We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location for sightseeing”
Review of Hotel Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Haifa
Ranked #31 of 76 Hotels in Varanasi
Newcastleupontyne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Central location for sightseeing”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Room very basic, air con extremely loud. Shower was a little temperamental. However with so much to see and do we only used the room for sleeping and it fulfilled its purpose at a very reasonable price. The restaurant was excellent although a little dingy and slow service but felt safe eating here. The ginger masala tea was excellent. The staff were a little distant but maybe because their English was basic (much better than my Hindi!). After a months travelling I paid 60rps for an excellent haircut just round the corner! Try it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back away from the street as it gets loud at festival time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    69
    59
    25
    15
See reviews for
33
70
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If this is one of the best places to stay in Varanasi, Varanasi has a problem. The hotel is poorly maintained and cleaned. The manager is extremely arrogant and not very helpful. The rooms are old, dusty and stink. Air conditioner was extremely load and home so several dove families, towels and sheets are dirty and holes everywhere. The restaurant is a tricky one, full of groups and very slow and far from clean, the waiters are very nice though. Location is not bad either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The room is clean and the people are nice and friendly. Hot water, television, efficient room service when needed. The food is delicious and they have a great variety of choices which you can all enjoy safely because they cook and wash with purified water. There is WI-FI available in the lobby and the location allows for walking-distance trips around the hotel and not too distant trips to other sightseeing exhibits.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front offer great daylight. Overall sleep quality improves when you get used to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine_Cstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Not sure what the same amount of money gets you elsewhere in Varanasi but the 1500 rupees we paid gets you: a reliably hot shower, a great location (short walk to assi ghat), reliable wifi in the lobby and access to a restaurant with friendly service and decent food downstairs.

Cons: the room was dark and damp, no daily cleaning (had to request fresh towels), and the TV didn't work in the room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank amys399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

"The warm welcome and the great people along with the staff made my first visit memorable to this place.... It has a homely atmosphere...
Food is mind blowing. The Wi-Fi in the lobby is a nice bonus..
The " ginger lemon honey tea " and " paneer butter masala " are my favorites...
No regrets... Only happiness and nice memories...
I definitely recommend this place.. "

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivanee711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My family first saw this place on our first trip to Varanasi, and were thrilled to find Middle Eastern food! [That being said, my favorite thing that I've tried is actually the Kashmiri Kofta - their Indian food is great too. My only complaint food-wise is that it can take a while for the food to come, but it was the busy time].

We've now stayed there twice, and had a great experience each time! The first time, we had a little issue getting the TV to work, but the staff quickly came up and fixed it, much to my boys' relief!! :-) Actually, they fixed it faster than a lot of Western hotels would.

There's no extra charge for having food sent up to your room (and when I've reached to my pocket to get a little for a tip, the delivery guy was already down the hall! They have a Tip Jar behind the front desk, and [unlike most Indian hotels I've been in], people don't downright ask for a tip, standing awkwardly until you give one!! That being said, it's best if you DO leave tips...it seems people just leave them in the lobby).

The WiFi in the lobby is a nice extra bonus. :-)

And the price: I really can't complain at all for a room this good for as cheap as we got it for each time (and that's with just booking over the phone!).

So my family and I definitely recommend this place.

(a tip: the Turkish Coffee is REAL Turkish Coffee, so don't be surprised when half of your cup is grinds...it's supposed to be like that. You can also get "Espresso" or "Milk Coffee" for those not wanting the authentic Middle Eastern coffee experience) :-)

(Also, unlike some other hotels with similar rates, this one DOES provide soap and TP) :-) Also, there's a nice little shop directly across the street if you want chips, snacks, meds, more toiletries, etc)

Room Tip: The desk staff has been helpful with recommendations when we've checked in...they know tips like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBalonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audiopink
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Don't even think for a second the cover picture on TripAdvisor resembles the room you're gonna get. This is the first hotel in my life where I find a skid mark in the toilet upon arrival. It must have been there for above . Everything screams filth in this hotel, even for Indian standard: the lobby, the restaurant, the beds. This is the kind of hotel where you won't walk barefoot in your room.
I should also mention the staff are among the most unpleasant I met in india: haven't seen a smile in three days. Upon check in they tried to give me a room which looked like a 300inr guesthouse. Old, filthy and right on the street. I guess it's because I had prepaid through agoda. I asked for a better one and I did get a better one which is what this review is based on.
The only reason I'm giving it 2 stars as opposed to one is that the location is good and the restaurants food is OK. Other than that, I think you're better served with a nice guesthouse than with this low-end hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audiopink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Divya
Hotel Divya
#65 of 76 in Varanasi
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivera Palace
Hotel Rivera Palace
#18 of 76 in Varanasi
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#12 of 76 in Varanasi
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#29 of 76 in Varanasi
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 76 in Varanasi
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#14 of 76 in Varanasi
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haifa

Property: Hotel Haifa
Address: B 1/107, Assi, Varanasi 222005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 76 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haifa 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Hotel Haifa And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing