We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive post Shivaratri”
Review of Palace on Steps

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace on Steps
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Varanasi
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A bit expensive post Shivaratri”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This place was pretty standard for budget accommodation in India, the only issue was that it was nearly twice the price. I am not sure if this is because we arrived right after Shivaratri (a huge Hindu festival) ended or this is the standard price?

The location was ideal, but the room (again for the price) was pretty sub-standard. Our toilet seat was broken, the bed was lopsided, we didn't have a window and the internet was touch and go.

Having said all that I was happy we even found a room, as many of the hotels had been booked up!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan_Tasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    130
    63
    38
    72
See reviews for
93
104
78
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My title of the review more or less sums up the experience. Whenever i look for hotel then i fix some basic criteria depending on my purpose of visit. This visit of mine to Varanasi was to catch up after 28 years and get the feel of the ghaats and the Ganges. Though i negotiated with some star hotels but those are not on the Ganges. I selected this Elena hotel of Palace on steps cluster just for one reason and that is to get to see Ganges all the 24 hours. well room number 507 gave me that. I must admit as per the standard the room rent is pretty pricey.This room 507 is a round one with 3 windows facing the Ganges.Though the Guest House arranged pick up and drop from the airport for 1500 bucks but one has to board the cab on a road for which one has to walk a distance of 600 to 700 meters through the narrow lanes. No car can reach the guest house. I guess for backpackers it is not much of a problem but for those who are habituated staying in star hotels will have problem.
The room is minimal,even hangers are not there. The bathroom is neat. Though the staffs are friendly and helpful but the supporting infrastructure is not compact. I had to go out for my morning tea.Room service is a tad slow.
Sanjay Pandey ,the in charge is pretty helpful. Pandeyji at the help desk is available 24 hours to help. Ramesh in the roof top kitchen rustled up a pretty good dinner of yellow daal,egg curry and roti on the day we reached.Most of the time we ate out.
This is bang on Rana Mahal Ghaat,there is a steep stair case which directly lands at the ghaat but as i said this is again for youngsters who are physically fit or otherwise one has to go through the winding narrow lanes to Dasasswamed ghaat.
To sum up i can say that i came back satisfied because of being near the Ganges all the 24 hours. The views of Ganges from the narrow balcony or for that matter from the room itself is breath taking. We could see the sun rise from our room, we ignored the discomfiture due to minmal support structure which we are habituated in stay away from home. The staff were friendly and helpful.Dubey the cab driver brought us from the airport and dropped us back. next day we took the Sarnath tour for which again he was the guy taking us around. A friendly well behaved youngman.

Room Tip: Chose room number 507 which has 3 windows facing the Ganges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warilla, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We found this place while wandering about the ghats and booked in for a few nights.
It has a good location about 5 mins walk through the streets or along the ghats to the main road.
We booked the double room with balcony and a/c. the room was a good size and had a fridge and cable TV (flat screen) and a comfortable bed and free wifi (from the restaurant) and internet. The balcony was glassed in and offered good views over the ghats and river. We had moved here from the Hotel Alka (see our review) and the room was a huge improvement for two thirds of the cost. The staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant served the usual tourist type fare and was ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandGaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The rooms seem to vary from a couple with great river views, to grubby boxes with dodgy wiring and NO windows! And all variations in between, located over a number of equally dirty buildings (? hotels all with different names) When we arrived the surly 'manager' couldn't have been less interested in us if he had tried. In fact the only friendly staff were the waiter and a young man who carried our bags when we arrived, but he ignored us as soon as we declined his offer of a guided tour. We were not put in the room we had booked and paid for and were only "upgraded"after my complaint and involvement of our tour rep. From there the managers became alarmingly unctuous and I was very relieved that I wasn't a young single female traveller. Bottom line is, if you are desperate for a bed in Varanasi and not fussed about conditions, stay here, otherwise forget it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckylynno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My overall experience of the hotel is good. The person on the checking desk Sanjay was very helpful. He provided me with the best view room and we had a deal about the whole arrangement. The food was ok but expensive. But to find the hotel was a big task. They should put more signs on the main road as its pretty far from the main street but very near to the ghat rather its on the ghat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chin2sood12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Booked into aircorn and was not given one until I complained.
Beware of the tours. They promise a price and upon completion a tip for the driver and the tour guide is demanded which I refused to pay. The aircorn tripped in 40 degree weather, the toilets did`nt flush. Not the cleanest of places. If you need a beer, its charged 4x the normal rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi298184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you stay in Palace on steps (which isn't a real name of the hotel) being in a room with Ganga view is a must. The rooms we've been in were refurbished and acceptable. The hotel offered us a boat tour and and a guide who made our Varanasi experience excellent. At firs we thought that we'll pay much more for their help, but it turned out that they didn't rip us off. I didn't like that the wifi didn't work outside my room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tygrysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 74 in Varanasi
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ajay Guest House
Ajay Guest House
#43 of 74 in Varanasi
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 74 in Varanasi
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 74 in Varanasi
2,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#15 of 74 in Varanasi
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#16 of 74 in Varanasi
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace on Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Steps

Property: Palace on Steps
Address: Rana Mahal Ghat D - 21/11 | Bangoli Tola, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace on Steps 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varanasi a mirror of ancient spiritual India and a destination swinging to the of India,s vibrant culture is a must visit for any traveler wishing to experience real India. To experience the real essence of Varanasi it is essential to discover and explore the ''old city' and the ghats the steps leading to the holy Ganges and the ghats the steps leading to holy Ganges. The hotel Palace on steps ,located at a prime location in the holy city, holds the distinction of having the maximum number of rooms offering an unparallelled view of the Ganges. Besides the hotel is a true balanced blend of luxury and comfort for the travelers ready to experience Varanasi in all its glory interestingly the hotel is designed aesthetically with a touch of true Indian history as showcased in the castle design which dates back about 400years. therefore the guest have an attraction of experiencing the splendor of medieval Indian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Palace on Steps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Steps Hotel Varanasi
Palace On Stepss Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing