We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near Assi Ghat”
Review of Hotel Divya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Divya
Ranked #64 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Located near the Assi ghat, this hotel is close to several attractions in Varanasi. There are some good eat outs nearby too. It is some distance from the bus stand and train station, so you'll have to take the local auto or bus/taxi to get here. Rooms are spacious and clean and have AC/ heater in them. The reception is quite responsive and help out with suggestions on where and how's of Varanasi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Prem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

The title already says everything..I stayed in Divya only one night and there is no balance between the price and quality. Room was on the top floor, very noisy and room walls were really dirty. Small TV was so high up on the wall that it was nearly impossible to watch that. Mattress was old and not in shape anymore, bedsheets also old dirty and with holes. A simple guesthouse usually also gives you towels and loo roll, so that doesn't make Hotel Divya a 3 star hotel. There are good guesthouses in Varanasi, prefer them, not Divya!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

When we checked in telephone was not working, the room heater was in sad state and I had to run to the reception number of times to get it fixed. Restaurant is very expensive and not meant for indian budget

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank AmritaRSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

It's a clean hotel that offers decent rooms at reasonable prices. You can actually bargain with the manager like we did: they offered us a very small room for 3 people for 1200 rupees, which was too expensive compared to the room in Hotel Haifa next door where we had paid 1300 rupees for a very comfortable room the night before. We didn't want to pay 2500 rupees for a bigger room, so they gave it to us for 1200 :))) That was very nice of them.
We didn't really enjoy the restaurant there, but there's a bit better restaurant in the neighboring hotel. Besides, there's a good shop with snacks, drinks, etc. right in front of it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StasIvashchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location for the ghats and boat rides and a cycle rickshaw ride from the market. On a lively street with lots of shops. The rooms were adequate but not particularly good - not very clean and quite cramped. The bathrooms were the worst. The first room we were given had a leaky toilet which was extremely unpleasant. We asked to change rooms and this was done quickly. The 2nd room and bathroom were marginally better. We didn't eat in the hotel, but there are some good options close by. Haifa next door is open quite late and serves reasonable Indian and Mediterranean food. Also, would recommend Open Hand which is a shop/cafe and does excellent breakfasts, lunches & snacks and has free wi fi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Hotel Divya is well located near to the Assi Ghat, from where you can explore all the Ghats walking northwards along the Ganges river, or by boat. You do not have a Ganges view from Hotel Divya, however it has clean rooms with strong fans for just a little more money than you would pay in one of the simpler Guesthouses (we've spent our first night in one and the price was great, but it was filthy).

Our room in Hotel Divya had a clean bathroom and plenty of hot water (although the water was just a bit more than trickling), and soap and toilet paper was provided. Staff were friendly and helpful. You can arrange a boat ride on the Ganges through the hotel staff at a lower price than what the boatmen outside at the ghats would ask you to pay - a highly recommended service. However we wouldn't advise you to use their laundry service, as your clothes will not be machine washed. We believe this was also the reason why the bed sheets, albeit supposedly clean, still had some stains on them – probably they were as clean as it gets when hand-washed and air-dried. Or maybe they just had not been changed. When we asked the staff to change the sheets they said yes but wouldn't do it anyway.

WiFi in the lobby was slow at its best and not working properly most of the time.

However all we had a good experience; as we said, at least the floors and bathroom were clean!

Room Tip: Just take a look at the rooms before chosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick-Katia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We traveled with Intrepid Travel on a Basic Tour and they in tour gave us India's Basic Accommodations instead of American Basic.

The 1st room we got smelled musty and had 2 separated twin beds(304). We are a married couple so we asked to be moved rooms, which they did. The other room we got moved(201) to was dirty so we had to wait the 15 minutes for them to clean them which was ok. We had gotten used to using our earplugs while sleeping in India and this room was no different as the road below could get quite crowded throughout the daytime hours.

Hot Water was only available two times in 3 hour increments during the day. Get your shower in before 9am as the hot water runs out quickly.

The room service was good but don't be fooled by the pictures as usual in Asian countries. We had the veg and paneer burgers with fries (chips) along with the Mediterranean salad, they were all very tasty.

There is no wifi and for that fact everywhere we went in our 3 days in Varanasi the wifi was out. It seemed to be town wide outage. The 2 computers provided in the lobby had spotty dial up connection but did the job as long as you have patience.

There is a roof top terrace with not much to see but it is relaxing to sit up there.

Room Tip: Get a room to the back so at least you can get some direct sunlight into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elyse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 79 in Varanasi
195 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ajaya Hotel
Ajaya Hotel
#68 of 79 in Varanasi
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sonmony
Hotel Sonmony
#66 of 79 in Varanasi
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#18 of 79 in Varanasi
436 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#29 of 79 in Varanasi
92 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#31 of 79 in Varanasi
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Divya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Divya

Address: A-B Assi B.1/101 | Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: £8 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Divya 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is very near to ganga ghat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Divya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing