We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in Varanasi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We stayed here for four nights and found the hotel to be in a great location with stunning views of the Ganga. The upstairs restaurant serves excellent food and commands top class Ganges views. We were particularly impressed with the quality and cleanliness of preparation and presentation of food as well as flavour and freshness. The beds were very comfortable, rooms spotless and there's a range from very affordable to luxury. Some rooms have been very recently renovated. There is morning yoga class, massage service (recommended) and resident 85 year old "local scholar" - who can talk with you about the history of Varanasi to world affairs. In particular, we would like to commend the very friendly, sincere and helpful staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spirity_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2010

I moved here after a horrible stay at another guest house in Varanasi. I looked at a few places before settling at Hotel Temple. I liked the fact that it was out of the old city which I found to be too busy and congested. Hotel Temple is located at Assi Ghat which is nice and more low key then the main ghats. Hotel Temple has really nice views, is clean, spacious and modestly but nicely decorated. The food at the restaurant was decent and I ate many meals there. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you want good value out of the chaos of old city this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lil_shaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I did many visit at this hotel, and was always happy! The room are nice and with balcony with ganges view, amazing. They have good and cheap food on amazing terasse. The staff is helpful, but need alot of reminding the price they told you, sometimes an extra of 50 rupees apear! The manager is a nice person!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeevan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

The Temple on Ganges Hotel on Assi Ghat gets all thumbs up. Very helpful staff. Suggest a room facing the river with a shared balcony. We really liked Assi Ghat as a whole, which has a great activity level without the craziness of the areas to the north.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dave_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

This is a terrible place to stay and will spoil your entire trip. The location is good and the view is nice. Assi Ghat is very far from the centre of activities in Varanasi. So you have to spend quite a lot on transportation going up and down from your hotel. The hotel staff are terrible. The most non-cooperative I have ever come across. I was promised a river view room on booking and forced into a stable view one on arrival. The food is horrible. The hotel gets a lot of foreigners and they happily put up to all the trash, may be taking them as Indian mysticism. I had given my clothes or laundry and I had to go down and identiy mine from a heap o washed clothes. They had no way to identify which belonged to which room. Unbelievable! Do not go by the advertisements for Yoga. One of he waiters do some mumbo-jumbo in the morning which th eforeigners happily lap up. In one word- Stay away from this place if you want a good Varanasi trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShomikRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This is a great place by Varanasi Standards. The rooms are basic but they are clean. They have clean beds, Aircon, Hot Water but no TV or Fridge. They also have windows and a balcony to sit and watch the Ganges. Compared with other hotels in Varansi this place is a gem.
Its location at Assi Ghat is great. You are at the start of the boat trips down the river so you can get up early and negotiate a good price with the boatmen down at the Ghat. Also its away from the hassle and narrow streets of the Old Town but only a 30-40 min walk to the old town along the river. And the walk is facinating passing many pilgrimes and a cremation ghat.
Staff were friendly here and do not push or try to sell. They have internet access though you wont need it as there are lots of internet cafes in the area. The big plus here is the view from the rooms and its location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JojoCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Yes, there was a cow eating trash outside the hotel, but there was trash just about everywhere we went in Varanasi, not just outside the hotel. We arrived after a traffic jam unrivalled anywhere else in India and were greeted by the friendly manager. He showed us two rooms, both were the same price but one had a view of the river and the ghats, and the other didn't. The air conditioner took several tries to get going, but once we got the hang of it (and some new batteries in the remote!), it ran without any problems.
We never took advantage of the free yoga and meditation classes, and at the time there weren't many tourists, so we weren't sure if the restaurant was open or not so never ate there. But the manager and staff were always friendly and would take the time to talk, every day we would see staff cleaning around the hotel and little things like the internet and sodas were priced fairly. The view from the balcony was top-notch, and fellow travellers staying at the Haifa down the street said Temple on Ganges was cheaper and cleaner than their hotel (at a higher price).
If you're looking for mid-range accomodation that is clean, quiet in a good location and has a great view, this would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#15 of 80 in Varanasi
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
1.0 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 80 in Varanasi
268 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Temple on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Temple on Ganges

Address: Assi Ghat | Assi Ghat Road, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: £30 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Temple on Ganges 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a well esteemed hotel known specially for our excellent location on the bank of river Ganges and good hospitality services.We have an excellent multicuisine Vegetarian restaurant on the terrace with panoramic view of river Ganges and ghats, Free WiFi zone,Forex desk,travels counter and at door all vehicles accessible and parking facility.There are five different categories of rooms (with and without view) available to book online and directly with us also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Temple on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing