We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crumbling Indian-style resort in need of improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Location is great if you like solitude and good views--this place has plenty. Its a long hike to any of the climbing hills in the area, and not easily accessible from to town.

Rooms are a bit dowdy and under-whelming.

The restaurant is pricier than similar food items in town, but they have you over a barrel, so its your only dining option. Dining room staff are a little clueless and meal timings are random, better suited to an Indian schedule of very late dinner, not really a western time-table.
Credit cards are not accepted at the restaurant-- not something you would expect to see at a place that claims to be world class.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamSonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Thank you for taking the time to review our Mussoorie - Pine Hill resort.

We're grateful for your words of appreciation about the location of the resort. However, we are concerned over your dissatisfaction with the rooms and restaurant services. Please rest assured that we have noted your feedback on this and have also communicated the same to the Resort Management Team. Our representative has also been in touch with you to understand your experience in more detail. Post that conversation, we are happy to learn that you will be visiting us again soon.

At Sterling, we are committed to creating memorable experiences for our members and guests. We are looking forward to demonstrate this commitment during your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed in pine hill in march 2014 with my kids and in laws. The property is a bit away from city over looking a valley. We were given 2 apartments a studio and a one bhk. Both the apartments were over looking the valley. Rooms were nice and clean and furniture was ok. We stayed there for 4 days. The rooms were at a lower level compared to lobby so we had to climb about 50 steps to reach it. It was difficult for my mother in law as she had knee problems.But otherwise resort is good. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. My son age 5 had a nice time driving toy car which they had and my daughters played video games in the play room.
We also did adventure sports. It was a bit away from the resort.one of the staff carried my son to the hill.
One day when we were no feeling like going to restaurent for dinner we ordered meal at room. At 11.30 my children decided that they were hungry once again. I phoned the reception and they were kind enough to call the cook and send us a biryani.
They are upgrading the rooms so hopefully they should have wifi in rooms soon enough. Presently it is only in the lobby. Mobile network in rooms is a bit patchy.
Location is excellent but property is old and it shows. Dont expect 5 star facilities the food is good and the staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Choose room over looking the valley. The view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Puneet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed there from 16th june to 20th '14 . Following are some pros :
1. Location of the hotel is good.
2. Parking space is there.

Following are some of cons.
1) way to hotel is terrible.
2)Room service & food quality is sub-standard.
3)Too far from Mall road.
4)Barring few rooms , you may be required to climb approx 250 stairs to reach reception or avail dinning facility.
5)Mobile network is not there.
6)Since it is located far off from mall road , you are absolutely at the mercy of hotel for breakfast , lunch & dinner..they charge Rs.50 for 01 chapatti...

Room Tip: Always opt for room with breakfast option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajay17ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Thank you for taking time to share your review of Mussoorie - Pine Hill.

We appreciate your kind words about the location of the resort and parking facility. However, we are concerned about your experience with the room service and food quality. Please be assured that we maintain the highest quality standards in the selection of ingredients and preparation of food.

We regret any inconvenience caused and your feedback has been shared with Resort Management Team at our Corporate Office for further action.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better by holidaying at one of our resorts soon.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed with the family from 15th to 18th June 2014. Awesome location & great renovated rooms, courteous staff, good food, but no mobile phone work in the rooms. Need to renovate the surroundings, otherwise great experience!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuragMehta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Have visited sterling resort thrice...now it is much improved....loved the peace...food is good..adventure activities are also good..fox climbing burma bridge et all.would definitely visit again...
However too many steps are a problem...though the tranquility here makes one forget the pain...no painn no gain ...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Geetika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Shrugging off the laurels of the past glory, the resort needs to rise to the challenges by competitors. It already has a handicap of being too far away from the main market.

Having said this, its a beautiful property. Huge by size. Good that they are renovating albeit at a slow pace.

Insist on a renovated room. Don't go too down else you would hate climbing the stairs.
Recreation room needs to be toned up.
Grub nee food is great and reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amar_mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Mussoorie resort last week and it was not a fun experience to stay at Sterling resort there. To start with, the rooms are far off from reception. You may be required to climb down 200-300 stairs to reach your room. When we entered the room, the bedsheets and pillow covers were very dirty, there was no soap and towels in the bathrooms. Though housekeeping immediately provided after calling but attention to these details should be paid at the time of cleaning only.
Staff behaviour was just enough at travel desk and at restaurant. It was not "at service" attitude, we can not say it polite also, they were just doing the job. We did a lot of adventure activities at the resort and the adventure activities staff was well qualified and cooperative. This is the part we enjoyed the most at the resort. At sterling's they organise evening events but there was nothing for kids there also. It had been comparatively worse to other Sterling resorts. Also there was no view at all from the twin rooms. You don't go to a resort to stuck in a room without a view.
On the plus side, food was good and reasonably priced. Reception and housekeeping Staff was responsive to requests once asked for though they also lacked proactiveness. Adventure activities are well organised. Overall an OK trip but not worth to stay at this Sterling resort.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jain_sandeep74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.8 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
668 reviews
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
423 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
811 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#4 of 74 in Mussoorie
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: New Circular Road | Dehradun,Mussoorie, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: £40 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, all is anew - new name, new décor. Experience the good old charm of Mussoorie and the alluring Doon valley from the comfort of premium modern rooms that have been just renovated to take your holidaying experience to the next level. Located 2.5 km from the town of Mussoorie, on a patch of hillside land which is combed by 300 steps is Sterling Holidays - Dancing Leaves where nature awaits in all its glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing