We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Property, Above Average room & service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
gurgaon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Grand Property, Above Average room & service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was my second stay in Hotel Surya in last 1 year. Hotel is located in Cantt area just 400 metres from JHV Mall & Hotel Radisson.
Its a grand property and give a feel of a palace. Check-in was quick. Got 20% corporate discount on the Premium room which is the highest catagory. We took 2 rooms (1 single occupancy (3100 rs & 1 double occupancy 3600 rs). Both rooms were inter-connected which is a good part.

Beds were cozy, LCD was 22 inch and diagnal from the bed which does not give a very good view. The balcony opens to the palace which is soothing to eye. Washroom did not have bath-tub which is standary in other 3 star hotels. Room size is above average.

Service is pathetic. The kitchen is located in a different building hence it takes lot of time for waiters to bring food. Specially the second servings makes the gusets to wait endlessly. Food is Ok and priced decently.

Mostly foreign tourists were staying in the hotel. Swimming pool is good. They also have Spa facility from 8 am to 8 pm. Complementary breakfast is average. Parking is ample.

Overall decent stay but serivce needs improvement.

HOTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE DENTAL KIT, NOT EVEN ON PAYMENT! STRANGE!!

Room Tip: Choose room 212 and 213 (premium catagory) which are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nariyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for the positive review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you decided to come back and stay with us as a return guest. We are thankful for the feedback you have brought up and will work on your concerns. Thanks to your comments, dental kits are now available to our guests upon request. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    278
    116
    56
    44
See reviews for
141
211
87
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Is a beautiful hotel in Varanasi, good gardens and good restaurants and even some rooms are good but rooms in old wing are not in good shape and room service almost doesn't exist, you don't even get water forget the tea.

Room Tip: Go for a room in new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YogeshS0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments as well as your constructive feedback, which can only help us improve. We hope you will choose us again when in Varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night during a business trip to varanasi. Got to know about it from my travel agent, The rooms are ok and do not offer much luxury, however, were spacious and clean. I was given a room in the slide lobby, which is not very good. I think the rooms in the main wing are good and have private balcony as well. There were lot of mosquitoes outside the room,however you cant help it, they will be everywhere during the season.

The food was marvellous, the interiors of the restaurant are nice. Other than that they have a cafe as well which is designed artistically. They have in-house travel agent, who can arrange everything in varanasi. The location is good, with many good hotels around.

Overall, i must say that it is good value for money, given that it is difficult to find affordable rooms, in varanasi, during the peak seasons.

Room Tip: Take room on the main wing with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prashantg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Varanasi. We are happy that you liked the food and our other services that we offer. We hope you will stay with us again when visiting Varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Nice location of rooms , good atmosphere,nice food, friendly staff, WiFi, every room having own balcony, really very nice stay there ,am fully satisfied to surya hotel varanasi. And also this hotel is very near to railway station and shopping mail and cinema hall for evening enjoyment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratanDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Surya. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

the rooms where ok, not more, not less. Comparing to the cost it was bearly ok. BUT There is a swimmingpool :) So all together its walue for the money. We didnt try the restaurant for lunch or dinner but we did eat breakfast since it was included in the roomprice. There was quite a lot to chose from so i give tha a strong 3+.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are thankful that you chose to stay with us and hope you will do so again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

One of the greatest hotels in India! It has a great pool and spa. The rooms are fine, not great but they have a nice view to the garden.
I recommend to have dinner under the lights of the garden, ask for a table outside and ask for the fish with orange sauce with mojito!!
I recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for those on the first floor with view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy that you had a nice time staying with us. The fish with orange sauce is a new menu item for us. We're glad you enjoyed it. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

First, we only used the pool as recommended in a guidebook. So no opinion about the rooms and service.

The website advertised with pool, "jacuzzy", and steam bath for 200 rupees a day (8:00 - 20:00). When we arrived they said it is 300, pool only und only until 17:00. We complained about the different information on the website. Instead of apologizing they just said, that they told the people who make the website but they did not do it. For me as a customer i don't care who did the "mistake", it is the responsibility of the hotel. Because we already took a rickshaw to the place (in false hopes) we stayed and payed the extra money.

The pool is ok sized, the staff is friendly and it is ok clean, but all not oustanding. Free water was nice to have for a hot day. We then did not stay that long.

We did not have a bad time, but if we would have known that ALL information on the hotel website is wrong, we would not have gone there - only pool use isnt worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Treewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Guest. I am sorry that the confusion with the pool caused you not to enjoy your experience with us. As listed on our website, the timings for our spa are from 8am-8pm and the outdoor pool is open to guests from 10am-5pm. You are more than welcome to visit these facilities during these times. There is a separate charge for pool use for outside guests, which has increased to 300 rupees this season and has been corrected on the website. I'm sorry that this was not updated before you arrived. This charge is for pool use only. The jacuzzi and steam room are clearly described as being in the spa and therefore are not included in the pool price. After going through the website again, I believe this is clear. I'm glad our staff provided you with bottled water to make up for the increase in the pool fee. I wish there was something else we could have done to make your day here more enjoyable. I hope you will consider changing your rating of our hotel. Thank you for visiting us and I hope you will try us again when in Varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
3.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#12 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#7 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Property: Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Address: S 20/51 The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing