We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Sterling is renovating this property and the suites are excellent - 5 star quality. We really enjoyed our stay there. Foos was also reasonably priced and good in taste and quality although the buffet spead could have been a little more.

Room Tip: Take the renovated suites. They are 5 star quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    124
    54
    16
    22
See reviews for
201
82
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here with my family for five days and it was very average and somewhat disappointing stay. We are members of Sterling and had booked for a suite and a two seater room. The suite room was beautiful with two very big spacious rooms and a well equipped kitchen. Bathrooms were good too since the suite have been renovated. But the other room was not upto the mark with old furniture,fitting and all. The way the rooms are located is a major problem. Rooms closest to reception area are around 80 STEPS DOWN. Ours was 110 steps down WHICH WAS A MAJOR PROBLEM. Steps are extremely uncomfortable and going out of the resort again and again is a problem. Also since resort is located away from mall road one has too spend a lot of money in going too and fro mall road. Food is HIGHLY PRICED and VERY AVERAGE so is the service,no manager of senior level was available in resort to attend to the problems and the lower level staff has no knowledge of hospitality industry and could never give a satisfactory reply. Not a satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NikhitaGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have never experienced such LOUSY and pathetic staff and service in my life. I can write paragraphs on how our trip was ruined by the sterling .

The major problems are:
1) Very far off from Mall Road and there is no in house conveyance provided by the hotel. Sterling's travel desk will rob you in case you book a cab for mall road through them. The price for a cab to mall road(one way) is Rs. 200 whereas the travel desk asks for Rs. 350 for arranging the same cab .

2)No hospitality, bad room service. You will have to remind them atleast 10 times before you can get you order delieverd at your room.

3)Too many stairs to climb. My room was around 200 stairs down which is really very difficult.

4)They levy charges on small things without asking/letting you know.

5) Arvind Joshi , The Deputy Manager was very non co-operative and unfriendly. Whenever we told him anything , he would say it is the mistake of the resort manager. He Would blame the resort manager for each and every thing.

6) The only nice thing was the attitude of Pyarelal ,a steward at the woodstock restaurant. :) He would always solve your problem and was very friendly.

7) The Grocery store didnt have anything accept for cold drinks and remained closed most of the time.

8) If you ask them to refill the box of tea bags, sugar saches , etc. they will tell that they only give 1 tea bag and 1 sugar sachet per day !!.

Please dont book this resort for your own sake!!! Sterling Mussoorie should get an awrd for the most Pathetic property owned by sterling!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ojas2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Sir,

We are deeply concerned about your experience at Mussoorie – Pine Hill resort. We understand your disappointment and your complaints have been shared with the Company and Resort team. We have noted down your concerns regarding the maintenance and service. In this connection, we would like to share with you that Sterling is in the process of renovating all its resorts. In this connection, we would also like to mention that renovation of our Mussoorie resort has commenced and we hope to complete the renovation in phases. Currently 3 of our resorts have been completely renovated and transformed to high standards. These resorts are Kodai – By The Lake, Munnar – Terrace Greens and Ooty – Fern Hill. We have also completed refurbishing and renovation of a significant number of rooms across our other resorts.

The investments and efforts made have resulted in our resorts climbing in ratings on review sites and in Sterling resorts’ being awarded several certificates of recognition from reputed organizations such as Make My Trip and Review sites.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to showcase our commitment to delivering memorable holidays in aesthetic and comfortable resorts.

We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Mussoorie is indeed the queen of hill stations in Utranchal. It is full of beautiful views. The resort is on a hilly slope. It has different levels. One has to climb up & down all the while, but it is worth it, as the view of the mountains from every level is breath-taking. The resort itself is well maintained and has a neat & clean restaurant attached. The food offered is full of variety. The staff is polite.
There are many places to visit around the most pleasant being the Kempti Falls. Though it was summer time when we visited, the water was cool, as the same was nothing but the melting snow of the Himalayas.
The resort itself was neat, clean and the accommodation we had, had a sitting room well furnished, a kitchen with all the requirements for cooking, if you desired, and a big, well furnished bedroom with a large window to have glimpses of the mountains.
My wife & I were there for 2 days and we really had a great time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorCitizen1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Location-top of the hill Hospitality- Top class Rooms:World Class Recreation : innovative n complete In nutshell if u r at sterling in Mussoorie U need not step out of the hotel at all during ur stay ! The hotel provides u amazing spectacular views of Doon valley which sparkles like diamonds at night n refreshes u in the morning whn u draw the curtains Wht else do we go to hills for ? View n rejuvenating breeze all u get here from all rooms ! Rooms esp the studios n the 2 bed deluxe suites are fitted with world class fittings n fixtures with a kitchenette , the place is blooming with sweet smelling roses in all hues which makes the steps journey attractive! Yes there ate too many steps to reAch the suites but we did enjoy those as well , Theres enough to do for all age groups rapelling trekking Table Tennis chess n the worx! we requested them for Bonfire party n lo they arranged it i a designated bonfire party area with DJ n games host! For people keen on food as we all are ; food is also good : the hoitality is unforgttable esp of Manager Mr Arvind Joshi ! N the sstaff o the whole was very hospitable ! We brought home some very good memories
Thanks Sterling Mussoorie

Room Tip: If climbing steps is an issue take rooms near reception! Others simply dive for deluxe suites or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakshita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The resort is 2 Kms from the mall road and is a one way - single road.
The first set of rooms are present at 100 stair-steps from the reception, which you wouldn't really be alloted as they are booked for the senior citizens. So, the rooms are at 200 stair-steps from the reception.
On the other side, the hotel service is nice. They carry your luggage to and fro, room service is nice and they also have some very cool activities going on throughout the day.
So, worth a shot from my side (if you don't have aged people going for a vacation with you).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidursaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Hotel is nice and location is good. Need to improve on room allocation service and food. Its expensive and not upto standards in terms of taste,freshness and quality. Do speak to reception if the room is far away as you may have to walk with breathlessness and especially with elders. To save cost n food, go to library road and pick up food, its better than the hotel food at that cost.

Room Tip: Ask for room near the reception else walk down a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meens_Vishnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! Thank you for the positive comments on our property and location. Meanwhile we have taken down your concerns regarding maintenance and F&B services.

Please be assured that the issues mentioned will be looked into immediately.

We thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are looking forward to serving you on your next visit to one of our resorts.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.3 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#11 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: New Circular Road | Dehradun,Mussoorie, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, all is anew - new name, new décor. Experience the good old charm of Mussoorie and the alluring Doon valley from the comfort of premium modern rooms that have been just renovated to take your holidaying experience to the next level. Located 2.5 km from the town of Mussoorie, on a patch of hillside land which is combed by 300 steps is Sterling Holidays - Dancing Leaves where nature awaits in all its glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing