We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but there are better options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice room but there are better options”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Location: far from the center. If you are lucky it's a 15 minutes bumpy ride. If you get stuck in traffic it can even take 30 minutes.
We had a club room (which coste double than the standard room but is definitely worth it). The room is nice and new. The club room was at the fifth floor so it was very quite. The person in charge of the room was not only very nice but also very competent. Other 2-3 persons working at the hotel were very nice. They have a nice pool (althoug it's more for showing than for swimming as the deepest point is approximately 160cm). The gym is ok. Breakfast is great. But here is where the positive things end.
We arrived in the afternoon from Kahurajo and I had made sure to underline when reserving the room that I needed a room with a King size bed (and not twin beds) as my wife and I were travelling through India for our honeymoon. I also sent them an email the day before to remind them of all that. So, we get to the hotel and they apparently did not find our reservation (luckily I had a printout and I had the email exchange in my phone thus I obviously showed it to them).
The receptionists didn't seem to speak great English (a bit of a strange thing for a 5* hotel in India). She told me that we had a nice twin bed room. I declined the offer and said that I wanted a room with a king size bed as per reservation. Now, after a 30 minutes hassle they brought us to our room which was... a twin bed room. I pointed out (not that gently any more) that this was not what I had booked and she said that she would put the two beds together in order to make a single bed as they were at full occupancy. I, at this point quite irritated, repeated that we were on honeymoon and firmly demanded a King size bed. A miracle happened and it turns out that they did have an available room with a king size bed.
For three days I have had bad experiences with their staff at the reception, they are slow, incompetent and speak poor English. On top of it, they always have 2-3 trainees behind the desk (maybe they should consider training 1 person at a time). So the trainee would pick up the phone if you called or if you directly addressed the front desk. As the trainee did NEVER know the answer, another person would ask you to repeat what you just said. Once or twice that's ok but to have to repeat what you said every time you address the front desk is really annoying. I once called to ask something about the internet: The first guy did not understand so he would refer my call to his colleague with whom I had an absurd conversation (I was calling from my room and asked him a question about the business center and he would reply the following: "room key not working? Please come to reception (of course he could see that I was in my room)". At this point I just laughed and asked him to pass me on to a colleague who had a reasonable command of the English language.
This is just one example but I could go on for hours about what that front desk is like. After the second day I was obviously close to lose my temper and, in order not to lose my flight on a Tuesday morning, I decided to settle my bill on Monday evening. Of course it took them an hour to prepare the bill... The day after, I unfortunately still had to pay for 2 things I had taken from the minibar. I had to renounce to my breakfast as it took them another 30 minutes to figure that out (although I had filled in the form and made the calculation for them - HOPELESS!).
I have more stories but I do not want to bore you. All in all, the infrastructure of the hotel is good the service and the politeness of staff is bad (you get to the restaurant in the morning, say 'good morning' to the two guys standing there but all they do is look at you). Only once 3-4 staff members smiled widely: I was just getting into my cab to leave the place and had just given a tip to one of the staff members which are really nice. The hotel gives me the impression of being a hotel for business travellers. In Varanasi, the comfort and quiteness of such a hotel is very much appreciated after a long day at the gaths. But the management of this hotel should definitely be improved. I am sure there are other options (Radisson, gateaway, ...).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiala819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    352
    164
    86
    55
See reviews for
257
286
86
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Had to change our stay in Varanasi due to the Ganga flood, we decided to go to Ramada Plaza, the room is nice and comfortable, the location is very far from the ghats (30 minutes by autorickshaw, between 150-200 rupees). Breakfast food has no very good quality, porridge was the worst I've ever tasted in India.

We saw a rat walking on the roof in the restaurant.

There is no free wifi in the rooms

Visited August 2013

Room Tip: They are making renovations, so ask for a room far from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

At first, it looks like almost a luxury hotel, the room is very nice and big but the bathtub was old and broken in some places. They are refurbishing the hotel and they do no replace a bathtub, incredible! Personnel at the reception was a bit unexperienced and slow, seemed annoyed when I was checking the bill which had no mistake by the way.
Those are little things that ruin an appreciation. An objective fact: we found it was too far from the center.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

i stayed here on a free one night stay as part of their riviera membership.
this hotel sleeps..most of the time the hotel remains empty..
on checking in to the hotel, they gave us a bad time on giving us a room..half the hotel is on renovation
the restaurants are being renovated.
the worse thing is the staff, which are arrogant,and rude.
one can skip the hotel till it is totally renovated.
i wont be returning again to the hotel ,though i have their membership for a year..

Room Tip: there is almost nothing to advice anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faisaldaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel while on a business trip to Varanasi as Radisson & Taj were unavailable... Room was good though AC was not working and after complaining they did changed our room after 3 hours. Ordered room service and food was served cold tasteless. Though morning breakfast had not much option but we managed to fill our stomach.
Service and front desk in particular were poorly managed. Would avoid visiting next time.

Room Tip: Please check AC before check in.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrinalme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Nice hotel, excellent ambiance. Polite staff. Should provide more Variety in Buffet and it should be a daily service. fully satisfied. if Hotel can provide more south T V Channels it will be excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRICHARANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on a business visit to Varanasi. The hotel is very well located and has nice ambiance. The rooms and the service was good except for the Restaurant where I was not really happy with service and attitude of the staff. The food was very average at the restaurant and was exorbitantly priced compared with other eating options in the surrounding area.
A complimentary internet would have been a nice thing to have in a package considering Ramada is a chain of hotels. They charge odd 150-200/- Rs per hour for internet access which is lot too much considering we have dirt cheap internet plans available on our cell phones these days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawanTare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
3.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Grapevine
Hotel Grapevine
#7 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.9 mi away
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi

Property: Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Address: The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Family Hotel in Varanasi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza JHV, the luxury five star resort in Varanasi redefines hospitality beyond boundaries. Stylish spaces coupled with discreet luxury and impeccable service renders this Varanasi hotel a unique flavor. Lined with handpicked contemporary art throughout the public and private spaces and natural surroundings ensures a seamless blend of the rich culture of this rustic yet vibrant city with elevated standard of style, design and decor. State-of-the-art technology and amenities for commerce, leisure and relaxation makes The Ramada Plaza JHV hotel an ideal choice for guests seeking accommodation in Varanasi. The luxury rooms & suites are models of personal touch and superior amenities and services. Access to indulgent restaurants with world cuisine and Indian speciality restaurant, a day gym, spa and salon and spacious banquet rooms guarantee a gamut of innovative and inspired moments of celebration. The adjoining shopping mall extends the freedom of options to multiplex, shopping & dine out with all time favourites like McDonald's & Pizza Hut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Jhv Varanasi Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Varanasi
Varanasi Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing