We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice room, terrible service”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We spend 2 nigths in the hotel. A few hours after We got in the room, the receptiin called ir and ask us to move for another room and told us it would be a better room. The room was exactly the same and had a lot of noisy coming from the restaurant at the rooftop. So We asked to move again.
The driver service booked by the hotel was realy expensive, 3.000 rupies for one day. And the wifi is chargeble and only works in the lobby.
The tv was not working the intite time that We were there!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaK139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    353
    164
    86
    55
See reviews for
257
287
87
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, England
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A hotel in a large international chain and I take that into consideration. I travelled with my wife on a group tour and we stayed here for just two nights and found the hotel perfectly acceptable and comfortable with a few things better than average. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was good. A nice touch was the musicians playing Indian music during the evening meal which added to the atmosphere. A funny thing was when my wife ordered a brandy and Sprite - we watched the brandy going to and fro in the restaurant and wondered why it was not coming our way. After a little while I asked what the problem was and was told that they were looking for a brandy balloon, not realising that she wanted the two drinks together in the same glass! One of those amusing things that you remember years later. There's not much more to say - we had no problems at all and I'd have no problem returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013 and were very satisfied with the service. Very nice, friendly and helping staff. Clean and up-to-date room and delicious food in the restaurant. We only had breakfast in the morning in the restaurant and ate outside for lunch and dinner. Who was the manager in the restaurant was very nice and helpful. He helped us and also suggested us places to visit in Varanasi

The only thing was the location. The hotel is a bit outside from central Varanasi....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John007766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We spent 2 nights here and couldn't wait to leave. The rooms are adequately comfortable, but not well cleaned--dirty walls, dirty windows, dirty mirrors, etc. The food is the worst we've had in India in 4 weeks of travel here. The floors and windows are filthy throughout the common areas, as were the elevators. Service is slow to non-existent. We caught one of the room cleaners taking something of ours from our room while we were there watching them clean. The breakfasts were very substandard with bread and rolls being stale. The one dinner we had in the restaurant was nearly inedible. Weddings are held on the lawn below the rooms and the music and loud speaker noise goes on till late in the night. We were advised by another guest that the night before we arrived the wedding went on all night. The beauty salon was dirty and seemed to have no concept of keeping appointments. All in all we would strongly recommend going somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkberkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

a nicely done up place... but lacks the professional feel and needs maintenance... dont b surprised if the staff takes u for granted as there r very few good options to choose from at varanasi in this category... overall a decent place... offer handsome discounts as the card rates seem to be over inflated!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulAgarwal1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We were a bit disappointed with this hotel. We had expected a fresher and cleaner hotel. The rooms are tired and needing of a deep cleaning. The staff need new uniforms as the current uniforms are faded and ratty looking, and a more helpful attitude, especially the front desk crew.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Anywhere in the world hotel, there is nothing special about the Ramada Plaza Varanasi . But it’s a no fuss property, quick check in, clean, spacious and efficient room. Windows, like in most modern hotels do not open which is a pity. Stay includes breakfast, which is a plus. We got a room on the 5th floor, which is also their club floor, which was nice and equipped with expected facilities like kettle, mini fridge/bar, safe, internet, nice TV and comfortable bed and some sensible ones like an Iron.
Pros: Good reasonably priced accomodation inclusive of decent spread of breakfast. Friendly helpful staff
Cons: Uninspiring décor of wenge polish and closed windows. No view- its built behind an ugly shopping mall. A half an hour drive away from ghats of Benares where you would like to be!
Overall- comfortable and forgettable. Stay only if you are spoilt for modern comforts and are not looking for anything special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashisharchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
3.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Grapevine
Hotel Grapevine
#7 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.9 mi away
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi

Property: Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Address: The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Family Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza JHV, the luxury five star hotel in Varanasi redefines hospitality beyond boundaries. Stylish spaces coupled with discreet luxury and impeccable service renders this Varanasi hotel a unique flavor. Lined with handpicked contemporary art throughout the public and private spaces and natural surroundings ensures a seamless blend of the rich culture of this rustic yet vibrant city with elevated standard of style, design and decor. State-of-the-art technology and amenities for commerce, leisure and relaxation makes the Ramada Plaza JHV hotel an ideal choice for guests seeking accommodation in Varanasi. The luxury rooms & suites are models of personal touch and superior amenities and services. Access to indulgent restaurants with world cuisine and Indian speciality restaurant, a day gym, spa and salon and spacious banquet rooms guarantee a gamut of innovative and inspired moments of celebration. The adjoining shopping mall extends the freedom of options to multiplex, shopping & dine out with all time favourites like McDonald's & Pizza Hut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Jhv Varanasi Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Varanasi
Varanasi Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing