We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlooking the Ganges”
Review of Hotel Alka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alka
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overlooking the Ganges”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It would be hard to find a hotel in Varanasi with a better view of what goes on besides and on the Ganges. From the balcony you can watch pilgrims, monks, traders, tourists, locals and, of course, cows, all mingling in the melee that is Varanasi.
To get to the hotel you have to leave the main road and walk down the maze of bustling alleyways. You will need a taxi driver or hotel staff to help you because it is not easy to find.

The rooms are quite basic and could be cleaner. You have to ask for clean towels.The communal restroom next to the restaurant has a squat toilet rather than a western toilet.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and the service very prompt. All but one member of staff (man on reception) are very friendly and helpful.

It is a good value basic hotel made better by the quality of food, excellent service and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsHug91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    473
    159
    65
    56
See reviews for
217
362
220
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I had a great experience at the Alka. The staff is very friendly and accommodating (especially Mr. Raj and Karin) the location is second to none. Perfect view of the Ganga and right by the main Ghats. The rooms are good quality and and fairly clean. This is by far the best place to stay in the city of Varanasi. Highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Broken everything. Staff that lies to you. Water didn't work in one of our rooms. Booked a room 2 months in advance and then they gave it to someone else so we were downgraded. Horrible service at their restaurant. The only plus sides are the AC (which are confusing to turn on and off considering there are about 20+ switches in the rooms), they will accommodate all of your boat and taxi rides, and it's on the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If the incident while leaving the hotel wouldn’t have happened i would have been writing a diff review...but sorry to say that due to foreign customers staying at this hotel the staff has become arrogant towards Indian customer. I was on a bag packing trip to Varanasi travelling alone. Reached this hotel and met some Spanish travelers. We decided to explore the city together and travelled the entire city over next 2 days. But the next evening when I was approaching ghat area (i had checked-out in the morning though) from inside the hotel, the manager there stopped me. I apologized for it but the manager raised his voice, started abusing and speaking ill because i was meeting a lot of foreign travelers and wrongly accusing me that I am into cheating foreign travelers and was trying to get into someone’s room and started claiming that I know intentions of people like me. Had great memories of the trip, made lot of Spanish friends but this hotel ruined such a great memory. The manager handles the restaurant area, don’t know his name though. I would request the management to take some action, because everyone making friends with foreigners is not a cheat as claimed by your manager. Its good that lot of foreigners stay at your hotel but this doesn’t mean you start misbehaving with Indian customers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indep_traveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here with family (9 people inc 2 kids) during our first visit to Varanasi in April 2014. Walked in (courtesy some diligent hotel hunting by senior members of our group after we arrived at the station) to neat and clean ambiance and the perfect place to rest. The best part of the hotel is the view of the river. The sunrise is breathtakingly beautiful from here. A close second would be definitely the food. Fresh and home-made. And chilled beer too!
Service is top-class, while the rates are absolutely southwards. It's right at the ghats and a short walking distance to practically everything in Varanasi including Vishwanath Temple, Kachori (Khau) gali, restaurants etc.
A must visit. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Even if you don't get a room with a balcony, the central courtyard cum restaurant (accessible 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shivsagarjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larisa, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed there in a big double room with an extra bed (we are a family with 2 kids). The room was very clean, the staff very helpful, the restaurant perfect (you should ask for a cold beer) and the location just in the right place. We surely recommend this hotel if someone want to be near the ghats and the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farmakeros f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Alka Hotel is one of the best hotel we met in India and Varanasi: the rooms are clean, confortable with very good beds, a clean, large and functionally bathrooms and with a wonderdful view on Gange: in fact every room is on a balcony and you can see the sacred river and his people. The owner of the hotel are wonderful: with great disponibility and kindly: you will have no problem for everithing, for example they can organaze trip boat on Gange whnw sunrise. Mr. Neeraj will be alwais ready for every your desire. The hotel has a quiet garden, is far from traffic and confusion, in the hart of Varanasi; the hotel has a very good restaurant too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franco16041956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,085 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#25 of 79 in Varanasi
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#11 of 79 in Varanasi
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#17 of 79 in Varanasi
431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alka

Property: Hotel Alka
Address: Meer Ghat D 3/23 | Dashashwamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Varanasi
#2 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alka, a synonym for customer-oriented services from years, believes in providing an adorable environment to its guests, where not only they find peace in dwelling but also experience a the highest degree of dedication from the staff. And what more can one ask for? Hotel Alka is located right in the core of Varanasi, a place where even holiness is re-defined. Its evidently a must visit place for all in life. Varanasi (the ancient Kashi or the medieval Banaras) is one of the oldest cities of the world and is considered to be favourite, of even the almighty. Varanasi's prominence in Hindu mythology is virtually unrivalled. Mark Twain, the celebrated English author , who was enthralled by the legend and sanctity of Banaras, once wrote : "Banaras is older than history, older than tradition, older even than legend and looks twice as old as all of them put together." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alka Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing