for your valuable review.

We are glad that the hostel was able to meet your expectations and we were able to lend a hand in helping you explore this beautiful city better.

We want you to know that we'll be waiting to host you during your next visit to Varanasi and are working on all the feedback from our guests to pleasantly surprise you with an even better experience the next time you're here.

Happy Travels,
Stops Hostels Varanasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,227 reviews
1 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#13 of 80 in Varanasi
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Zostel Varanasi
Zostel Varanasi
#1 of 238 in Varanasi
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
#10 of 238 in Varanasi
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
HosteLaVie Varanasi
HosteLaVie Varanasi
#9 of 238 in Varanasi
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi)

Address: A - 2 Vijaya Nagaram Colony Durgakund Road | In alley next to LG Store Bhelupur, Near Bhelupur Water Tank, Varanasi 221010, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range: £8 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
goStops is a pit-stop like none other for the spirited traveler. Stops is where you refuel and equip yourself along your journeys! Its a space where you get to meet fellow travelers, eager to discover places, cultures and stories. You can share, plan, guide and learn together while relaxing and having fun. With professional and knowledgable staff and several essential facilities available 24x7, the hostel becomes your home and the city becomes your own backyard. goStops is a space where you get to stay your way. Immerse yourself in the ever expanding book-exchange library, choose from the collection of many documentaries and films, hang out in the lovely balconies and common areas, cook together in a fully equipped kitchen or just chill and do nothing! It's your call. goStops makes sure that you never run out of things to do and cultures to explore. Together! goStops is changing the way the young travel. Come join the revolution! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your goStops Varanasi (Stops Hostel Varanasi) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing